We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place with standards”
Review of Phyllis Court Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Phyllis Court Club
Certificate of Excellence
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A place with standards”
Reviewed 11 December 2012

I am a member of the Club but as we live a distance away, we sometimes stay overnight.

The food in the dining room is excellent with attentive service and there is also the less formal Orangerywith equally friendly staff which overlooks the grounds and the river.

We have found the breakfasts excellent with a good choice and food that is well cooked. There are standard and superior rooms most of which overlook the river. If you really want some space book one of the superior rooms otherwise the standard ones are very good and of course cheaper.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    38
    11
    12
    4
See reviews for
24
44
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This was very well priced and well cooked. Friendly and attentive service. Lost a star because the breakfast room was a bit cool for a chilly autumn day. I did not stay, but I am a member. Tends to suit retired people.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Our recent stay at this hotel was somewhat disappointing for the price we paid for B&B. Our superior room whilst having a great view of the river and gardens was poorly thought out and badly laid out. We were slightly surprised to find no drawers for clothes other than a very low unit more like a sideboard than bedroom furniture, bedside lights which were impossible to read by and a bathroom door which did not shut properly. Also if it is necessary in a room to have some device for insect control, it should be regularly emptied and not left full of corpses.
Breakfast is served in a delightful, light-filled orangery but the service, whilst friendly, was haphazard with dirty plates not cleared and orders not brought. The food served is basic hotel standard, small boxes of cereals (very limited choice), basic sliced bread and tired looking pastries, and although the full English breakfast was very good, the scrambled eggs on toast tasted as if made from powdered eggs rather than fresh ones.
Phyllis Court holds itself out to be a bastion of traditional standards with its emphasis on correct behaviour and dress; it should look at its own standards and ask whether they would not benefit by being brought more into line with today's hotel offerings.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentwofourone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Location, one of the finest in the world, long private bank on the Thames, beside the legendary Henley Reach site of the Rowing Regatta. Stylish public rooms, very well furnished,quiet, bedrooms many of which have superb views of the river. This is a club so be prepared for the odd dress rule, members and guests,, like the staff tend to be smart. Slight air of Edwardian England but that's probably no bad thing. Excellent food and relaxed, helpful service. Phyllis Court hosts weddings regularly and if you are not part of the celebrations you may find them intrusive. Confirm your room bookings (and mooring if you need one ) as this seems to be the only accident prone area. Good road access and parking, excellent, secure, moorings when available. Short walk to Henley town centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Thames. Ask if during your stay there is a (big) wedding. Booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Violaferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

One on Great Britains secret gardens and hotel/club, its like going back to Edwardian Great Britain, especially when the regatta is on. The restaurant has good food and service and the bar is perfect, watching the classic river craft glide by.
I love taking friends there.

Room Tip: Front river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank countrober2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

In an unbeatable location right on the Thames, this private members club also welcomes non members. Situated close to the beautiful bridge in Henley, the rooms have excellent views of the river and all the passing boats. The food in the dining room is exceptional and the staff are charming. The Club is peaceful but convenient for the town and altogether a splendid place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Riverside11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

We attended a wonderful wedding function, however, the reservations department felt is was appropriate to put a young family in a room right on top of another wedding function who happen to have a live band which we are told by the front desk does not stop playing until 00.00! Needless to say and I currently sat in my room with a 6yr old who can't settle and the floor is vibrating to the sound of the music writing a completely different review to the one I had planned about 1hr ago! I would advise if you are making a booking and you are travelling as a family of who can't sleep with a live band in your room discuss your requirements when you make your reservation! I can't comment if they will be fulfilled or not but someone should have some common sense when a booking requests an extra bed for a child that we don't really want a band playing in your room or the noise of the function goers dissipating! Rant over!

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Victorianewlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henley-on-Thames
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
780 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
554 reviews
3.4 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
154 reviews
1.7 mi away
Henley Business School
Henley Business School
#4 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
123 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phyllis Court Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phyllis Court Club

Property: Phyllis Court Club
Address: Phyllis Court Drive | Marlow Road, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Phyllis Court Club 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phyllis Court Club is situated on the borders of Oxfordshire, Berkshire and Buckinghamshire 5 minutes walk from the town centre of Henley on Thames, set in 18 acres of picturesque lawns that sweep down to the river Thames. This renowned private members' Club opens its doors to offer a warm welcome to you for your business meetings, wedding, special occasion or even just a couple of nights stay in one of the 17, luxurious bedrooms overlooking the Thames. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L. and LateRooms so you can book your Phyllis Court Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phyllis Court Club Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Phyllis Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing