We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of character”
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Full of character”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

I stayed as part of a wine tasting course. The service was good with individual members of staff being outstanding-thank you Ronan for a marvellous course on the wines of Southern France. The hotel is typical of the chain- lots of character, interesting, varied and extremely comfortable rooms, great food and of course superb wines. The location is excellent and my only grumbles are £15/night parking- I feel that should really be included-and what happened to the cafetieres and fresh ground coffee, the machines are nothing like as good.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonCarla69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    218
    130
    64
    30
See reviews for
68
443
12
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
138 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

nice hotel - interesting rooms
mine was in the attic as i wanted to quietest room they had
lots of steps and no life
no gym unfortunately but close to the river for a run
air con did not work too well - ask them for a room with decent air con
bar area was nice

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

Rooms are lovely and clean and all different
Service is prompt and good in all areas
We didn't like the amount of small children running about the Chamoagne bar on a Saturday evening. It gave the place more of a holiday camp feel than a wine/champagne bar feel.

Room Tip: Don't go for rooms overlooking the main road is quite noisy at night. Early Saturday evening th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S11JJX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

We stayed here to celebrate my other half’s 30th birthday. The location was great, only a short walk into town and the many lovely bars and restaurants. On the second night of our stay we drove to Tom Kerridge’s restaurant in Marlow, The Hand and Flowers- highly recommended. There is parking (for a fee) and it is valet. Sometimes convenient but also annoying when you are coming and going and have to wait for your car each time. The bar area and outdoor seating are lovely.

We had a superior room on the top floor which was lovely. The décor was gorgeous, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom luxurious. I would have easily awarded this hotel five stars had it not been for the noise in the mornings. Being on the top floor with only two other rooms we thought our room would be lovely and quiet. However we had not taken into account the stock room of some sort which the cleaners needed to access. The door to this room was constantly slammed throughout the morning rather than closed, thus ruining any chance of a lie in! Really annoying. Other than that we loved it here

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarrain73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Eleven of us were booked in here on the Saturday night before a local wedding in Hurley. To say the service was below what was expected of a venue such as this is to put it mildly.
The food was very overpriced and of a poor quality, the menu far too limited and the service terrible. We had drinks on arrival which turned up quickly but it was all downhill from there. The orders were mixed up, steak was overcooked (and sent back), fish was dry and the pasta that I had was chewy and served in what can only be described as a can of tomato soup. We had to constantly remind them that we needed drinks - my father-in-law had to ask for the same drink 3 times and it took 20 minutes to turn up.
All in all a terrible experience that I would not wish to inflict on anyone. Oh, and to top it off there was a charge of £30 on the bill...guess what? You got it...SERVICE CHARGE! I dread to think how much it would have been if it had been good service.
I was stopped from making a complaint on the night so as not to upset the bride to be but have contacted them for a comment and I will see what reply I get.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pauliet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, England
Level Contributor
152 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at the hotel for two days over the Bank Holiday weekend. Visiting family in the area and wanting a dog friendly location Hotel du Vin fitted the bill well. We had been visitors to the hotel on previous trips but only to the bar and bistro (which we had always found very good). Our room was not one of the cavernous multi level types found in the main hotel but was more than large enough for the pair of us plus dog and situated across the courtyard. The room had character, was clean and nicely furnished. Separate toliet, 'drenching' shower room and a roll top bath within the main bedroom area. Floors were wooden, bed linen of high quality and although we were in a roof space, the room was bright and welcoming.
We enjoyed the breakfasts, nice choices and quality products. If you were expecting rapid service you may have been a bit frustrated, we just took our time and relaxed.
Staff were friendly and attentive with overall customer service at a high level.
Of course, everything was not perfect - noise coming from the courtyard after 11pm even though it should have been closed to customers by then (according to the sign anyway), quite steep prices of drinks in the bar, ill fitting blinds in the room. However, we would certainly go back as the hotel has great character (situated in an old brewery), provides good service with friendly staff, and provides an excellent, relaxing setting from which to enjoy the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pilbeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

A 2 night stay in August to join up with friends in the area allowed us to stay at the Henley member of this group. We have stayed at properties in the group in Tunbridge Wells and Bristol in the past although this was before the sell-off to Malmaison.
On arrival you have to get everything out of the car as there is no parking and the car is taken away (at £15 per night). Rooms are typically HdV (as they like to refer to themselves) being 'quirky' or just plain odd. Our suite had a bathroom above it with steep stairs. Good shower and good space with a balcony overlooking the river. The bedroom was OK but not that special. One impression was that the cleaning could be better. Details such as door handles and bannisters (and there are a lot of steep stairs everywhere) all felt sticky needing a good wash.
One of the main reasons for staying at Hotel du Vin is the food and this was a disappointment. It was not bad but not particularly memorable. We had the feeling that this is very much a business hotel for the companies of the Thames Valley and most of the guests rush in and rush out. The weather was cool especially in the evenings and, despite complaining about being cold, the outside restaurant doors remained open throughout dinner with a cold wind blowing.
Not sure I would stay again unless it was business in which case I would probably be like all the other guests and not appear to notice.
The staff were friendly and a real asset

Room Tip: All the rooms are very different. Ask for clear details. May have stairs to bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henley-on-Thames
0.1 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
528 reviews
3.5 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phyllis Court Club
Phyllis Court Club
#6 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
126 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Property: Hotel du Vin
Address: New Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Hotel
Du Vin Henley On Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing