We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better Options in Henley”
Review of The Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Red Lion Hotel
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed here for business the rooms are tired and dated with old and worn mattresses as well as a dirty toilet on check in, I would also recommend not taking a room on the front as they are not well sound proofed given the traffic outside. The service could also do with some improvement, not very customer focused and at times not enough staff as there was no one yo check me in when the receptionist was on the phone for 5 minutes. The one thing I would complement them on was the food for lunch during our meeting.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dentonsdestinations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2014

I stayed here with my wife as our first solo night away since the arrival of our now one year old. We had a hot air balloon ride arranged for the following morning, So this was to be the perfect weekend. OH what a mistake that was.

On arrival we were told they had a wedding on, (not told this when booked 2 months previously) We were then given a room across the car park, sorry, courtyard as they call it. It was full to the brim with cars, so we couldn’t even use the car park, we had to park in a public car park 10 minutes walk away, and pay £8 for the privilege, and the car has to be moved from the public car park before 9 the next morning or you get fined. (no problem for us as we had to get up at 5:30 for our hot air balloon) We could hardly get to our room as the cars in the car park, Sorry again, courtyard, where blocking our path to the room.

We fought our way through to be meet with the smallest of rooms that stank of air freshener. It's no exaggeration to say my single garage at home is bigger than the room, with a TV the size the average mobile phone mounted to the wall.

We asked to move rooms as we were worried about the cars moving around after the wedding and we had to be up at 5:30, to which we got a blank stare and “we're fully booked, sorry”.

The wedding was VERY loud and just across the car park from us, with double doors opened on to the car park. That went on till 12:00 and the guests where moving about till gone 1 in the morning, And with the walls being made of material thinner than paper, it goes without saying that we only got to sleep after 1 AM. So 4 hours sleep was all we got.

Also to add, Of the 6 celling spot lights in the room, only 3 worked, leaving the bathroom in particular, very dark. I also took my towel back to reception when we left as it had a hole in it and was filthy.
All this for £145 a night. I don’t care if I’m staying in Mayfair, Henley on Themes or the Bronx, the basics should always be met when I’m paying such a high price.

STAY HERE AT YOUR PERIL. It’s a shame I have to give this a star rating, as I feel 1 star is 15/16ths to much.

One good thing of note is it's walking distance to The little angel, restaurant. If only they did rooms there you wouldn’t have to return to the hovel that is the red lion.

Room Tip: Go else where, it's the only chance you'll have to get a room worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We booked a standard room online, but when we arrived we had been upgraded to the Duke of Marlborough room because the hotel was pretty empty that night. It was a marvelous, enormous room with a great view of the river. The hotel doesn't get five stars because the basin in the bathroom was pretty much non-functional. We didn't complain because we didn't want to give up the room, but we wrote up the problem on the complaint sheet when we checked out the next morning. It took a lot of effort on the part of the staff to ignore the fact the taps on the basin hadn't been working properly for a while. Otherwise the room was fantastic. The bed was comfortable, although a bit stingy on the number of pillows for a king size bed. Loved the view of the river from the enormous windows. We ate dinner in the hotel. The food was wonderful, well done, even though we were the only people in the dining room on this quiet night. The next morning we had breakfast there. Adequate buffet of cereal, fruit, and yogurt, plus cheese and cold cuts in the German style. Good hot coffee, served upon request. The "full English breakfast" was adequate, but the most disappointing cooked breakfast we'd had in our entire holiday in England. All the staff seem to be Eastern European, and while they all offered service with a smile and did their best to help, their ability to speak English covered a wide range, hence the request that we write down the problems with the bathroom basin instead of simply explaining them. We appreciated being able to park the car in the hotel parking lot, even if we had to pay extra, because parking in Henley can be challenging.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 65Wagonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We booked family here for our wedding and everyone was delighted with their rooms.The package included champagne and strawberries which was a nice touch and surprised our guests.would recommend based on family feedback and we had booked 6 rooms!

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Lorna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I booked a standard double room for me and my partner, and to our surprise the receptionist upgrade our room to a four poster bed with a river view, its a nice gesture from them and a surprise for my partner since its our anniversary. The room is splendid, too much character, since the hotel is build during 16th century, you find a portion of history on this hotel. I cant comment for the dinner because we had dinner at villa marina which is fabulous. Breakfast is okey. Over all, we enjoy our stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank andreia205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Our son's wedding reception was recently held here and most family and friends stayed at the hotel, including a large Irish contingent. Our overall experience was good, but one member of staff on reception (a very young lady) needs some serious training in customer service - she was surly and everything was too much trouble. The bar staff, however, and Anna, in parficular, were very good. The hotel manageress too, although very helpful was difficult to understand due to her heavy foreign accent. The rooms in this hotel are large and comfortable. We had no trouble sleeping despite being on the front of the hotel overlooking the main road. The blind in the bathroom fronting the main street was badly torn though and needs replacing. However, the facilities are generally excellent. Breakfast was shockingly bad. It was cold and there was very little choice altogether. Not a good experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lauran1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Stayed here last night, Room 405 on courtyard. Room stank of air freshened, bathroom extractor fan didn't work, small dank room. Bathroom was filthy too. One electric socket didn't work, another was taped up. Very cold to start, ie we froze getting ready for party. Heating came on at 9pm, full blast, and stayed on all night making room insufferably hot. We couldn't turn radiator down as control valve was missing. Breakfast too was appalling; eggs had obviously been sitting around as I could take the top off my fried egg like a plastic cover, yuk! To cap all this payment was taken on arrival so no scope for negotiation THEN they charge you £10 to park your car in the hotel car park.

Stayed: March 2014
8  Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
818 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
669 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
160 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phyllis Court Club
Phyllis Court Club
#6 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Hotel

Address: 4 Hart Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range: £75 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Thames and the tranquil green fields beyond, The Red Lion Hotel, Henley-on-Thames offers the most sought after location in the heart of one of Southern England's most beautiful and affluent market towns. It is also home to the most expensive home outside London.With four spacious banqueting and conference suites and thirty-nine individually designed bedrooms, each with its own unique history and character, The Red Lion offers over 600 years of experience in service to some of the country’s most prominent figures.Superbly located just two minutes from the market square, The Red Lion rests just five minutes from the Henley Railway Station and a short drive to the M4 and M40 motorways allowing for excellent access to London and the surrounding areasOur dining room offers an outstanding menu, using only the finest seasonal and local ingredients.Our unique wedding suites make this the ideal venue for weddings and civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Red Lion Henley On Thames
Henley-On-Thames Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing