We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique blend”
Review of Asiana Spice

Asiana Spice
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unique blend”
Reviewed 24 January 2014

A chance discovery walking down the street and we've been back a few times now. As someone from South Asia, it is so rare to find quality Indian food cooked in restaurants in the UK - mostly it's take-away style rubbish.

I was VERY impressed with the flavours (no excess oil or fluorescent colours), portion sizes and menu choices. To top it off, the chef even cooks delicious Thai food. Very rare find, indeed.

Surprisingly empty at lunch time - this place should be in Reading and not in Henley. If you value authentic food and friendly service, I cannot recommend this place highly enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank WitNit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    24
    7
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames
Level Contributor
188 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Indian/Thai fusion menu hits the spot!”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

The quality and taste delivered in this restaurant is up there with the very best in the UK. The Tandoori chicken (either as a starter or main course) is moist and soaked in flavour, the Tikka Fish Lasooni is sublime and probably the best dish in the restaurant. Mind you, the King Prawns (in a variety of dishes) are exceptional too.
And to top it off, Asiana was offering a New Year's Eve dinner at £14:95 each for a four course meal!
If you are in Henley-on-Thames, you have to try Asiana Spice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 928JohnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“very good food.”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We tried to eat at an Indian restaurant nearby which looked more upmarket, but as they wee fuly booked they recommended Asiana, which we were told was owned by the same person. Lassi amazing, food really interesting and abroad menu. We are going again tomorrow so hope it is as good the second time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank bert015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“bland and greasy food.”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We had take-out and the food upset our stomachs. It was bland, had no favour and was overly oily. The staff where not polite and seemed not to care about are order. We will not be coming back here and recommend that people think twice about eating here.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MastermanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Bland curry, aloof staff”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Recently had a meal here after passing it many a time on my way into Henley from Reading as it's pretty much the first little restaurant you see on your left on that road. We came one evening for a curry as we liked the sound of it and found it to be well reviewed on TA. To be honest the whole experience was disappointing, with extremely bland boring curries nothing exciting and we felt the staff were very aloof, perhaps because we came in at half nine on a quiet night maybe they wanted to go home?! All in all it wasn't the best curry experience!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JonathonH_1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Asiana Spice also viewed

Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Asiana Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing