We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Britain at its best!”
other travellers have booked this property
oak framed house with fabulous gardens to enjoy throughout the year. Ask about our wedding licence.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
oak framed house with fabulous gardens to enjoy throughout the year. Ask about our wedding licence.
The Copse and its garden, nestle in a private valley formal dining room open plan to sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
oak framed house with fabulous gardens to enjoy throughout the year. Ask about our wedding licence.
The Copse and its garden, nestle in a private valley
formal dining room open plan to sitting room
formal sitting room with open fireplace
formal sitting room with open fireplace 2
one of the 5 'master' en suite bedrooms
14 seat cinema with Sky channels, dvd, apple TV
main kitchen with Aga, second kitchen adjacent
4 oven Aga
main kitchen opening to downstairs office and library
formal sitting room corner
kitchen breakfast room dining and sitting
main kitchen with Aga
kitchen breakfast room seating
master bedroom ground floor
breakfast room
second sitting room/breakfast room opening to terrace with hot tub
entrance hall opening to courtyard
always warm and welcoming with lights, jets and music on the terrace
double bedroom ground floor
outdoor dining for 14 and brick BBQ
another master bedroom with balcony
upstairs library
panorama
arctic cabin barbecue hut in the woods
arctic cabin barbecue hut
seating for 14
upstairs bedroom 1
adjacent double bedroom ground floor
upstairs bedroom 2
upstairs bedroom 1
hallway
feed our baby ducks in spring
upstairs bathroom to balcony bedroom
another view of upstairs bedroom 2
upstairs library
master bathroom ground floor
purple bathroom top floor
mill lane bathroom top floor
a wonderful space for a special celebration - ask for rates
wild flower meadows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
9 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marihelen...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Britain at its best!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 for a stay in June 2013

This place is outstanding! In the middle of the beautiful countryside but we went to Bath, Oxford, London and Stonehenge and those were really easy trips. The house has everything including 2 kitchens and a cinema. I've seen loads of photographs of English gardens but this ACTUAL garden tops the lot. Just so we could compare, the owners arranged for us to visit Prince Charles' garden in the grounds of his house at Highgrove.
12 of us in ages from 4 to 72 had the time of our lives.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and the fact that so many of us could be in one house and still find a quiet corner. To be on our own
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2013
Thank you so much. We very much enjoyed having you to stay and helping plan your trips before you arrived. Over the years we have built up much local knowledge which we are always happy to share, just ask us and we can do the research. We also have caterers we can recommend and there is much to see and do locally, particularly in the famous Henley on Thames, for those who are not on an extended break. Come again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natalie C
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful house - every single room was perfect, fantastic for big group of friends”
Reviewed 4 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

I was part of a group of 12 (6 couples) who wanted to get away for a weekend outside of London. We found The Copse by chance - and are so glad we did! We had a fantastic time, so much so that within a week we booked to all go back again 4 months later!

We went during August and the weather fluctuated - when we were able to be in the gardens it was tranquil and beautiful, and when we were indoors there was still so much space and scope that we in no way ever felt as though we were on top of one another. This was one of the things that we were most impressed with - that in a house of 12 people you could still find a private/quiet place if you wanted to. I imagine it would also be great for family trips.

The hot tub was great fun and the cinema room was an amazing touch. We finished every night there. My friends and I are quite used to having mini-breaks to get out of London but this one blew all the others out of the water.

The house was so well maintained, despite being massive, and every feature was a delight. Full of character.

Penny and Tim were both lovely and couldn't have been more helpful or friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and the cinema.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2013
What a super review! Thank you so much. It really means such a lot to hear that guests have enjoyed their stay and to take the trouble to write once the holiday is over and the business of life starts again, is very special. Hugely appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked least: The only downside was having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Sep 2013
Thank you so much. This is a wonderful review and we are delighted you enjoyed your time at The Copse. I think you are unique in not using the cinema room, which seems to be a huge success with guests of all ages, but we have had the most glorious weather this summer and outdoors has definitely been the place to be.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The open design of the large reception rooms
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Sep 2013
thank you so much for your review, which is very much appreciated. I do agree it is wonderful to escape from the city to this oasis in the countryside and yet be so close to everything.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewed 26 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house was bright and cheerful.
Liked least: Lots of level changes. One or two steps between several living areas.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Aug 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you come back in future years to defend your Masters Regatta title! You will always be most welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$1,954
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing