We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Atmosphere”
Review of The Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Red Lion Hotel
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This is a very nice property in a beautiful town. My room (205) overlooked the Thames. The rooms are slightly dated but that was part of the charm of this Inn. Breakfast was included and was great. The hotel staff worked hard to make sure our stay was superb. Shops, restaurants and pubs are all within walking distance. There is a church next to the hotel that was built in the 1100's. Worth a look if you enjoy architecture. Overall, I hope to return to Henley someday and would definetely book the Red Lion again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlinkDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (580)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 580 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2012

This was our second stay at the Red Lion. Our first being in December 2011 when there had been a heating problem, and as a result we were given a voucher for a free nights stay. We were again made to feel very welcome and the staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was room 209, which we requested when booking so we are very pleased. The room was just as lovely as we remembered it and this time there were no heating or hot water problems (in fact the room was very warm and the water very hot!!). Dinner was good and the service was attentive without being intrusive. The food was nice, although nothing particularily special. The real disappointment was the breakfast. Being vegetarian I had very little choice (I also mentioned this in my previous review), in fact I was only able to eat slightly crispy fried eggs, baked beans and very overcooked tomatoes. There were no pastries left and the toast came out piled on a plate so was soggy and not particularily appetising. It is a real shame that the Red Loin lets itself down in this way, as in every other way they are better than the average rating.

Room Tip: Room 209 is spacious and well appointed with a lovely view over the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HEC2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We had a large room overlooking the River Thames opposite Leander Rowing Club. The hotel decoration etc looked a little tired, but it was very clean. Most of the staff went out of their way to ensure that we enjoyed our stay. Breakfast finishing time is a bit early for those of us on a restful break, but, the food was good.Parking can be tight when the hotel is busy. A very good location for looking round Henley and ideally placed for walks up and down the Thames. We would willingly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Since reviewing this hotel some months ago I noticed several carping reviews which seemed either petty or misinformed. One moaned about having to put a kettle on the floor to boil it (a rather minor inconvenience, surely), another that his room was small. I know the room in question; it has two large windows overlooking the river and has a large bathroom ensuite. It is by no means poky. Some visitors do not grasp that if they want standardised facilities, identikit space, then go to a Holiday Inn. This is an old, historic coaching inn, with beautful furniture that would grace a country house (including, for some reason, a good collection of French antique wardrobes). If you have a problem the gracious and efficient manager, Amit Kumar, will sort it. But he cannot make the showers more powerful and nor can he conjure up a lift to the top floor. This is a hotel for those who appreciate character, grace and style - and flagstones. All the rooms along the river are fine, but best are 107-111 on the first floor. However, the beamed rooms in the oldest part at the back are quietest (although effective double glazing masks traffic noise at the front). Enjoy the hotel for what it offers - great position, lovely rooms, helpful staff. And a cosy, delightful bar with a real fire.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nickyarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

nice room overlooking the river,Ideal for couples ,excellant location .staff helpful.

Room Tip: floor boards very squeaky.but you would expect in a hotel of this age
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Myself and my husband fancied a break away from the kids, we wanted something that didnt cost the earth. We booked it through the groupon offer, and got a great deal. We got there early and got parked straight away. We werent able to check in so went off for lunch in Henley. It really is a pretty town. Our room was lovely, and nicely decorated. We didnt have a great view, looking out on the brick wall of the church, but thats the luck of the draw. I didnt think our bathroom was great, could have done with a bit of updating. The restuarant was completely full, the food was lovely and the service was great considering it was so busy. We had drinks in the bar after and that was busy too. I found all the staff to be really helpful and friendly. I am just about to book it for my in laws, so definately recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julesanddaveEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

While driving to Liverpool, got all confused with all the wrong side of the road driving and ended up in Henley on Thames. Turned out to be a good thing as this is a beautiful English town right on the Thames. The Red Lion Hotel is a beautiful historic building that has recently undergone some renovations. The rooms are furnished with antique looking furniture and the bed was soooo comfortable. The only issue I have is that the shower curtain was a bit moldy smelling and it did show some spots of mold and the bathroom lighting was not that good. Breakfast was included but I did not order it. The staff was very friendly and extremely helpful as I was having a very bad day. They made me feel very welcome and very accommodating and they do have parking in the back.

Room Tip: Can't really advise as I only stayed the one time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
837 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
681 reviews
5 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phyllis Court Club
Phyllis Court Club
#4 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
144 reviews
2 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Hotel

Address: 4 Hart Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range: £69 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Thames and the tranquil green fields beyond, The Red Lion Hotel, Henley-on-Thames offers the most sought after location in the heart of one of Southern England's most beautiful and affluent market towns. It is also home to the most expensive home outside London.With four spacious banqueting and conference suites and thirty-nine individually designed bedrooms, each with its own unique history and character, The Red Lion offers over 600 years of experience in service to some of the country’s most prominent figures.Superbly located just two minutes from the market square, The Red Lion rests just five minutes from the Henley Railway Station and a short drive to the M4 and M40 motorways allowing for excellent access to London and the surrounding areasOur dining room offers an outstanding menu, using only the finest seasonal and local ingredients.Our unique wedding suites make this the ideal venue for weddings and civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Red Lion Henley On Thames
Henley-On-Thames Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing