We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A lovely break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A lovely break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Stayed at the hotel du vin Henley on a special Sunday night break - spend £75 in the restaurant and get the room for £35 (or upgraded room for £45)We found the staff very warm and helpful throughout our stay, including in the restaurant! Food in the restaurant was overall of a high quality although my crab and saffron tart was a little bland. We both had steak which was fantastic, and desserts were yummy too! The prices weren't cheap, but didn't feel ripped off!
Our room was very impressive, and well worth the extra £10 to upgrade! An amazing bathroom. and a supercomfy bed were fab, although one small complaint was the very noisy plumbing, meant the early morning shower in the room above woke me at 5am!!
Breakfast was nice, as eggs Benedict is a favorite, and was well made, my husbands full English was of a high quality, but no beans meant it was a little dry!
Bar had a nice feel and waitress service was a nice touch.
We paid the £15 for car parking, and was pleased we did as parking in Henley is a bit of a nightmare!! We left the car there all the next day after checking out, which was most appreciated!
Overall a lovely weekend away, henley's great, and well worth a visit!!
Overall the weekend cost us £200, a bit of a bargain for hotel du vin I think!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    213
    128
    62
    28
See reviews for
65
427
12
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

Stayed here two nights recently, separate nights and separate rooms. The bar atmosphere and presentation was lovely. It was smart and nice without being stiff or posh. We only booked a basic double and it was well presented and well kitted out. However, it was snug for size, secondly there were no ventilation fans in the bathroom so after one of us had a shower all the bath towels were damp from the stream. Thirdly, the doors to the bathroom were opaque glass leading directly into the room which meant if anyone turned on the bathroom light at night the whole bedroom lit up. Finally,the dinning room / breakfast room was disappointing, not due to the food but due to the continual row of large nude female impressionist paintings which ran around the top of the walls like a border. One is OK two maybe but they were continual as a border and they weren't small. Some were full frontal full body nudes which frankly got tiring and offensive. I am not a femanist and as I have said, one or two is in keeping with the French Theme of the hotel and would be expected but there was an excesses number and some were just too much. If the Hotels intent is to attract the sort of clientelle who like to admire that style of painting over food then good luck to you.... But I found it offensive, excessive and wouldn't recommend your dinning room to anyone.

Room Tip: Check for overlooking from other room windows and avoid overlooking the courtyard on weekends which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank auzzieVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

The room was great, enormous comfortable bed and laid out well. Although aesthetically pleasing, having the wet room / shower in the room wasn't very practical when my boyfriend was having a shower and I was trying to do my hair and make up for a wedding in a steamed up mirror. The breakfast was delicious and there was plenty of it. The staff left such a bad taste in the mouth though, the breakfast staff barely acknowledged their customers existence and the reception staff were unfriendly, unhelpful and bordering on downright rude. Such a shame.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HannahWHannahW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2011

Great rooms, bar & restaurant - choosy, but it the stay was "destroyed" by poor behavior by the staff in the bar & restaurant. No smile, slow service and did not get all that I ordered.
This too bad for Hotel which has restaurant / bar that has the best wine & whiskey& cognac / armagnac that I never have seen in a long time

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank I4You
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2011

Great brand normally, this one so let down by the service and staff.

Try the bar: no acknowledgement that you are there. Very slow, very surly, not cheap either. No smiles or chat. A real challenge to get a drink out of them.

Sit down and let the waiting staff try. Just as bad. Our first drink never came, even though we got charged for it and waited 15 mins.

Little things, but enough to irritate.

Shame. Needs a good proactive bar manager and could be transformed.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

I stayed as part of a wine tasting course. The service was good with individual members of staff being outstanding-thank you Ronan for a marvellous course on the wines of Southern France. The hotel is typical of the chain- lots of character, interesting, varied and extremely comfortable rooms, great food and of course superb wines. The location is excellent and my only grumbles are £15/night parking- I feel that should really be included-and what happened to the cafetieres and fresh ground coffee, the machines are nothing like as good.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonCarla69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
138 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

nice hotel - interesting rooms
mine was in the attic as i wanted to quietest room they had
lots of steps and no life
no gym unfortunately but close to the river for a run
air con did not work too well - ask them for a room with decent air con
bar area was nice

Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank dp123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henley-on-Thames
2.1 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
3.5 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.0 of 5 bubbles 506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phyllis Court Club
Phyllis Court Club
#6 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Property: Hotel du Vin
Address: New Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Hotel
Du Vin Henley On Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing