We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dreadful: hot, dirty and seedy.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Red Lion Hotel
Swanage
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Dreadful: hot, dirty and seedy.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night, Room 405 on courtyard. Room stank of air freshened, bathroom extractor fan didn't work, small dank room. Bathroom was filthy too. One electric socket didn't work, another was taped up. Very cold to start, ie we froze getting ready for party. Heating came on at 9pm, full blast, and stayed on all night making room insufferably hot. We couldn't turn radiator down as control valve was missing. Breakfast too was appalling; eggs had obviously been sitting around as I could take the top off my fried egg like a plastic cover, yuk! To cap all this payment was taken on arrival so no scope for negotiation THEN they charge you £10 to park your car in the hotel car park.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
8 Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    135
    101
    95
    84
See reviews for
71
243
18
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kirby Muxloe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

I made a reservation over the phone for a one night stay. When I checked in, they could not find my reservation. They had rooms available so they gave me a room key, charged me for the room and parking (had to be paid upfront).

Later I reviewed my bank statement and saw I was charged twice on the day of my checkout, once for the room rate and once for the room rate plus parking. I rang the hotel and spoke to someone who insisted that I'd only been charged once. I explained about the lost reservation and asked if there was a no-show charge that day that could be for my lost reservation. She said there wasn't. I asked her to review all the charges on that day to find the second charge. She agreed to do so and call or email me what she'd found. I received no email or phone call. I received no refund.

I rang again yesterday and to my frustration the woman who answered the phone could barely speak/understand English enough to take a message to have the manager ring me. But credit where credit is due: the manager did ring me, and within 24 hours found the double charge and rang me again to tell me they were refunding it.

Turns out they got my first name wrong when I rang to reserve the room in the first place and the second charge was a no-show charge with my surname, different first name, same card.

One annoying thing that happened during my stay: in the afternoon, two of my coworkers and I needed to join a conference call. I asked if we could use one of the empty meeting rooms, and the person at the front desk suggested that we instead use the lounge, since no one was in there. Well within 30 minutes, the lounge was full of people who were having afternoon tea. The sound of the people talking and the background music made it very hard to hear and participate. I also felt really bad for the people who had booked in for afternoon tea and had to listen to our conference call. Surely if you work the front desk, which is right in front of the lounge, you'd know what time afternoon tea starts and therefore not recommend that people use that room for a conference call immediately before that time?!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LoRo1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Henley-on-Thames hotels

Berkshire
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

We held our wedding there and the attention to detail was amazing. When some of our guest did not like the starter they were offered another choice with hesitation at no extra cost. The wedding planner looked after us all day and night long nothing was to much trouble. Everyone felt at ease throughout the day and the wedding pictures we took by the river just made our day complete. The bedrooms we had for the night were spotless and for the smokers in our party there were even a covered smokers area. In the morning there was a wide choice of breakfast that suited everyone. I am so glad there was a lion outside because the hotel gave us a roaring day. Thank you for making our wedding day so special.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chertsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

This is a very nice hotel , with a very nice and friendly staff , most of the rooms are very nice , some are even better than that , but its a bit let down by the lack of attention to detail and a rather skimpy provision of necessities, I mean Milk , Tea, Coffee , soaps and shampoos, there is no water provided in the room , no fridge , we only just scrapped by keep asking reception for top ups,(which they provided happily ) ..surly some fresh drinking water is a must , and two little sachets of milk is just not enough, breakfast just about gets away with it as well, only Mothers Pride style bread available (yuk).....overall I enjoyed the relaxed unhassled atmosphere ...but with a little more generosity in guest provision ..it could have been a brilliant experience ( £10 parking charge )

Room Tip: don't take the four poster rooms, 101-103... they have no carpets, and have a constant humming o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I entertained some Germans for 1 night in this hotel. Total number of 9 people with a conference and private dinner.
The meeting room is very nice and reflects the ambience of this very old hotel. A nice view over the Thames makes business so much easier. The same room was transformed after the meeting into a private dining room and the waiters did a great job looking after us. The food was gorgeous and all members of my party were impressed with the quality of the dinner.
The rooms were very pretty / old but funtional, typical British..... good bathrooms and very spacious beds.
the only niggle was the bar, which could be better staffed to get served quicker, but then again...it is only a small niggle...
Thanks for making my event an evening we will not forget.

Room Tip: Choose room 206.... Wow factor, but you will hear the noise from the road in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chweb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

Hotel and staff very welcoming. character room with comfortable bed and tea making. However we were not encouraged to stay for the evening meal as they were busy with a large wedding party some guests spilled outside to smoke and at midnight shouted and swore then a dozen men thought it funny to drop pants and wave their manhood about and some tried to light the gas from their rears! One was a pilot! Staff did after half an hour persuade them to stop not before they had mooned the other guests. I would go back however. BMC

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights on 27th Feb-2nd March. We found the staff very friendly, the food was lovely and good choice, bedrooms very pleasant, ours overlooked the river which was nice.
We had booked this hotel with a very large group just over 60 of us and we have been looked after extremly well.
We will visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J11KJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henley-on-Thames
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phyllis Court Club
Phyllis Court Club
#6 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
3.5 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Hotel

Property: The Red Lion Hotel
Address: 4 Hart Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Thames and the tranquil green fields beyond, The Red Lion Hotel, Henley-on-Thames offers the most sought after location in the heart of one of Southern England's most beautiful and affluent market towns. It is also home to the most expensive home outside London.With four spacious banqueting and conference suites and thirty-nine individually designed bedrooms, each with its own unique history and character, The Red Lion offers over 600 years of experience in service to some of the country’s most prominent figures.Superbly located just two minutes from the market square, The Red Lion rests just five minutes from the Henley Railway Station and a short drive to the M4 and M40 motorways allowing for excellent access to London and the surrounding areasOur dining room offers an outstanding menu, using only the finest seasonal and local ingredients.Our unique wedding suites make this the ideal venue for weddings and civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Red Lion Henley On Thames
Henley-On-Thames Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing