We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent made perfection by brilliant staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent made perfection by brilliant staff”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Never felt compelled to review a hotel before. Staying away with work a lot means hotels tend to blend in to one another...

Myself and my partner stayed in the Taylor's Port suite, which was spotless and very cool (think New York loft meets Barn conversion). The bath and shower in the room were brilliant and made us want to stay in all night.

The feel of the hotel is casual, but plush and the decor is straight out of a coffee table magazine.

I could list a million great things about our stay, but the difference between this hotels and others were the great staff. The lady who greeted us (who seemed to be available whenever we wanted anything) called Eirian provided the most genuine warm welcome I've ever had in a hotel. We had no special requests, or problems to be solved, but somehow we were made to feel like everything would be taken care of for us.

I have only one criticism of the entire stay and that would be for the hotel restaurant... Maybe we chose badly, but I had steak and my girlfriend had lobster, both of which were pretty average! It was a real shame - but wandering back in the room with the rest of the wine certainly made us ambivalent to it all.

All in all - great hotel, great staff. Eirian deserves a raise/bonus whatever can be sent her way in our opinion.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesHawley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    215
    129
    62
    30
See reviews for
68
431
12
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We were lucky to be invited to the wedding of good friends and the celebrations after the ceremony were held at Hotel du Vin in Henley on Thames. Perfect choice and perfect experience! The delicious food, palatable wines, the attentive but discreet service was in true Hotel du Vin style. The bridal decor was elegantly stylish as was the Bride......

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrissieStelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The Hotel du Vin in Henley on Thames is situated in a great location. I was there for a 2 day business meeting. The Conference room was large and airy with good facilities. The breakfast was magnificent and the working lunches were great too, really good food. The only issue was with my room, which was too cold and didn't really have enough power sockets for my liking. The shower and the bath within the room was good, and the bed very comfortable. Would recommend.

Room Tip: They do have a small car park so reserve your space when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
102 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013 via mobile

I booked this as a surprise for my wife's birthday and was not disappointed. The reception staff were amazing. They very kindly upgraded us to La Grande Dame which quite simply was the best room we have ever stayed in. The check in was slick. Just pull up outside reception and they valet park your car in a secure underground car park within the hotel grounds. Sure it costs £15 but for convenience, service and security it was well worth it. The hotel also allowed us to leave the car there after we had checked out to go shopping. The breakfast was awesome, well worth prepaying £10 each. It's £15 if you don't prepay so be warned. It's all freshly made including the orange juice and toast! One of the best.
In summary, we arrived with smiles and we left with bigger smiles.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank simonelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

This was a valentine escape from the kids for us. Staying overnight on the 13th worked out well as the restaurant wasn't too busy. We went for the dinner, bed and breakfast deal (superior room). This turned out to be very good value, as the menu included lobster thermador and other pricey options. We really enjoyed our stay. Highlights included relaxed but attentive service in bar and restaurant, friendly receptionists, the rolltop bath that filled in minutes, the huge bed and the cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Graham Beck room. I would reommend it unless you don't want to climb stairs to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stay in the area a lot, and have tried most of the plces around, and enjoyed our stay at the hotel du vin. Henley is a great place and this hotel is in a nice location. Our room was large, we upgraded which I think is a must to get the most out of your stay, the bathroom was nice, in particular the swanky shower! We didnt eat, but there are lots of other places in walking distance. Overall a nice stay, one complaint and that is the very high parking charge, £15! with the price of the room considered I think it should be less expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

We booked in for one night and dinner as part of a Times reader offer. The great thing was that despite being on 'a deal' they upgraded us to one of the nicer rooms in the hotel - the old brewery managers office which is now a spacious room with a gigantic bathroom and an authentic 'thunderbox' toilet. The bar is great - nice space, long zinc bar and enthusiastic staff. We wet through for a fairly early 7.30 dinner... we were some of the first diners. Sadly none of the first three waiting staff knew anything about the offer... and couldn't answer our questions about whether we could pay extra and eat off of the set menu. A manager finally arrived and confirmed we could. We then had a fairly chaotic meal - long waits, our starter finally emerged from the kitchen only to land on the floor etc. It was just one of those nights that all restaurants have. The good thing was when we drew it to the attention, but only then,of the management they swung into action to fix it. Every restaurant has bad evenings and it's when this happens that mangement have the opportunity to dig their own grave or turn you into an ambassador. The team did the latter... with care, aplomb and style. I will go back... it's a great hotel space, nice looking restaurant and capable of delivering good food.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henley-on-Thames
2.1 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
575 reviews
3.5 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
513 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Property: Hotel du Vin
Address: New Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Hotel
Du Vin Henley On Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing