We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food - especially the seafood”
Review of The Square

The Square
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Portuguese
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Earley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent food - especially the seafood”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We really enjoyed this restaurant. Excellent wait-staff, excellent produce, by cheks who can cook fish. Easily a contender, if not winner for Henley's best restaurant. As resident of the town, I had wished for a cracking place to eat, The Square is a real step up for the otherwise average-to-good restaurants that Henley offers.
We went on a week night, so it was a bit quiet, but we will be going back to enjoy the cocktails and bar/reception area the weekend for sure.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eleanor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    71
    18
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not great”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Ate here last weekend and we were fitted in late in the evening. Arrived at 8:30 and were promptly served drinks but we actually waited an hour for the starters to arrive. Starters were disappointing, I had fish soup that was very lacking in fish. Mains were similarly disappointing. Still it was nice company. Would not eat here again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane_nrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
451 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunchtime option”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We're in Henley visiting for the first time, and found this delightful restaurant for lunch. We sat outside in the sun in the square so we could watch the world go by. They have free wifi which is also great for the traveller. The food is excellent, with a Portuguese influence. I had the char-grilled sardines and partner the cod cakes and we found them absolutely delicious. The service is prompt and friendly, it's just a shame we won't be in town longer to enjoy them again. Very highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh food and great service”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We went here for a special occasion and had a superb meal.
The fish was presented on a platter before we chose.
We both stayed with fish for starters (clams and squid) and main (mixed fish grill and whole sea bream), though the meat selection was tempting too.
Food was perfectly cooked and tasted delicious.
Washed down with white wine and followed by tasty desserts.
Excellent, friendly service.
We shall certainly return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“A mediterranean experience in the heart of Henley”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have been to The Square twice now and it is one of our Henley favourites. The fish and seafood are excellent - great variety and beautifully prepared and served. I have had the large prawns two different ways and friends have enjoyed the grilled sardines and one of the meat options. We have had the same dessert each time - a shared chocolate salami, which is rich, chocolatey and biscuity and enough for two to share, although my husband would disagree!

There is comfortable seating inside the room and also tables outside on the market square in warm weather. Service is friendly, efficient and accommodating. One example - I like really hot chilli sauce and the restaurant's normal accompaniment to my dish was a little too tame for me; no sooner had I asked if they had a spicier version, than the waiter went to fetch it and brought it to my table with a smile. There is a short but interesting list of Portuguese wines, with a nice selection of rose bottles that are perfect for summer drinking. If you are planning a trip to the Henley regatta this year, book your table right away!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maggiavelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Square also viewed

Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Peppard Common, Henley-on-Thames
 
Lower Shiplake, Henley-on-Thames
Shiplake, Henley-on-Thames
 

Been to The Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing