We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice but no lifts or gym”
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2011

nice hotel - interesting rooms
mine was in the attic as i wanted to quietest room they had
lots of steps and no life
no gym unfortunately but close to the river for a run
air con did not work too well - ask them for a room with decent air con
bar area was nice

Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
Thank dp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (793)
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 793 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2011

Rooms are lovely and clean and all different
Service is prompt and good in all areas
We didn't like the amount of small children running about the Chamoagne bar on a Saturday evening. It gave the place more of a holiday camp feel than a wine/champagne bar feel.

Room Tip: Don't go for rooms overlooking the main road is quite noisy at night. Early Saturday evening th...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S11JJX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed here to celebrate my other half’s 30th birthday. The location was great, only a short walk into town and the many lovely bars and restaurants. On the second night of our stay we drove to Tom Kerridge’s restaurant in Marlow, The Hand and Flowers- highly recommended. There is parking (for a fee) and it is valet. Sometimes convenient but also annoying when you are coming and going and have to wait for your car each time. The bar area and outdoor seating are lovely.

We had a superior room on the top floor which was lovely. The décor was gorgeous, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom luxurious. I would have easily awarded this hotel five stars had it not been for the noise in the mornings. Being on the top floor with only two other rooms we thought our room would be lovely and quiet. However we had not taken into account the stock room of some sort which the cleaners needed to access. The door to this room was constantly slammed throughout the morning rather than closed, thus ruining any chance of a lie in! Really annoying. Other than that we loved it here

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sugarrain73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Eleven of us were booked in here on the Saturday night before a local wedding in Hurley. To say the service was below what was expected of a venue such as this is to put it mildly.
The food was very overpriced and of a poor quality, the menu far too limited and the service terrible. We had drinks on arrival which turned up quickly but it was all downhill from there. The orders were mixed up, steak was overcooked (and sent back), fish was dry and the pasta that I had was chewy and served in what can only be described as a can of tomato soup. We had to constantly remind them that we needed drinks - my father-in-law had to ask for the same drink 3 times and it took 20 minutes to turn up.
All in all a terrible experience that I would not wish to inflict on anyone. Oh, and to top it off there was a charge of £30 on the bill...guess what? You got it...SERVICE CHARGE! I dread to think how much it would have been if it had been good service.
I was stopped from making a complaint on the night so as not to upset the bride to be but have contacted them for a comment and I will see what reply I get.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at the hotel for two days over the Bank Holiday weekend. Visiting family in the area and wanting a dog friendly location Hotel du Vin fitted the bill well. We had been visitors to the hotel on previous trips but only to the bar and bistro (which we had always found very good). Our room was not one of the cavernous multi level types found in the main hotel but was more than large enough for the pair of us plus dog and situated across the courtyard. The room had character, was clean and nicely furnished. Separate toliet, 'drenching' shower room and a roll top bath within the main bedroom area. Floors were wooden, bed linen of high quality and although we were in a roof space, the room was bright and welcoming.
We enjoyed the breakfasts, nice choices and quality products. If you were expecting rapid service you may have been a bit frustrated, we just took our time and relaxed.
Staff were friendly and attentive with overall customer service at a high level.
Of course, everything was not perfect - noise coming from the courtyard after 11pm even though it should have been closed to customers by then (according to the sign anyway), quite steep prices of drinks in the bar, ill fitting blinds in the room. However, we would certainly go back as the hotel has great character (situated in an old brewery), provides good service with friendly staff, and provides an excellent, relaxing setting from which to enjoy the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pilbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

A 2 night stay in August to join up with friends in the area allowed us to stay at the Henley member of this group. We have stayed at properties in the group in Tunbridge Wells and Bristol in the past although this was before the sell-off to Malmaison.
On arrival you have to get everything out of the car as there is no parking and the car is taken away (at £15 per night). Rooms are typically HdV (as they like to refer to themselves) being 'quirky' or just plain odd. Our suite had a bathroom above it with steep stairs. Good shower and good space with a balcony overlooking the river. The bedroom was OK but not that special. One impression was that the cleaning could be better. Details such as door handles and bannisters (and there are a lot of steep stairs everywhere) all felt sticky needing a good wash.
One of the main reasons for staying at Hotel du Vin is the food and this was a disappointment. It was not bad but not particularly memorable. We had the feeling that this is very much a business hotel for the companies of the Thames Valley and most of the guests rush in and rush out. The weather was cool especially in the evenings and, despite complaining about being cold, the outside restaurant doors remained open throughout dinner with a cold wind blowing.
Not sure I would stay again unless it was business in which case I would probably be like all the other guests and not appear to notice.
The staff were friendly and a real asset

Room Tip: All the rooms are very different. Ask for clear details. May have stairs to bathrooms.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We booked in at HDV Henley for Valentines day and had a great time.

We chose a suite, not sure of the name but it was over two levels and had a hot tub on the balcony - highly recommended! The bathroom was especially opulent, with a huge walk in shower and roll top bath. Having booked through Mr and Mrs Smith we were given a complimentary bottle of champagne which we enjoyed in the hot tub overlooking the Thames, made for a perfect Valentine's evening.

The food in the bistro was lovely as always.

The only negative part of our stay came when dealing with reception staff who we found surly and unhelpful. Seem to lack the most basic customer service and not what we expected considering the price we were paying.

That said, all in all we had a good stay.

Room Tip: Book a suite, having stayed in a few HDVs I'm not sure the more basic rooms offer value.
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sianpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henley-on-Thames
0.1 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
647 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
559 reviews
3.5 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
157 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Address: New Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range: £116 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Hotel
Du Vin Henley On Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing