We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glass more than half full”
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Stayed here for a wedding in the Yulumba room (the rooms have names not numbers). Having read reviews on this site I was a little worried but have to say that service was very good and the staff were more than helpful.

Our room was actualy enormous with a massive bathroom too. The quality of furnishing and general finish was to a very high standard. The room had secondary glazing and despite it looking on to the road it was not noisy.

We eat breakfast which was a little underwhelming. Not quite a good enough selection of additional pastries and the like. However, as other reviewers have commented, there are plenty of other options in Henley, all withing a couple of minutes walk (cut past the Almshouses and through the churchyard to be on the high street in about 90 seconds).

I would certainly consider staying at a Hotel Du Vin again. Our stay was very relaxing.

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms, they're worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonDavidS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

653 - 659 of 803 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2011

We took advantage of a late booking deal to get a luxury room in the Hotel du Vin for a short break away from the City - it was all that we hoped it would be! We knew beforehand about the car parking fee of £15 and the price of breakfast from reading other reviews, so there were no hidden surprises, and in fact we chose to eat out for both dinner and breakfast - there are so many restaurants to choose from in Henley. The room was delightful - the bed so comfortable that I felt truly at home, and the bathroom was a real treat. With a supermarket literally around the corner, we were able to indulge in a glass of bubbly in the bath without paying the high hotel prices. The staff were very professional and helpful, and it was a bonus to be able to keep the car in hotel parking for a few hours after checking out so that we could explore the village a bit more. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poppies161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

A fantastic conversion of Henleys' Breakspear Brewery. We stayed in one of the studio suites on the courtyard - huge bed, nice sized room, a typical hdv room, great shower and bath - lovely. Very nice restaurant and bar. On the down side very poor bar service, considering price of wine, mix up with reservation and very poor steak. Also TV had very poor picture in room. On the up side steak was finally sorted and in the morning the manager addressed and sorted our problems out very professionally and well. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2011

First time at a HDV, will not bother going back. we were quite excited to try the Bistro, but were very disappointed. the service was indifferent, the food was ok, but the wait for it to be served was so long we considered paying for our drinks and leaving. To add insult to injury, I was told the delay was because my burger was very "thick", however on tasting it I think the truth may be that it took a while to defrost. I thought the whole point of HDV group was the food and wine?

Room Tip: Not for real foodies
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dbrownt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

The hotel staff were polite and attentive. The rooms are lovely with some nice touches. The location and ambiance are fine. The service in the restaurant was slooooow. We had an evening meal for 12 people and the reservation was for 19:30. We were still eating at 10:15.... Even breakfast was slow - a 30 minute wait for a full english!! Come on!! I could do better than that myself.

Room Tip: Lovely place to stay. Eat somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave-n-Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

Decided to book a last min break in the south. Stayed in many HdV but I was very impressed with the Henley hotel. The hotel is full of character as its a former brewery. We had a room overlooking the river. The staff were very friendly and obliging. Lots of restaurants in Henley so we didn't have dinner in the Bistro but we did have breakfast the next morning which was served quickly, was hot and one of the best cooked breakfasts we've had. Looking forward to staying here again in the summer.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Concorde123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2011

My husband and I stayed at the HdV with a group of 50 people for a function. The evening went very well and the room was fine, except for the view being a blank wall, but at least it was quiet! However, the problems came when we down to breakfast the next day when we waited around 45 minutes for our breakfast to be served and almost missed checkout time of 11.00. It should have been obvious to the restaurant staff that with an extra 50 people in the hotel most would come down to breakfast at almost at the same time and allowances made for this. But it clearly no one had thought at all about this fact and it was chaos; we waiting 15 minutes before anyone asked for our order and then it was the third time of asking. Others in our group had similar problems and for the cost we expected better service from a hotel of this (supposed) standard. We did complain and the cost of two breakfasts was refunded but this should not have bee necessary.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wakefieldwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henley-on-Thames
0.1 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
660 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
563 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
5.0 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
269 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Address: New Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range: £124 - £219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Hotel
Du Vin Henley On Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing