We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Dubious story!

Beautiful Victorian Wellhead, Interesting legend, although perhaps needing better verilfication... read more

Reviewed 30 March 2024
xlinspector
,
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
via mobile
If you are passing or have a specific interest.

It's a very short stop but kind of quaint. If you're passing its worth it otherwise I'd wait till... read more

Reviewed 23 November 2021
bob f
,
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Read all 78 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Henley-on-Thames
from £735.00
More Info
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
21
35
21
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
21
35
21
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2018

The last time we visited the whole thing was covered in scaffolding, and we couldn't get near it. Now the refurbishment is complete and it all looks very splendid. Read the interpretive boards (don't miss the second one in the cherry orchard (Ishree Bagh) next door) and buy the leaflet - it all comes together when you get the background story.
There are other much less grand wells with the same mechanism and by the same ironfounder in this area - apparently also donated by various Indian royalty following the Maharajah's precedent. Fun to search for them if you have plenty of time!

Date of experience: July 2018
3  Thank andrewgE4302RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We have passed by the sign for the well many times and one day decided to visit. There was plenty of information at the well which made interesting viewing. Worth a visit if you are passing.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 356wendyjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 March 2018

This is a really quirky, unusual thing to find in a typical English village. It takes you completely by surprise. It is nicely kept and worth a look if you’re in the area, but there’s not really a great deal to see.

Date of experience: June 2017
1  Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2017 via mobile

Unexpected in the middle of the Oxfordshire countryside a stunning well with a interesting history worth spending time to look at and admire and find out why it is there !!.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank 395grizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Unfortunaly when we visited the well was being refurbished and was surrounded by scaffolding. We also walked around the orchard but this was overgrown and the ponds had dried up. However there was a very small mound with a wooden elephant on it. Even though there was not a lot to see we picked up a booklet and thoroughly enjoyed reading the history behind this enchanting well.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews