We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun food well cooked (by us!)”
Review of The Beer Tree - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Beer Tree
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Fun food well cooked (by us!)”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We had kangeroo burgers with chips and onion rings and the others in our party had sausages with beans and chips and a sizzling platter. As mentioned the beer choice is extensive and we enjoyed the gimmicky hot plates - we found fun and theatre in the approach. Definitely on our list to return to.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank r1x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Biggest selection of lagers ever, and exotic food”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

From the outside this looked like a chain pub but I could not have been more wrong. Took my partner here as a birthday treat. This bar has the biggest selection of bottled lagers I have ever seen. There is also the biggest sausage selection you can imagine (including kangaroo) any me and my partner settled for 2 steaks each the meats being crocodile, elk, venison and zebra. You cook the steak yourself on a stone slab at the table. This was the only aspect I was not that keen on - it was a bit gimmicky. I'm sure chef could have cooked it medium rare for both of us. The steaks can be accompanied by either chips or fries (nice that they are distinguished between) and med veg or salad. Desserts are standard but very tasty. Good customer service.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank monktonman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee-on-the-Solent, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ultimate basket meals”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Wide range of real ales and lagers but the stand out menu item is the choice of 50 types of sausages, served in a basket with chips, baked beans and a dipping sauce. The burgers are apparently pretty good, too.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Over 200 beers available”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

We only had sandwiches while watching the rugby, but they were excellent. The menu was extensive and all the food being served looked beautiful. The service was very good, with one of the staff constantly going round the tables asking if you wanted anything else to drink! We I'll definately we back to sample something else on the menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Spencemarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Beer Tree also viewed

Lower Shiplake, Henley-on-Thames
Rotherfield Greys, Henley-on-Thames
 
Shiplake, Henley-on-Thames
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Peppard Common, Henley-on-Thames
Stoke Row, Henley-on-Thames
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing