We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for breakfast”

Chocolate Theatre Cafe
Price range: US$1 - US$19
Cuisines: Cafe, Soups
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great selection of food, snacks and drinks. Friendly staff and quick service considering it was busy. Perfect location looking over the river Thames.

Would highly recommend as an alternative to the coffee shop chains that dominate Henley.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoshBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    152
    49
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We visited the Chocolate Cafe as I had purchased vouchers for afternoon tea. I had booked the table for 3 o'clock but the weather wasn't very good so we got to the Chocolate Cafe at 2.20 and asked if we could be seated earlier. No problem. We had a glass of Prosecco and a very wide choice of sandwiches which were very fresh. Next we had a choice of tea or coffee and two scones with jam and cream. Excellent value even at the full price. The choice of cakes is amazing with delicious looking cheesecake, chocolate torte, carrot cake, apricot franzipan and many others all made on site. I would thoroughly recommend a visit and will certainly be returning myself.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PaulineC001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Lovely place nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We visited here today on a groupon deal, we had booked luckily as it was very very busy, we were quickly seated in the window over looking the river and made welcome. The selection of sandwiches was very good and of a high quality, very tasty. Our deal came with a glass of prosecco which was well chilled and lovely and to finish we were given a cream tea with TWO scones each luckily our children were with us to help us out !!. Very good deal but we will return regardless of a deal, Thank you

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OXONJOHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harvard, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Filling tea time”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

I went to the Chocolate Theatre several timeds while vacationing in Henley. The shop is super cute . The portions for the tea are large. My son had the full tea and it came with a substantial scone, clotted cream, and a largish ham sandwich. All the baked goods were fresh and the tea was excellent. I wouldn't go during Henley Week as it gets way too crowded .

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hleswill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Top Afternoon Tea”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Lovely venue over looking the river and was kindly seated by the window so we were right next to it. The staff were very friendly and the service was excellent including the quality of the food. Going again with a friend in a couple of weeks.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seirian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chocolate Theatre Cafe also viewed

Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Goring-on Thames, Oxfordshire
Goring-on Thames, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Chocolate Theatre Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing