We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent B&B with bonus of wine tasting on site !”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Henley-on-Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chiltern Valley Bed & Breakfast
Newark, UK
Level Contributor
174 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Decent B&B with bonus of wine tasting on site !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed recently with friends whilst visiting henley festival. Rooms clean & well appointed - although no tv or chairs (but lounge available downstairs). Wine tours sounded good but were already fully booked on the days we were there. A visit to the onsite shop suggests that their wines are probably quite good. Good breakfast. They recommended henley taxis but we wouldn't recommend to future guests as we were ripped off - paying £50 return for a trip that should have been about £30.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank XS-Baggage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    18
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
67
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Purley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

I booked the B&B and a wine tour as part of my husbands xmas present. We decided to book it for July hoping to get some good weather for our short trip and we weren't disappointed. The cottage and grounds are stunning and we had the most amazing couple of days there.

We arrived there shortly before our wine tour and were shown to our room in the cottage. Its so perfect, it only holds four couples and has a lounge area with sofas and a tv as there aren't TV's in the room, and there is a little dining room which is so quaint and exactly what we expected from a country retreat. We had the Barn view room and the room was so sweet and the bathroom was very big and had lots of character. There was so much attention to detail, with bathrobes, towels, a hairdryer and plenty of toiletries , a set each and one in the bathroom. Because the farmhouse currently is only a B&B, they provide a fridge in the rooms with tea and coffee and two bottles of water, one chilled and one to use in your kettle and also a jug of milk for your drinks. There are also wine and ale glasses should you wish to drink in your room.

The wine tour was so nice, we had a fab guide who was half Italian (unfortunately I didn't catch his name) he was funny and helpful and the wine, ale and liquor tasting at the end was just perfect and everyone was getting very merry towards the end.

What I loved about all the staff is that they have so much passion for their job, nothing was to much trouble, I felt more welcome than anywhere else I have stayed. They will go out of their way to make sure you have a lovely stay and are so chatty and fun.

Sarah cooked the farmhouse breakfast in the morning and it was perfect, you could tell all the ingredients were all local produce and very good quality. Sarah was attentive and we had a lovely long chat with her and she was very helpful with advising us of viewing points and places to visit in the local area.

Because they are currently only a B&B we did have to get a taxi to the local pub which the office lady kindly booked for us, but whilst it was only a 3 minute journey it costs £14 each way. This isn't the B&B's fault its purely that the only taxi cab company is in Henley and that is about 20 minutes away so they have to come a long way there and back to pick you up. If you are fit then you can take a 40 minute walk through the woods to get to the pubs, I would suggest doing this going there as the B&B is up a very steep hill and the pubs are right at the bottom.

All in all it was a fantastic stay and I will definitely be going back soon with some friends. Whats nice about staying somewhere so small is that in the evening all the couples staying in the B&B met up in the tv room and whilst we were all different ages and backgrounds, we had such a laugh and were all sad to leave in the morning after breakfast.

One thing I didn't realise before I went is that there is a swimming pool and hot tub and the pool looks lovely. I would have been happy to have a dip if I had brought a swimsuit as it was such a hot day.

I would definitely recommend this to everyone!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
270 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We were given a voucher for the Winery & Brewery Tour (reviewed separately) with an overnight stay. Trying to book here for a weekend is hard, particularly with all the weddings taking place, but we managed to get in on Friday night.

It is in a remote location, and the roads leading to it are narrow. There is parking opposite for plenty of cars. On arrival we went to the office, and a friendly guy checked us in, showed us our room, and the grounds, and explained everything. Our room, the Orchard Room, was of a nice size, with a good size bed, radio with docking station, good storage, a lovely view, big bathroom with bath and shower, tea making facilities, and a fridge with milk and water. There is a lounge area downstairs with a radio, large TV, and books and games. There is free wifi, but it did not work the whole time we were there.

The hot tub and pool are in the garden, a little walk from the house. The vineyards are at the back and easily accessible. We had planned to use the Hot Tub in the afternoon but it was pouring down, so we drove the short distance into Henley and had a walk round for a while.

We got back for our wine tour at 6.30pm. It was 8.30pm by the time it finished, and feeling rather merry we decided to give the hot tub a go. It had stopped raining and was quite warm. We changed into our robes, trotted down the garden with our bottle of wine and plastic glasses, and jumped in. We were soon joined by the couples from the other rooms and chatted and drank until about 11.30pm! Great way to meet people.

After a quiet but comfortable nights sleep we had a really tasty home cooked breakfast, served by the friendly cook and staff. A great way to start the day. After this we packed our bags and drove away to the sound to clunking wine bottles bought in the well stocked shop. A really nice stay and highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Orchard and Vineyard rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaz_n_Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don_ealand, General Manager at Chiltern Valley Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest,
I am delighted that we made your stay here so enjoyable and thank you for your kind words about Luxters. We certainly do try to please and ensure every one of our guests have a great time like you did.
we hope to welcome you here again in the near future.

Regards - Don - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

An absolute gem of a place.
The B & B is located in beautiful countryside - hard to imagine it`s so close to London. It`s clean, quiet, slightly quirky (in a good way) and very comfortable.
Breakfast excellent.
Staff extremely helpful - nothing was too much trouble.
The tour of the winery was informative but fun. The tasting even more so.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank legalbeetle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don_ealand, General Manager at Chiltern Valley Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear guest - thank you for your kind words and a little Gem is a great way to descibe our Farm here at Old Luxters.
we would welcome you here again in the same way every time.

Regards - General Manager.Don.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

The tour and tasting were perfect, no droning on about 'mash' and 'sparging ' as they do at the big breweries, lots of lovely samples too.
B & B really classy everything of the highest quality. We stayed 2 nights as there are lots of things to see in the area. Henley and the 'Midsommer Murders' trails and the village where 'Vicar of Dibley' and 'Mr Tom' were filmed. Good eating pubs also nearby.
Lots of birds including many Red Kites. Best Christmas present ever.

Room Tip: Ask for the bedroom overlooking the vineyards if it's free, great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 99katie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don_ealand, General Manager at Chiltern Valley Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
I am so glad that this was your 'best xmas present ever' this means a lot to us and hopefully the same could be for your family and friends in the future too.
We do exactly that on the tour as you said and aim to 'de-mistify' the whole production style accross our wines, ales and liqueurs.
Glad you enjoyed it all and hope to see you again.
Don - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alconbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

Visited the B&B following a visit to the winery / brewery on site. Accommodation is very good with excellent furnishings, enormous bathroom and a well furnished lounge area. Gardens are well kept with an outdoor hot tub available for use to residents. Setting is a little remote in a heavily wooded area accessed by single track roads, but the quiet and the darkness make this an ideal location to relax big time. Breakfast was well cooked and presented and charmingly served by the cook herself. if you want total peace and quiet this is the place to visit, particularly with the advantage of wine tasting and excellent ales for sale on site.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2702bobjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingh
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

Had a wine tasting voucher for a Christmas present. We decided to stay for bed and breakfast it was super really clean comfortable bed and good linen. Fridge in the room with fresh milk for the tea or coffee much better than the usual uht cartoons. The fridge also contained water. The breakfast was tasty and brilliantly cooked. The peace of the whole area was wonderful and we saw many birds flying around. No faults whatsoever most unusual!!

Room Tip: All rooms equipped the same and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LoopyHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
don_ealand, General Manager at Chiltern Valley Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for your kind words and I am so glad that you like many others enjoyed your stay here at Old Luxters.
we would welcome you here again anytime.

Don - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henley-on-Thames
3.9 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 749 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
4.1 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
4.0 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.0 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiltern Valley Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiltern Valley Bed & Breakfast

Property: Chiltern Valley Bed & Breakfast
Address: Old Luxters Farmhouse | Hambleden, Henley-on-Thames RG9 6JW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the hills of the Chilterns sits Chiltern Valley Winery with its picturesque views over the valley. Rooms combining of dove-white bed linen, fluffy towels, luxury miniature toiletries, DAB radio with iPod docking, hair-dryer, complimentary filtered water, farmhouse lounge & TV (sky) room, plus lots of hanging space. You can choose from views of the Vineyard/Orchard/ and our 17th century Historic barn. Planning walks and cycles around the Chilterns proves very popular as does stopping of at one of the many local pubs for a bite to eat! Includes our scrummy farmhouse cooked breakfast! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing