We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Filling tea time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chocolate Theatre Cafe

Chocolate Theatre Cafe
Price range: US$1 - US$19
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Harvard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Filling tea time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I went to the Chocolate Theatre several timeds while vacationing in Henley. The shop is super cute . The portions for the tea are large. My son had the full tea and it came with a substantial scone, clotted cream, and a largish ham sandwich. All the baked goods were fresh and the tea was excellent. I wouldn't go during Henley Week as it gets way too crowded .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hleswill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    144
    48
    31
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Top Afternoon Tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Lovely venue over looking the river and was kindly seated by the window so we were right next to it. The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent including the quality of the food. Going again with a friend in a couple of weeks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Seirian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
376 reviews
274 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Another lovely visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

We are regulars here but we found an amazing offer on Amazon local for afternoon tea too good to miss even though we felt a bit cheeky.
A glass of prosecco, round of freshly made sarnies, pot of tea and a couple of generous scones with jam and clotted cream later, we were too full to indulge in our usual cake platter.
Friendly and efficient service as always by all the owner and her staff. See you again soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BerkshireWomble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Excellent and cute café”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

The Chocolate Theatre Cafe is a great coffee shop with a good location by the river in Henley. The food is very good and portions are quite large. The cakes are fantastic!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Honest food at less than honest prices”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We were attracted to this cafe by the tripadvisor rating but I can assume that other happy customers opted for less expensive items on the menu. Perhaps cream teas?

The service was slow but we were warned of this by a sign in the cafe. The issue is the price. I am happy to spend on elaborately constructed plates with interesting ingredients. Not in a lacklustre cafe where a salad, sandwich, glass of OJ and glass of coke (not even a can) is and was over £20. We even tipped because the waitress was pleasant, so let's say £25!

The food was fresh but pricing is over inflated due to the location.

Helpful?
4 Thank secretgardenofjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chocolate Theatre Cafe also viewed

Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Goring-on Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Goring-on Thames, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Chocolate Theatre Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing