We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant suprise”
Review of Phyllis Court Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phyllis Court Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Ended up here after another hotel in the area lost our booking. The club is quite beautiful and is an enviable position on the riverbank close to the town. A ten minute stroll to the high street shops and restaurants. Being a Members club there are rules No Jeans or sports wear, no Mobile phones except in the guest rooms. Not the place for children. Relaxed atmosphere and excellent Breakfast,

Room Tip: Rooms 9;.10 11 have nice small balcony with a table looking onto the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brassijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 144 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed here with a group of friends, courtesy of one of the members of PCC. From the drive up to the3 club and easy parking, via the smart, efficient and courteous reception to the sparkling clean and well-presented room it was lovely. The breakfasts were great with a sensible choice, and the evening dinner (in a separate room as we were part of a large group) excellent. The local amenities are good, and Henley has lots to see.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richarda978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We live locally, 3 miles away from PC, and were guests at a wedding 4 weeks ago. Some local friends(members of PC) had advised that standards and quality have nosedived, but we went open eyed.
To park, as non-members, we were a long way from the reception room, but walked past dozens of vacant parking spaces!
The waiting/bar staff had a minimal command of our language/etiquette, and seemed to wait for advice on every move.
The Canapes looked and tasted nice if you could get one, but they were whisked through the reception as if they were going to go off - at least the waiting staff enjoyed them as they chomped on them on the way back to the kitchen, past paying guests!!!
The wedding breakfast was OK, but the Strawberry Mousse was watery.
The evening reception - why would PC employ outside caterers from St Albans to "cook" an awful barbeque (Iceland type burgers and sausages) and expect guests to eat this? no wonder the majority of the food was trayed up and left in the bar. Big, big shame!
Prices in the bar for drinks added to the insult.
Has the Red Lion management taken over this venue as well?
Won't return

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere, snob value is worth FA
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank famile5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Once again I have been very disappointed with the food advertised as a hot and cold buffet available on Bank Holiday Monday. Four different hot dishes of non descript mixtures, with no labels so had to rely on the staff to tell you what it was. Salads, well, very sparse, no variety and as for the rolls they must have been at least a week old as they were like straw, without butter.!! Truly this was supposed to be a special day out to view the old cars that were on display, but only managed to swallow the food with a bottle of wine. Truly not famous either but acceptable. We would have been better of stopping in Marlow were food is always good value for money, because this was in my opinion a "rip off"
P.C.C. is such a pleasant setting that members and guests will go despite the food because of the attraction of the place, but for a truly scrumptuous meal forget it!!!
The staff are generally pleasant but there needs to be some time invested to train them to go that "extra mile" which one would get in a good restaurant. Pity it was so pedestrian, not chic at all.

Room Tip: No idea never stayed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank liliane402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Having booked this private members' club as an hotel for Rewind festival, we were a bit worried about the frequent references to dress code. In fact this didn't prove to be an issue at all and we had an excellent stay.

Staff were friendly, courteous and obliging, from start to finish. Our river view room was huge, with just about everything you'd expect at this level: free WiFi and free safe, small fridge. No air-con and it was a bit warm during our stay, might be an issue on very hot nights. No shower.

We felt a bit incongruous, sneaking in after a day spent at a music festival, shorts, tea shirt, rucksacks. No-one complained though although we don't think we could have reached the bar without being accosted, and rightly so: this is a private club and 'hotel' guests need to understand that and respect the rules.

Breakfast was first-class, lots of room between tables, good service, well-cooked food and traditional English preserves (no marmalade though!)

All in all, we loved it and would stay again - great location, superb service, excellent facilities in the main.

Room Tip: River view made our stay that much more special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eertpit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

"Posh"...Says it all. You get what you pay for. A posh place by a posh river with posh people.
Excellent food. Friendly staff. Excellent facilities. Lovely lawn runs down to the River Thames. Must be fantastic during regatta week , should you e able to get a room .

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over ballroom when wedding reception on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Have just attended a mini-conference with two night stay. Prices were excellent, rooms extremely nice and very clean with good bathroom facilities. Excellent food for our main dinner and very good breakfast. Friendly and approachable staff made our stay very pleasant. Very good conference facilities at a sensible price. A fast and efficient booking service made the whole experience one I would like to repeat. The location and gardens are lovely and the website gives an accurate picture of the atmosphere, the club and the services. It's a little like stepping into another world because this is a private members club but we felt welcome there.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henley-on-Thames
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
835 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
163 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
200 reviews
3.5 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
0.3 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phyllis Court Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phyllis Court Club

Address: Phyllis Court Drive | Marlow Road, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range: £106 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phyllis Court Club 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phyllis Court Club is situated on the borders of Oxfordshire, Berkshire and Buckinghamshire 5 minutes walk from the town centre of Henley on Thames, set in 18 acres of picturesque lawns that sweep down to the river Thames. This renowned private members' Club opens its doors to offer a warm welcome to you for your business meetings, wedding, special occasion or even just a couple of nights stay in one of the 17, luxurious bedrooms overlooking the Thames. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phyllis Court Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phyllis Court Club Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Phyllis Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing