We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, poor customer service”

Giggling Squid Henley
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Fresh, rustic Thai food in a a lovely cosy setting just up from the bridge over the Thames in Henley.
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had a table booking. When we went there they didn't even let us say nothing about any booking we couldn't even talk, the waiter looked very angry all the time. We had to wait ages for someone to order the plates even though the restaurant was empty... The food was nice but we were really disappointed with the customer service, very poor.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Anapu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyandWa, Guest Relations Manager at Giggling Squid Henley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi Anapu,

Thanks for your review,

I'm not sure I understand, from what you have written, precisely what happened. Never-the-less, I am sorry that the waiter wasn't very warm towards you.

I do hope that you will give us another chance, meanwhile, if you would like to explain your experience to me in more detail, please do get in touch.

Janet
help@gigglingsquid.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Giggling Squid Henley
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 372 of 508 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

As the title says the food was ok, nothing to write home about, and the service was fine, in fact better than average, but the price? based on the having been there twice, to make sure it wasn't a fluke, it is severely over priced and the service charge is included in the small print of the bill. To be fore warned is fore armed, so check your bill for the sneaky little 10-15% service charge depending on weekday or weekend. Again do with this information what you will, but as a resident of Henley on Thames, there are better alternatives by far.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
5  Thank Baldfantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyandWa, Guest Relations Manager at Giggling Squid Henley, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi Baldfantastic,

Thanks for your review,

I'm sorry you found us to be expensive.

The service charge is optional but I can, at least, assure you though that it does all go to the team ;-)

Many thanks

Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We ordered duck spring rolls, far too oily. Salt and pepper squid. Far too much and very fatty. Then the main courses!!!!!! Well a complete joke. Just tastes boiled. (Sizzle and griddle sea food) like a stew. With no taste atall. Red duck curry was full of fat AGAIN!!!! Tasteless and just watery. Please don't waste ye time there our bill was £40, and most went in bin. Disappointed. Never ever again.

7  Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndyandWa, General Manager at Giggling Squid Henley, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Hi Fiona,

Thanks for your review.

I'm very sorry you didn't enjoy any of our food at all.

I can't determine, from your review, whether it was a takeaway you ordered or a restaurant meal, not that this should make a difference to the quality, but if you ate at the table and none of the team noticed that you didn't eat any of it, then this is a shame.

If you would like to contact me then please do. My email is help@gigglingsquid.com

Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The whole experience of eating at the Giggling Squid is perfect. The restaurant is comfortable, clean and has a great atmosphere. The menu is not too complicated so choosing your meal is easy and the food is superb.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank elparaisogolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We went to the Henley Giggling Squid over the May Bank Holiday - we had tried to book a table at Marlow, but they were fully booked. The Henley branch was busy too, but the waiters/waitresses managed to keep up with the demand and were as attentive as could be reasonably expected. The food was excellent - our friends were not too sure what to order, but with the help of the waiter , we established that they would adjust the spices to suit the individual, which opened up the choices! We had starters and main courses and found that we had more than enough by sharing a noodle-based dish and a meat/fish based between two and consequently worked out to be excellent value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 126Martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giggling Squid Henley also viewed

Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Giggling Squid Henley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing