We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food just let down by the waitress.. Very abrupt .. No customer service .. Sorry hence no tip for you ..”

Chocolate Theatre Cafe
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, View
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
East Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food just let down by the waitress.. Very abrupt .. No customer service .. Sorry hence no tip for you ..”
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Auburned hair tied back,petite , yes fast but very rude abrupt service by her, others were fine, take note owners and give her a few customer service tips ! Oh and tell her to cover her mouth up whilst she coughing all over the place or send her home !

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank LipstyEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    149
    49
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Riverside cafe (Gluten free options)”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Great position, overlooking the Thames at some tables. Window seats give a great view but they can be very hot if the sun is shining mid morning.

Some lovely sweet items and of course chocolate treats.

So refreshing to find that the staff are educated regarding gluten free toast and cakes :)

They just have to watch the slow service, particularly evident when the regular cyclists arrive on a Sunday morning and take over.

Good products, but ultimately we like to feel that the staff feel the customer is important.......

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Underwhelmed”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I visited this with friends one Sunday morning. We had sandwiches, coffee and cake.
The sandwiches were made with supermarket-style sliced bread and mine were only buttered on one slice of the bread. The cucumber used in mine tasted as if it was not that fresh too. I ended up leaving half of them.
The cake was nice and so was the coffee.
The service was very slow. We were seated and then it was 10 minutes before the waitress came back to take our sandwich order. Although the cafe was busy, we had waited 15 minutes to order cake before we decided to seek out our waitress ourselves to order. We also waited 10 minutes to pay, before being told that we had to do that at the counter (so another 5 minutes queuing to pay).
Given that we had been expecting something special based on other reviews, the whole experience was disappointing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FatClone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ashby de la zouch
Level Contributor
357 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Yum, Yum”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

After buying so comfy leather casual shoes from Boatique, helpful young man suggested we visit this café. Such a good idea, as it was off the main busy area, overlooking the river in such a pretty location. Clearly a popular place, but we soon were enjoying the best chocolate fudge cake and coffee, served by friendly helpful staff. The only problem was choosing from the tempting selection of cakes and pastries. I was fascinated to see the prep area where you could watch chef preparing these exquisite desserts.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Great selection of food, snacks and drinks. Friendly staff and quick service considering it was busy. Perfect location looking over the river Thames.

Would highly recommend as an alternative to the coffee shop chains that dominate Henley.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JoshBooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chocolate Theatre Cafe also viewed

Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Goring-on Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Goring-on Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Chocolate Theatre Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing