We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Vin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel du Vin
Certificate of Excellence
Wooburn Green, Bucks
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

We stayed here for my partners birthday on a dinner bed and breakfast rate which was quite reasonable. We upgraded to the top suite - The Cotes de Champagne which was fantastic - a split level suite overlooking the river, although the room looked a little tired in its decor and could do with some updating. There were throws on the sofa (to hide the wear and tear beneath it) and the paintwork and carpets could do with replacing. However, on the whole the food was fantastic, the service faultless and we had an extremely relaxing stay. From the other reviews there seems to be a general feeling that the stuff were not very chatty or approachable. No they were not the most talkative but in terms of the service that they delivered at reception and in the bar and restaurant I would call it professional and unobtrusive. Beware of the parking - £15.00 for 24 hours !!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JCooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    213
    128
    62
    28
See reviews for
65
427
12
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
windlesham
Level Contributor
135 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2009

On arrival on a wet friday evening, we are greeted by two of the most miserable receptionists who really don't deserve to be in such beautiful surroundings. We get no assistance with our bags as we follow the miserable one up two flights of stairs to our room.

The room is not huge, but tastefully designed with large bed and wet room. the toiletries and robe were lovely. Very comfortable bed and lovely light duvet.( Our room overlooked the large air conditioning units that hummed constantly ) We had private dining in the Balfour room, which is like whole hotel beautiful, high ceilings and modern murals lovely.

Hugely dissappointing service and food for private dining, pate very average, rissotto a glupey tasteless mess, the lamb shanks were raved over but the service was slow and inattentive.

The bar was buzzy and the staff almost cracked a smile, leather sofas really comfortable to slouch into.

Breakfast was fantastic, but hey on a saturday a smile would be nice maybe this is french hotel du vin style no smile, but really the staff were so miserable. Fantastic Porridge,the eggs bendict was lovely and the banana bread too divine for words.

Highlights the most amazing smokes hut in the garden even if like me you dont smoke you just have to sit in it, the cigar thermador and the wine cave fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouGlenister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2009

A Nice hotel in a good location. Our first trip away with our baby daughter. Wuld expect the receptionist to be more helpful - everything seemed like a big chore. Our room was miles from recemption, lots of stairs so a nightmare carrying everything for our daughter. I did ask in advance if they could give us a room suitable for us and her but clearly this request fell on deaf ears. I am sure if we hadn't come across the receptionist, things would have been more pleasant.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbabybug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2009

Stayed here in October 2009 using the Sunday deal - spend £70 in restaurant and get a room for a tenner. As this was to celebrate our first wedding anniversary (we stayed in the Tunbridge Wells HdV for our wedding night) we decided to upgrade to one of the riverview suites for a discount price. As you would expect from HdV, the room was fabulous, a split level suite with a gorgeous walk-in shower, two baths one indoors and one outside on the balcony which had views of the river. It was amazing bathing under the stars!

A few niggles though: compared to the Tunbridge Wells HdV the decor did lack a bit of character, most of the furniture was very standard hotel fare and I would have welcomed some more personal touches. We also had a peek in some of the standard rate rooms while they were being cleaned and they didn't look like anything too special. And as previous reviewers have said, the service here does let the place down just a touch. Our room wasn't ready when we arrived but nobody on reception thought to tell us when it would be ready (turned out to be about an hour late, so good thing we didn't sit around waiting in reception). The waitress in the restaurant in the evening didn't have the required level of English to explain what was in some of the dishes when we asked (although we both thought this was sweet rather than annoying).

Food in the restaurant was good and worth the money. Given that the weekend was at a discount rate I'd say our stay was excellent value and we certainly had an enjoyable time, but if I were paying the full whack I'd want slightly slicker customer service and perhaps a little bit more personality to the room.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GtotheMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2009

There were 4 of us for dinner, bed and breakfast - we spent almost £1000 in 27 hours which was breathtaking...but: the rooms are gorgeous, stylish and comfortable, fab beds, crisp high threadcount linen, bathrobes, shower to die for, free standing roll top baths....all in beautiful keeping wiht a lovely building. The bars have big leather sofas, the restaurant was equally swish and the food was terrific...I have eaten at the Hotels du Vin in Bristol and Birmingham and this knocked spots off them. The service too was very good - unobtrusive and smiley. But I would have liked fresh milk in the bedroom, decent tea bags and a shower cap...they brought all these when we asked but I would have preferred not to ask. Likewise at that price I want internet connection for free. Would I go again? You bet, but only if someone else was paying!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roseandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2009

Booked in here for DB&B on last night of holiday as a treat. Unfortunately, receptionist made us feel as welcome as the plague, couldn't manage a smile, there were no attempts at conversation - it felt very much like a business interaction, which I suppose check-in is, but as the so-called Directors of First Impressions, receptionists are invaluable in establishing a relationship between the guest & hotel.

Following this, I felt really annoyed and disappointed as my expectations were that the service here would be outstanding.

Room quite plain, but smart with freestanding black bath in front of sexy black wet room with one of the best showers ever. Great towels, toiletries, robes etc. No biscuits with tea, but expensive snacks available in mini bar & selection of magazines. No personal touches.

Our room was off ground floor courtyard bar with views out of other of neighbouring alley. Still, quiet and comfortable.

Dinner very good but service hit and miss. One waitress would clear everything the moment you finished, another would leave dirty & empty glasses and bits on onion on the table. Sommelier tried to steer my husband towards the most expensive wine on the menu.

Good sized portions - I had tasty grilled squid salad with grilled courgetts, confit tomato, crunchy fried rocket and very nutty Parmesan, my husband pan friend foie gras, which he said was perfectly cooked.

My filet of halibut with braised baby gem, peas, onion puree and fondant potatoes was quite beautiful and tasted as good as it looked. My husband's Donald Russell rib eye was among the best steaks he had ever had. Sides of French beans and tomato & red onion salad OK.

Puds of apple tarte tartin & vanilla ice cream & cherry clafoutis also very good. We had coffee in our room, brought by a very smiley waiter.

Breakfast very good quality, served in bistro.

Unfortunately bad reception experience replicated during check-out. When porter brought car around, he had fiddled with the radio in the two minutes from the car park and hadn't bothered to re-tune it.

Would I stay here again? Definitely, but only if someone else would check me in and out.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank somersettraveller9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2009

Really enjoyed our stay this weekend at HdV Henley. Our room was well appointed, spacious and comfortable, the bistro was excellent value and the staff were friendly and helpful. I usually like rooms with a more "homely" feel and our room was a bit bare, but it was perfect for a weekend getaway - the bed was really comfortable and we treated ourselves to breakfast in bed which was delicious. We would definitely come back here and would recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starlight21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henley-on-Thames
2.1 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
3.5 mi away
Danesfield House Hotel And Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phyllis Court Club
Phyllis Court Club
#6 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Vin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin

Property: Hotel du Vin
Address: New Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2BP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel du Vin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Vin Hotel
Du Vin Henley On Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing