We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Red Lion Hotel
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Charming!!”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed here for a quick overnite stay and wished we could stay a week!! A truly charming hotel! It has the feel of an old historic inn, yet has all of the modern conveniences one would wish for.
The rooms are decorated beautifully and the beds were SO comfortable!
We had a great view of the bridge and the river. I wlke early and took a splendid walk along the Thames. It was beautiful.
The hotel is centrally located and mere steps away from all that Henley has to offer (which is considerable - it is a fabulous town.) - galleries, restaurants, shops...
We will definitely return to Henley and especially the Red Lion!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DFitzP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    137
    101
    97
    84
See reviews for
72
246
18
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

First impressions are very pleasant. Nice cosy wood clad public areas and nice looking bar/restaurant. Unfortunately I was given what can only be described as a broom cupboard as a room. Yes, it had a view of the river but the small double bed could only just fit in the space. There were stains all over the ceiling. Both bed side lamps didn't work and the bathroom was a disgrace. Mould and limescale on the walls, taps and shower curtain.

I was sufficiently annoyed to complain, something I rarely do. To their credit they then showed me a room only two doors down, which was great. It was 3 time the size, overlooked the river, had a big bed, nice decor and a clean bathroom. Why couldn't they put me here the first time?!

All in all the room offerings are just too variable. One room was excellent, the other is not fit for sale. It's a shame because with a little TLC this hotel could be so much better, as the location can't be beaten.

Room Tip: Avoid 112 and ask for 109
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuperNickLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Really charming hotel. Big room, comfortable bed with view looking onto the river. Well located for the centre of Henley, which is also very charming even if there are seemingly a lot of cars. Friendly staff and reasonably priced bar - all in all very satisfied with the value for money (booked via LateRooms.com).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomElRumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2013

My mum and I arrived here on a Friday for a 1 night stay only.
Were greeted by friendly and welcoming staff at reception and even though we arrived too early for check-in, we were told we could leave our car in the carpark (at the back of the hotel) and go for a wander and come back later. When we did come back for 3pm, were told that our room had still not been set up into a twin yet.... But, staff acted efficiently to resolve this problem and it was ready within 30 mins! We asked for extra pillows and were provided for.
Complimentary toiletries smell gorgeous!!
The room itself was HUGE! Both our jaws dropped when we opened the door.
We were lucky enough to be staying in one of the historical rooms with a river facing room.
Two windows, lovely and airy and bright. I really enjoyed the view.
The bed was so comfortable and considering the age of the hotel, didn't hear too much creaking or general noise.
TV very small(!) for such a large room, but really shouldn't affect your stay in such a beautiful riverside town and historical hotel. Tea and coffee making facilities supplied. Kettle was SPOTLESS!!!! Again, very impressed with overall cleanliness of the hotel.
Breakfast was interesting... but I think the staff were doing what they could in an unusual situation. A ladies rowing team were staying at the hotel (in prep for a regatta that Sunday!) which meant a lot of people to deal with throughout the hotel. Didn't mean that our needs were neglected in any way and staff were very quick to offer their services. However, staff were slow to clean the breakfast room and food was not replaced efficiently. Staff quick to amend this by asking us exactly what we wanted and offered to refill our coffee etc.
Despite the minor setbacks (must reafirm again that hotel was busier than usual due to rowing regatta!!!) we really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend for a picturesque hotel stay.
:-)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joeykim78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

we arrived for 1 night, and shown a very nice face fronting room which was very nice. we asked to be checked in for dinner which seemed ok no prob at checkin however later on we were told the kitchen was shut but we found somewhere to eat nearby. breakfast was a disaster no menu no juices or cereal we were however given tea whilst we waited for continental breakfast which when it arrived was very disappointing bacon very tough and poached eggs hard and toast soppy! juice etc. eventually turned up served by a very harrassed young lady who apologised profusely, where were the waitresses?? our bar bill was not added due to the upset at breakfast, this was supposed to be a relaxing weekend for us but was spoilt and also we were woken early to be asked if we would like breakfast in our room so overall not impressed with this hotel!

Room Tip: ask for a back room as the front has traffic noise but that didnt bother us
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 504216Luckylady56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

We had Sunday lunch here a few weekends ago, choosing from a set 3 course menu with a selection of carvery mains. We each ordered something different, but all of our meat dishes were tough and overcooked.

The service was not bad, but without warmth or friendliness. We were left unattended (and thirsty) for long periods, although the restaurant wasn't full or busy. At one point we managed to catch the (presumably) 'head waiter's' eye, but he indicated that it was someone else's job to take orders.

We didn't stay here so can't comment on the rooms. The restaurant itself was light, bright, clean and tastefully decorated.

We left wishing that we'd gone to one of the many other places in town where we could have had good food and service, for a much lower price tag. This was disappointing, as we had been looking forward to this as a special occasion.

I would have given 3/5 if the menu had been priced in accordance with the quality of the food and service, but there is no excuse for pricing your menu according to the décor.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonoriaPlum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Henley-on-Thames hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Recently attended a wedding reception at the Red Lion at Henley. Bit of a mixed bag in terms of comments. I think the staff may be working in adverse conditions. I.E I think they are doing the best with what they have. One guy in particular was amazing, very profession and thoughtful. I think his name was Oliver, could be wrong but he was the guy with long hair tied back. He was all over the place attending to everything...wish he lived in Bristol so that I could offer him a job.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
746 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
575 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
146 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phyllis Court Club
Phyllis Court Club
#6 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Hotel

Property: The Red Lion Hotel
Address: 4 Hart Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Thames and the tranquil green fields beyond, The Red Lion Hotel, Henley-on-Thames offers the most sought after location in the heart of one of Southern England's most beautiful and affluent market towns. It is also home to the most expensive home outside London.With four spacious banqueting and conference suites and thirty-nine individually designed bedrooms, each with its own unique history and character, The Red Lion offers over 600 years of experience in service to some of the country’s most prominent figures.Superbly located just two minutes from the market square, The Red Lion rests just five minutes from the Henley Railway Station and a short drive to the M4 and M40 motorways allowing for excellent access to London and the surrounding areasOur dining room offers an outstanding menu, using only the finest seasonal and local ingredients.Our unique wedding suites make this the ideal venue for weddings and civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Red Lion Henley On Thames
Henley-On-Thames Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing