We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super corporate event”
Review of The Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Red Lion Hotel
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I entertained some Germans for 1 night in this hotel. Total number of 9 people with a conference and private dinner.
The meeting room is very nice and reflects the ambience of this very old hotel. A nice view over the Thames makes business so much easier. The same room was transformed after the meeting into a private dining room and the waiters did a great job looking after us. The food was gorgeous and all members of my party were impressed with the quality of the dinner.
The rooms were very pretty / old but funtional, typical British..... good bathrooms and very spacious beds.
the only niggle was the bar, which could be better staffed to get served quicker, but then again...it is only a small niggle...
Thanks for making my event an evening we will not forget.

Room Tip: Choose room 206.... Wow factor, but you will hear the noise from the road in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chweb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 11 March 2014

Hotel and staff very welcoming. character room with comfortable bed and tea making. However we were not encouraged to stay for the evening meal as they were busy with a large wedding party some guests spilled outside to smoke and at midnight shouted and swore then a dozen men thought it funny to drop pants and wave their manhood about and some tried to light the gas from their rears! One was a pilot! Staff did after half an hour persuade them to stop not before they had mooned the other guests. I would go back however. BMC

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on 27th Feb-2nd March. We found the staff very friendly, the food was lovely and good choice, bedrooms very pleasant, ours overlooked the river which was nice.
We had booked this hotel with a very large group just over 60 of us and we have been looked after extremly well.
We will visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J11KJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Historic hotel set on the bank of the Thames. Ate in the hotel on the first night for a corporate dinner and the food and service was very good. The hotel is very central and everything in the town is in easy walking distance. Hotel although old was nice and clean. The hotel car park is quite small but it works.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank PitchLeveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We attended a wedding at the hotel over a lovely weekend. The wedding breakfast, although sparse was delightful and appropriate for the occasion. We stayed the night before and night after the wedding. Breakfast both mornings was delightful with a great selection. One question though. Who garnishes a fry-up with coriander leaf? The only let down. The hotel itself was clean, tidy, beautifully decorated and well furnished. Staff were attentive, and even ensured my shoes were returned to my room (I got a little tipsy and lost them). Wonderful weekend all round really.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IsobelJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We were recently given a gift certificate via Groupon, for an afternoon tea for 2 people. On arrival the hotel looked pleasant enough from the outside, however once inside it was all downhill from there really. I think if a hotel is going to offer a traditional English afternoon tea, then you surely have to nail it, or just don't bother.
We reported to reception, and had to queue with several other couples and groups all in for afternoon tea. After an awkward wait around the reception area, we were ushered to a dining area that was well decorated with clean linen table cloths and silver cutlery. The place was nice enough, but it all seemed a little sterile and fake. After another awkward gap, a chap turned up with two filled glasses of bubbly, this gesture alone I felt a little strange. Champagne should be poured at the table at times like this surely. Another short awkward pause and then another waitress turned up with the traditional three tiered ensemble and placed it in front of us.
Sandwiches were cold from the fridge, and the selection were as follows; cheese & pickle, cream cheese with tomato and cucumber, egg mayonnaise... (yep, sounds like a builders lunchbox), the crusts were still on most of the sandwiches and without meaning to sound pompous, they were just dull... the sort of sandwiches I'd throw in the kids lunchbox for school! They couldn't even be bothered to add cress to the egg.... I mean crusts ????? wrong on all counts.
Now I like a cup of tea, who doesn't ? however when you fork out £30 for an afternoon tea, you would expect maybe a choice of tea, not simply Tetley bags thrown in to a pot...... where was my choice of tea. Assam, Darjeeling, Earl Grey ???? No just Tetley......
The cakes were not made on site and I have a sneaky feeling they were just factory produced slabs, cut in to portions when needed. The lemon drizzle cake was so dry, I fear the drizzle just upped and left some time ago. There were a few other awful things too such as a strawberry cream tart that had seen better days.
The saving grace was a warm lovely scone served with some nice clotted cream, although the jam was a poor quality version.
Overall this is not what afternoon tea should be about. This place needs to up it's game with regard to this. Poor poor poor..........

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We were married last year and the whole event was superb from start to finish. Was thoroughly enjoyed by all who came and we are still getting lovely compliments to this day - "best wedding we have been to" - We had the majority of the rooms on the night of the wedding and had positive comments from all our guests. Food was lovely and the service was decent all round. Lovely Lions Mane as well! Couldn't fault the Red Lion at all.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrIdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
857 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
283 reviews
2 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phyllis Court Club
Phyllis Court Club
#5 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Hotel

Address: 4 Hart Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range: £71 - £182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Thames and the tranquil green fields beyond, The Red Lion Hotel, Henley-on-Thames offers the most sought after location in the heart of one of Southern England's most beautiful and affluent market towns. It is also home to the most expensive home outside London.With four spacious banqueting and conference suites and thirty-nine individually designed bedrooms, each with its own unique history and character, The Red Lion offers over 600 years of experience in service to some of the country’s most prominent figures.Superbly located just two minutes from the market square, The Red Lion rests just five minutes from the Henley Railway Station and a short drive to the M4 and M40 motorways allowing for excellent access to London and the surrounding areasOur dining room offers an outstanding menu, using only the finest seasonal and local ingredients.Our unique wedding suites make this the ideal venue for weddings and civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Red Lion Henley On Thames
Henley-On-Thames Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing