We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good ambiance but needs updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Red Lion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Red Lion Hotel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good ambiance but needs updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

Pleasant and well decorated but with some outdated facilities. Only one plug by the bed so you need to unplug the lamp to charge your phone. Bathroom equipment rather dated and rather small TV for a hotel in this price range.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lewys J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    137
    101
    97
    84
See reviews for
72
246
18
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We stayed here for one night, glad it wasn't any longer. We were asked to pay for the room upon arrival, a first for us. No wonder as I would think they might find it hard to get people to pay after seeing the room. The first thing I saw upon entering the room was a very stained armchair, it would have been better not to have had one in there. The carpet was very old and dirty and the bedcover left a lot to be desired.
I went to have a bath in the morning, there was no plug. So decided to have a shower which was in semi darkness as the bulb was broken. The water kept stopping and then coming out cold.
The manager 'does not work at weekends' my friend was told. Well one wonders what he/she does do when they are at work as they certainly don't pay attention to detail.
A great shame as it is a beautiful building in a great position and could be absolutely first class if it was well run.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JaneHants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Henley-on-Thames hotels

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

£150 to sleep in a tiny, tiny and roasting hot room in a car park, with nothing but noise outside from 6:30am, is pretty much the reason I can't recommend this hotel.

Location - there's a tonne of hotels within two minutes of this hotel that are just as convenient.

Price - there's a tonne of hotels within two minutes that are half of the price of the red lion.

Honestly, I am not fussy, but this place was dire

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Philipstorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. On arrival staff very friendly and check in was quick. I had the red lion room, not very big but big enough with a fantastic view up the Thames and the Angel pub. It is a very nice hotel, old, very we'll kept, although a little rough around the edges. Bed very comfy although the extractor fan in the bathroom very noisy and needs replacing. The dinner menu you don't get a lot of choice, needs revamping. Breakfast is a buffet affair with enough choice for everyone, served in the Thames room. The staff were all friendly and helpful and could not do enough for me.
Would recommend staying here, it is a beautiful building, full of history.
The only thing I can fault this hotel on is the water pressure is very low, and the hot wart does not last long.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank colandally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

The staff here have little clue - no training it would appear. I felt like I needed to help them dort the most basics out... from ho to make porridge to how to take an order (and I aint in the hotel industry)

Its clear no-one check the rooms regularly - my room had a mis functioning shower and an iron who's flex was worn through to the cables in 2 places. The Wifi is also very very 'flaky' to say the least.

Avoid this place if you possibly can. Only positive is the view from breakfast room (breakfast itself not great)

Room Tip: Not 103... no sunlight !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Craig H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lavenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The hotel sending me an e-postcard asking me to recommend the hotel to friends clearly shows how out of touch this property is. I should have suspected the worst after 4 telephone calls over 4 days asking for them to send me an e-mail confirming my booking! I chose the hotel because it had a car park only to be dismayed to find as I checked in that I needed to pay and additional £10.00 up front for parking! I was shown to a room that was war-torn and as small as prison cell with two broked lights and bearly enough room to swing a cat. I asked to be moved and to be fair they moved me right away to a much better room with two windows over looking the River Thames. This room, No 111, had the potential to nice. New drapes and a comfy bed BUT the dressing table stool was soiled and clearly someone had tried to clean it with bleach so it was covered in stains.....the furniture was chipped and needed replacing and one of the lights had a stained shade. There were only two pilllows on the bed, one hard and one softer so I am not sure how I would have coped if I had been travelling with my husband instead of alone. There are clearly not enough staff and when I went downstairs to be bar to grab a light snack discovered most of them only spoke partial English. The bar was unattended when I walked in and it was about 5 minutes before anyone turned up. I had, by this time, cleared a table to sit down but when my drink was delivered the table was not cleaned and was wet on top. The bartender did not know how to make a Virgin Mary so I showed him by making it myself! I ordered a club shandwich which was a very strange conconction and included some kind of omelette of egg on one layer and some very suspicious looking chicken which looked as though it had come out of a packet of processed chicken pieces. This hotel really needs to get to grips with its food, ambiance and customer service. At breakfast the next morning I was told there were no choices at all - just the Full English or juice, toast and cereal as well as some rather sad look bowls of tinned fruit. It was a pretty sorry affair with shoe leather bacon and rubbery eggs and I simply cannot believe that a hotel in the centre of Henley-on-Thames cannot offer manage one offering on its breakfast menu. The location is fantastic which is why I chose it but certainly next time I shall stay somewhere else. My advice is give it a miss........

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Not brilliant if I'm honest. A great location right in the middle if town but the room is effectively a converted garage and very cramped. We asked for directions to park but on arrival were charged an additional 10 pounds for the privilege which came as a surprise. It was difficult to get back in on our return ( nobody answered the doorbell) and the price is steep with no extras or breakfast included. Customer service was rubbish. Would not recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 747 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phyllis Court Club
Phyllis Court Club
#5 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Hotel

Property: The Red Lion Hotel
Address: 4 Hart Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Red Lion Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the River Thames and the tranquil green fields beyond, The Red Lion Hotel, Henley-on-Thames offers the most sought after location in the heart of one of Southern England's most beautiful and affluent market towns. It is also home to the most expensive home outside London.With four spacious banqueting and conference suites and thirty-nine individually designed bedrooms, each with its own unique history and character, The Red Lion offers over 600 years of experience in service to some of the country’s most prominent figures.Superbly located just two minutes from the market square, The Red Lion rests just five minutes from the Henley Railway Station and a short drive to the M4 and M40 motorways allowing for excellent access to London and the surrounding areasOur dining room offers an outstanding menu, using only the finest seasonal and local ingredients.Our unique wedding suites make this the ideal venue for weddings and civil ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Red Lion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Red Lion Henley On Thames
Henley-On-Thames Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing