We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great choice of accommodation”
Review of Phyllis Court Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Phyllis Court Club
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

This Club is a wonderful place to stay. The location down by the Thames is superb and so is the view from the bedroom windows. Thanks to a previous reviewer I asked for - and got - rooms with balconies, which were especially lovely in the morning sunshine. Above all the staff are brilliant here; every single person seemed happy and keen to make sure we were too. We ate lunch in the Orangery and dinner in the main restaurant: both were spot on with great quality food. Altogether this was a very congenial place to stay, close to the town (10 mins. footpath) and peaceful.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony. Any bedding requests are noted and acted upon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prisbishop67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 145 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Sooooooooooo rude after attempting to book a wedding we gave up. The original amount agreed went up as much as £400 so pay for chairs to be put out even tho no one would be sitting in them. I know that we need to meet a minimum number of people but they should have told us how much when we spoke about money. Very let down. Such a shame as the place is stunning!

Stayed: April 2014
5  Thank Jollyrodger1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I was with a group of clients, the ones with the suites loved their rooms, the rest were so-so to happy with their rooms although a few complained they were cold. Did have hot water bottles in rooms though so that helped. Fairly good water pressure, room 14 was well equipped if a little small. Nice terrace balcony overlooking the Thames with the morning sun. Visitor parking is a long way from the entrance so park in the members bit then ask for a pass to save the walk. The food was excellent for b'fast, lunch and dinner, great service from general food and reception staff (not the bar staff so much). In a decent state of decoration considering we are post-recession, old fashioned taste mixed with modern style but in a nice way, it works. Dress code a little fussy, no jeans no trainers would have been simpler but they do go on a bit! Felt like an upmarket place and good for impressing clients. Will use it again in future.

Room Tip: I don't think all the suites have Thames views and terraces but the smaller rooms do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank busyquizzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

we attended an evening function here... it certainly is very nice and well kept... the toilet facilities are spotlessly clean...the restaurant was very nicely laid out...great decor....cutlery, glasses, table cloths all sparkling clean.... food was good... not excellent...but faultless in presentation...and delivery...the kitchen did have to make 70 meals at once which cant be easy.
in all..we had a nice evening in very nice surroundings...highly reccommended

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

An exceptionally beautiful setting, overlooking the river famous for the Henley Regatta, with stunning hills & forests beyond, and a magnificent club, with splendid bar and restaurants too!
Very courteous staff and pleasant visitors. Many clubs and games available, including tennis, rowing and golf.

Room Tip: Find one overlooking the lawns! NB A fitness centre and spa are being planned at the moment!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I went to Henley to visit my good friends and i selected this place because on the river, quite and old style
Not deceving for the old style...clients and member of club very old, very nice place, my room was small but a lovely terrace, food ok, very nice the breakfast ,
All these area is very is so green and i was lucky it was a sunny day

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sagadawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We had visited Phyllis Court with friends during Henley Regatta recently and as my husband was playing golf nearby we decided to stay overnight now that the Club is open to non-members.

Welcoming young staff, excellent bedroom and bathroom, innovative menu, beautiful presentation and sunshine as a bonus for the clad-in-white croquet players on the lawn all made this a memorable stay.

The location is superb looking out to the river and lively shopping with interesting small shops only a few minutes walk away.

So pleased the golf competition is in the same place next time and we will certainly return to Phyllis Court!

Room Tip: Number 9 overlooking the river had a lovely large balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cotswold017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
857 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
583 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
686 reviews
0.3 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phyllis Court Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phyllis Court Club

Address: Phyllis Court Drive | Marlow Road, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range: £108 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Phyllis Court Club 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Phyllis Court Club is situated on the borders of Oxfordshire, Berkshire and Buckinghamshire 5 minutes walk from the town centre of Henley on Thames, set in 18 acres of picturesque lawns that sweep down to the river Thames. This renowned private members' Club opens its doors to offer a warm welcome to you for your business meetings, wedding, special occasion or even just a couple of nights stay in one of the 17, luxurious bedrooms overlooking the Thames. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phyllis Court Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phyllis Court Club Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Phyllis Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing