We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Dubious story!

Beautiful Victorian Wellhead, Interesting legend, although perhaps needing better verilfication... read more

Reviewed 30 March 2024
xlinspector
,
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
via mobile
If you are passing or have a specific interest.

It's a very short stop but kind of quaint. If you're passing its worth it otherwise I'd wait till... read more

Reviewed 23 November 2021
bob f
,
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Read all 78 reviews
  
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
Recommended experiences in and around Henley-on-Thames
from £735.00
More Info
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
21
35
21
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
21
35
21
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 12 May 2019 via mobile

Stopped at stoke row which is a delightful village. Took time to see Maharajahs well which is 150 years old. Interesting story of why the well was built and pleased to say well is maintained in good order. Worth a visit and also the surrounding orchard which is very peaceful.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank MARKD7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 May 2019 via mobile

It is really interesting to know how Indian King helped Draught area for many years and also, he helped the village for food. Apparently he didn't visit this place for not even once.

I felt happy after visiting this place. I was doing cycling with locals and they showed me.

Cheers

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Vishwanath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2019 via mobile

One of the less known tourist sites in Oxfordshire, but definitely worth a visit to this rural area to learn about Indian relations with Britain in 19th century. The well housing design is clearly Indian influence and there is a gilded elephant figure under the canopy.
Looks good but worth a look ?

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank A3303XQpaulh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 July 2018

The last time we visited the whole thing was covered in scaffolding, and we couldn't get near it. Now the refurbishment is complete and it all looks very splendid. Read the interpretive boards (don't miss the second one in the cherry orchard (Ishree Bagh) next door) and buy the leaflet - it all comes together when you get the background story.
There are other much less grand wells with the same mechanism and by the same ironfounder in this area - apparently also donated by various Indian royalty following the Maharajah's precedent. Fun to search for them if you have plenty of time!

Date of experience: July 2018
3  Thank andrewgE4302RN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We have passed by the sign for the well many times and one day decided to visit. There was plenty of information at the well which made interesting viewing. Worth a visit if you are passing.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank 356wendyjohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews