We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Dubious story!

Beautiful Victorian Wellhead, Interesting legend, although perhaps needing better verilfication... read more

Reviewed 30 March 2024
xlinspector
,
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
via mobile
If you are passing or have a specific interest.

It's a very short stop but kind of quaint. If you're passing its worth it otherwise I'd wait till... read more

Reviewed 23 November 2021
bob f
,
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Read all 78 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Henley-on-Thames
from £735.00
More Info
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
21
35
21
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
21
35
21
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2017

The Well has an interesting history, it won't take long to visit, and next door is the Cherry Tree pub which has great food.

Date of experience: November 2016
Thank Julian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2016

Superbly quirky monument now. The gift from a Maharajah to a village in England to repay a kindness shown many years before. A wonderful tale and a delightful quick visit.Brilliant!

Date of experience: October 2016
Thank TallBloke68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 October 2016

Worth a visit between seeing Greys court and Nuffield Place. Strange place but lovely story about the well and Cherry Orchard. Nicely maintained.

Date of experience: October 2016
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Well documented local history of the well on a visitor's board. Unusual pretty well to find in rural Oxfordshire but worth a quick stop if you are passing. Easily walked from The Cherry Tree Inn. Quiet and relaxing on a Sunday morning

Date of experience: September 2016
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 August 2016

Imagine something you'd expect to find in India, superimposed on a well in an English village and there you have it. The well, though no longer used in earnest, still has water and is topped by a dome and a gilded elephant above the well housing. Adjacent is the former well keeper's cottage (now private): a quaint six sided tiny cottage with a modern extension behind to make it practical. Then, adjacent to that is the cherry orchard, originally created to prove funds to maintain the former two structures. See the web site for the fascinating back story.

Date of experience: April 2016
Thank VioletEngland48
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews