We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh place.”
Review of Phyllis Court Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Phyllis Court Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2013

"Posh"...Says it all. You get what you pay for. A posh place by a posh river with posh people.
Excellent food. Friendly staff. Excellent facilities. Lovely lawn runs down to the River Thames. Must be fantastic during regatta week , should you e able to get a room .

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over ballroom when wedding reception on.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
There are newer reviews for Phyllis Court Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

Have just attended a mini-conference with two night stay. Prices were excellent, rooms extremely nice and very clean with good bathroom facilities. Excellent food for our main dinner and very good breakfast. Friendly and approachable staff made our stay very pleasant. Very good conference facilities at a sensible price. A fast and efficient booking service made the whole experience one I would like to repeat. The location and gardens are lovely and the website gives an accurate picture of the atmosphere, the club and the services. It's a little like stepping into another world because this is a private members club but we felt welcome there.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Superb location - lovely terrace for drinks.
Unfortunately we had room 16 which faces due west and catches the afternoon sun full on. The room was unbearably hot all night and there are no fans. Opening the window doesn't help because it also lies above the hotels jet engines which don't stop till midnight and start again about 6.45 (at least this is an hour after the dustbins are emptied.).

We rejected the main dining room because its formality was accentuated by its emptiness. The orangery was very pleasant but only has two starters and two mains on the menu (salmon and eggs something for starters and salmon and pork for mains). So we walked into town which was easy.

So if it was cold and wet, and the guest loved salmon and was hard of hearing it would doubtless get five stars.

Room Tip: Dont do room 16 or any room at the back unless theyve decided to offer guests ear plugs and a fan.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank richard g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Great location, comfortable rooms, good food and service. Phyllis Court is a very classy riverside country club. The house rules on dress will amuse and very occasionally irritate other than that Phyllis will delight. Remarkable value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms with baths are larger than those with showers
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Violaferry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

I agree with past comments on this venue, you are talked down to, made to feel inferior, and done by staff that have not the foggiest how to to their job, or even pour a drink properly.

After spending over a £1K on one night, the staff are rude, the rooms are mainly made up of single beds pushed together, no air con, and the basic of facilities.

Our "private dining room" looked great but was let down by the inferior food.

In sort, don't go and book the Red Lion, where we stayed for our wedding. or any other, even a Travel Lodge.

Room Tip: The Red Lion
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charli318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I travel a lot as you will see from my contributions and was really looking forward to spending 2 nights at Phyllis Courts whilst on business in Henley as I had walked past it on the opposite side of the river on many an occasion and it always looked nice. However, this is one of my worst hotel stays ever. Upon arrival, the car park nearest the hotel says "members only", visitors are pointed to the left. I had a large weekend bag, laptop, handbag, papers for work etc. and struggled down the drive to the entrance. Upon checking in, I was given a sticker to put in my car to confirm I was allowed to park - I then moved my car down but by then it was too late for being convenient - I think it would help if they changed the sign to read "members and hotel guests". So my first impression was one of members and visitors.

Check-in was straight forward although and very quick but no explanation of where anything was or anything about facilities - I had to ask what the options were if I wanted an evening meal.

My bedroom was OK upon initial inspection although straight away I noticed that the bed was 2 single beds put together to make a double but it went down at both edges so looked strange. The literature in the room and facilities were OK but I felt everything needed an update.

I went down for dinner in The Orangery - you have to dress for dinner so remember if booking that there is a formal dress code which can be a little off-putting at the end of a day in the office when all I really wanted to do was get out of my suit/formal wear. Upon entering The Orangery, I was advised which tables I could not sit at as they were reserved for Members. So I sat down at a table near the window and had a very nice 2 course evening meal which represented value for money. After dinner I sat in the non-member lounge area with a drink and did some reading. There is clearly a level of service for members and a level of service for others which I felt was very evident throughout my stay, which made me feel very uncomfortable and in a class establishment.

I had the most awful night's sleep on both nights as my body automatically rolled to the sloping edge of the bed. Also at 10.30-11.00pm on the first night, there was a lot of 'clearing up' noise which was very loud and disrupted my sleep. The bedrooms are on the floor above the main socialising area so you need to consider this if you go to bed early. Then at 7.30 the next morning, workmen started to erect a large marquee outside the window.

Breakfast was very good and the scrambled eggs are excellent but again, certain tables were reserved for members.

On the second night I came back to the hotel and didn't really fancy venturing very far and the meal had been nice the night before but because equally couldn't be bothered to get changed out of my smart casual clothes which included very expensive jeans, I ended up walking into town and eating elsewhere which is a shame as they lose business.

Another awful night's sleep, I couldn't wait to get home the next day. Whilst the venue is very nice, the way guests are treated has to be looked at to make it a truly wonderful experience for people in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joby69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Phyllis Court is a club but non-members can stay if rooms are not being occupied by members or reciprocals, and enjoy the facilities. Which are outstanding. 300 Yards of the finest Thames frontage - by the Henley Regatta winning post - flawless croquet lawns, tennis courts, mooring, a snooker room, two restaurants, bars etc. Visitors might consider joining because the club enjoys reciprocal membership of the Lansdowne, Hurlingham, RAF and Carlton clubs in London and a host of fine clubs abroad. Unlike many clubs, membership is open to all. Looking around the lounge there is nothing that particularly identifies a Phyllis Court member, they are not drawn exclusively from business or the arts or the squirearchy. But they are, in the main, old. This is a club where the over seventies dominate and their conservative ways prevail. They do not want to build a spa and gym in case it attracts the boisterous young. They like their lunches plain and unfussy, like the best sort of school food. Bar snacks include old fashioned sandwiches made from sliced bread - none of your foreign baguettes here, or kettle crisps. The place is less busy in the evening and by 10 they are tucked up at home in bed. Unlike the Leander Club over the river Phyllis Court members live close by. Change is resented so the sofas in the lounge and the swirly patterned carpet appear to have come from the 50s, although they have actually been upgraded recently. Staff are friendly and extremely tactful to the demanding clientele, some of whom can be a tad impatient. The Club hosts an impressive array of events, from bridge evenings and arts lectures to visits to exhibitions and stately homes. There is even a singles club where spouses can be snapped up.

This is the epitome of respectability, where you do not see drunks or bad behaviour. For croquet immaculate whites are worn. It was ever thus. Skindles at Maidenhead was for the louche and adulterous, Phyllis Court was, and is, for the genteel. And during Regatta week the scene on the terrace and by the river is a caricature of Englishness. Striped blazers, panamas and elaborate hats, champagne and strawberries and polite applause as the rowers speed by. Some watch the rowing. Most watch each other.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank nickyarthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henley-on-Thames
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
794 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
649 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
4.9 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phyllis Court Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phyllis Court Club

Address: Phyllis Court Drive | Marlow Road, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range: £157 - £273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phyllis Court Club 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phyllis Court Club is situated on the borders of Oxfordshire, Berkshire and Buckinghamshire 5 minutes walk from the town centre of Henley on Thames, set in 18 acres of picturesque lawns that sweep down to the river Thames. This renowned private members' Club opens its doors to offer a warm welcome to you for your business meetings, wedding, special occasion or even just a couple of nights stay in one of the 17, luxurious bedrooms overlooking the Thames. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phyllis Court Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phyllis Court Club Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Phyllis Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing