We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant surprise”

The Bull on Bell Street
Price range: US$19 - US$38
Cuisines: Asian, European, French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: A beautiful Bar and Restaurant with an on site micro brewery set in the heart of historic Henley on Thames. With extensive inside and outside seating spaces, offering lots of diversity. From coming in for a morning coffee, a light lunch or indulging in our delicious evening menu. The Bull has it all, with live music every Friday evening from 9pm and Brunch served every Sunday from 10am-1pm
Reading,England
Level Contributor
78 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We visited on the off chance and will certainly be going back. Wonderful staff and food, and not too pricey considering you're in Henley on Thames.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GRK56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    109
    55
    34
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVE! Highly recommend a visit”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Ah we had such a fantastic time here. The decor is lovely, the staff were really friendly offering a great service too and not to mention the delicious food. There's a really good variety, we all ate different things and loved it all. Will definitely be going back again and again....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This photo is not the Bull in Henley !!!”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The above photo is in fact The Bull in Sonning is our local, please do not get the two places muddled up ! I have tried to contact TripAdvisor re the photo anomoly, this review being specifically for the Bull in Henley but my head has now exploded with frustration as I cannot do so as the website will not allow me to do so!!
Please visit the Bull in Sonning and buy me a Peroni if only for pointing out this most obvious of mistakes !! Cheers,Mac

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful pub, shame that's the only good thing to say...”
Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

Refurb means the pub looks great. You want the food and service to match, unfortunately it doesn't. 2 real ales not fit for consumption, steak over cooked, menu hard to choose from, device very friendly but don't know what they are doing or what is going on. Wine list is good at the top end, however I'm not sure if I want to spend £40+ for wine when the steak it goes with tastes like it's from tesco's...we won't be going back

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank richard h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Quite impressed”
Reviewed 15 May 2013

We went to The Bull on a Friday night. Had been in a couple of pubs before hand for a beer or two and wasnt sure where to eat.

We walked in and loved what they've done to the place - really smart and nice atmosphere - so decided to have dinner too.

Really good food and friendly and attentive staff even though it was quite busy.

Definitely a great addition to Henley.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bull on Bell Street also viewed

Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Bull on Bell Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing