We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing like I was led to believe...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Red Lion Hotel
Surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Nothing like I was led to believe...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

I walked into this quaint old lady of a hotel and was instantly charmed with the lovely old flagstones and the tasteful decor. Having read some of the previous reports on here, I was worried about what we'd find and I can only come to the conclusion that there is NO pleasing some people.
We too were on the Groupon scheme and were perfectly satisfied with the food - not loads of choice but enough and the ambience was lovely at dinner.
The bed linen appeared to be of a high quality, freshly clean and pressed and the room was warm and cosy.
It really irritates me when people use Tripadvisor to 'have a vent' when they're perhaps having a bad day - sure if a hotel is shockingly bad then fair enough but we really felt that the vast majority of the comments on here are hugely unjustified. We had a fab weekend away and would go to the Red Lion again any day!

Room Tip: Room 201 is pretty good, overlooking the bridge etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreySmithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    138
    101
    97
    84
See reviews for
72
246
18
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

I saw this amazing wedding deal on groupon, so I decided to go to the hotel for a show around. Spoke to events manager jaz, who was excellent and made us feel very welcome even though we didn't book an appointment...
He ran through how a wedding would work in the hotel and showed us where our wedding meal and reception would be. He also sat with us and went through breakdowns and really wanted to cater a wedding that WE wanted. Not like many places where it is their way or no way.. I got say me and my fiancé have been to many hotels to find a venue, and we are sooooooo happy we found this stunning hotel... Many thanks jaz and look forward to working with you to help organise our special day!!!!

Would recommend the red lion hotel, can't wait for our special day...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasS86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

After reading these reviews, I was so scared to come here. I was expecting no hot water or heating, dire food and bad staff. We arrived on the sat afternoon, a groupon booking like most. The car park was nearly full, but there was other parking nearby, and cars were emptying the car park regularly, so a space was found. The staff were friendly, even though majority foreigners, but they were trying to help. The dinner was mediocre and we got gravy rather than peppercorn sauce on our steak! However, upon leaving in the morning, they didn't charge us for drinks or supplements for the prior nights dinner, so we were happy! The room was nice, however the sheets had a few holes and the water in the morning was warm and not hot. The walls were also quite thin, so we could hear people cleaning and walking past. Also, the room was pretty cold, but there was a portable heater and the duvet was thick and warm. The breakfast did finish quickly and wasnt filled up with food, also tables werent cleaned regularly , but overall, not bad. Generally, i think the hotel is just old and worn out, and the repairs are too much to take on, hence why the heating and water and general state of hotel wasn't what the groupon voucher claimed. However, the location is amazing and your right on the riverfront, which made this stay good.....but not excellent!

Room Tip: ask if you can get a riverfront view. I didn;t and got a car park view....but don't ask, dont g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanya20000008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Stayed 10 days ago and we did not have any hot water and heating. We have seen this problem on trip advisor and it was going on months.We thought this must be sorted it out by now. What a surprise it was not.They charged on arrival full amount knowing we will complaint because they failed to deliver the basic requirement of a hotel room amenity. We asked for a full refund but as a insult owner offered us £10 and a free dinner.
This may be okay in his native country but not in England they need to operate with honesty and integrity, I dont know how long they will survive in the business with cheating their customers. Total disgrace

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank henry71186419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Henley-on-Thames hotels

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We paid full price for our room - not a Groupon in sight....

Oh my god..... if you suffer from claustraphobia do not stay in the boathouse rooms - there are no windows in the bedroom, you cant see anything without lights on and you can touch the walls lying in bed.

I dont expect to have to ask when I call to reserve a room whether there is a window in the bedroom, or if there is room to walk into the bedroom with your luggage without having to carry it on your head. It was truly shocking. Perhaps other rooms are better - we were in 404 but it was awful.

The hotel has so, so much promise - I really liked it but the service, the room, the cold water, missing door knobs - room 404 has a step from the entrance area into the bedroom, with a "mind the step" and "mind your head" sign - neither of which you think about nor see when you stumble out of bed in the dark to the loo and promptly fall down the step and narrowly avoid hitting your head on the completely unnecessary chair.

Room Tip: CHECK with the hotel before booking to find out where you will be - ask for the main hotel not the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nicola064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We had an unexpected trip to Henley-on-Thames and needed a hotel for the evening. At the time our daughter was just two months old so we were anxious to find somewhere which would be tolerant and helpful towards our infant. This was, in fact, one of or first trips away from home with her!

We chose the Red Lion because it was central, near to where we had to go the next day, and because we found a very reasonable rate on Laterooms.com.

We were welcomed on arrival by a very helpful receptionist who took care of everything we needed and did so without fuss or bother. She stored our pushchair for us and took care of everything we asked for.

Car parking was onsite at the back of the hotel but limited. Having said that, we were able to find a place. Our room was comfortable and ideal for what we needed. It also had a very good view across the river (over the front of the hotel) which we had requested, so we assume this was noted and arranged for us.

We would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a comfortable short stay in Henley, within easy reach of all central shops and amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for a front-facing room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex-Bex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

We booked a one night break as advertised on Groupon. On arrival we were very pleasantly surprised to be upgraded free of charge to a Suite, this may have been due the hotel being quiet. The Suite appeared to be brand new, modern furnishings and lighting, a high very comfortable bed, and an antique style free standing bath in the bedroom and an immaculate bathroom with huge walk-in shower. The whole area was as warm as toast, supported by two large radiators and a heated towel rail and under floor heating in the bathroom and an air conditioning unit.
We had dinner in the restaurant and could not fault the food or service. We were offered a set menu which gave an excellent choice and were very impressed with the quality and presentation of the food. The staff were attentive and friendly without being intrusive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANGIEB60187059
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phyllis Court Club
Phyllis Court Club
#5 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Hotel

Property: The Red Lion Hotel
Address: 4 Hart Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Thames and the tranquil green fields beyond, The Red Lion Hotel, Henley-on-Thames offers the most sought after location in the heart of one of Southern England's most beautiful and affluent market towns. It is also home to the most expensive home outside London.With four spacious banqueting and conference suites and thirty-nine individually designed bedrooms, each with its own unique history and character, The Red Lion offers over 600 years of experience in service to some of the country’s most prominent figures.Superbly located just two minutes from the market square, The Red Lion rests just five minutes from the Henley Railway Station and a short drive to the M4 and M40 motorways allowing for excellent access to London and the surrounding areasOur dining room offers an outstanding menu, using only the finest seasonal and local ingredients.Our unique wedding suites make this the ideal venue for weddings and civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Red Lion Henley On Thames
Henley-On-Thames Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing