We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and welcoming”
Review of Loch Fyne Henley

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Loch Fyne Henley
leamington spa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Despite concerns about recent bad press for Loch Fyne, I went ahead with 60th birthday treat for my husband. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Food was very good and service was fine. Shame the full menu was not available because (we were told) supplies were low as it had been Mother's day the previous day - as there is a Waitrose at the back of the hotel supplies could be sought there? However the stay was good on the whole and maintenance was taking place as we left, which should be encouraging.

Room Tip: yes, it's a bit noisy but central position is what we wanted
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANNELeam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    60
    36
    14
    14
See reviews for
13
93
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Well according to other travellers room 1 should be renumbered 13... i half agree.. it is noisey however there was nobody outside in the restaurant courtyard so we had no issue with that potential noise. However you can overhear the "unmanned reception" early in the morning (8ish, well i am on holiday!). So to conclude it is very good value, breakfast is brilliant with a good selection, staff very polite and helpful, room was clean and given fresh water everyday which was a nice touch. I would recommend.

Room Tip: If given Room1 ask to move, but if like us the hotel is fully booked then hey it works... just dont...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MILLERM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellingborough
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Lovely welcome and easy check in. Car park a little tight but it is free. Booked a table in the restaurant and the food was very good. Asked reception to book a taxi and found that nothing was too much trouble. Later in the evening, the guy from reception was working behind the bar and was very pleasant. Our food at breakfast was very good although the service was slow and some other guests complained about their food.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank itallian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Really very dissapointed. The staff were very rude, they didnt care that we were there from the receptionist to the bar staff. I sent an email of complaint and they offered me a free nights stay and a bottle of wine, whihc was good.

Went to book this free stay and the lady advised me that i would need to pay, sent a mail back explaining that I had a free night and never got a reply.

So all in all I would not go there as they belive you are doing them a favour by staying. The location is very central and good for walking about around the town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Henley-on-Thames hotels

Portsmouth
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

We arrived at the rear of the hotel to find there was some very badly parked cars in the car park and we could not get our car in. A few minutes later a woman came out to say she would ask the chef to move his car to allow us to park.

The chef came out not very happy and said he was moving, ( for goodness sake, we are the paying guests which help ensure he gets paid each week........)

The lady that checked us into our room was very matter of fact, explained the key security and told us our room was behind us. ROOM ONE.

We opened the door to find the most DISGUSTING CARPET ( as in dirty) I had ever seen in my life. The room was beauitfully prepared by a member of staff but the carpet was unbelievable.

The valance on the bed was very creased and worn and requires replacement.

If the manager of the hotel reads this do something about the carpet and valance
immediately. DO NOT WAIT FOR A REFURB. Buy a valance and at least hire a carpet cleaner to try and clean the carpet at the very least .you are charging nearly up to £100 a night for this room.

On the plus side, once I had calmed down over this issue, we did enjoy our stay at this hotel, other members of staff were nice & friendly and the breakfasts were some of the best we had ever had.

The hotel is very central and ideal for everything Henley has to offer. We will return but will check before hand which room we have been allocated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

Milsoms are reliable! Above average, good quality and stylish. A great location and very good value. Breakfast is amazing, particularly the lovely coffee. Very happy to return and pleased to recommend to my friends. Thanks Milsoms!

Room Tip: Room 2 was huge and totally comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariah049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The Milsoms Hotel in Henly on Thames is a small friendly hotel with just 7 rooms above the Loch Fyne Restaurant which is right in the centre of town & just a few minutes walk from the River. We only booked this hotel the night before & paid £75 (standard rate) which included breakfast & parking! I've known hotels charge £25 for overnight parking alone.. so this was fantastic. The carpark only has space for about 8 cars we got in no problem but a staff member had to move his car so we could get out. We stayed in Room 3 which overlooks the small restaurant courtyard, it was a very spacious room which was decorated lovely. Breakfast was very nice, with juice, cereal & fruit, toast and a choice of hot food cooked to order.. full english, salmon & scrambled eggs, Haddock & poached egg etc.. Henley has a good selection of bars, restaurants & shops etc.. On a nice day a picnic by the river is a must!! We visited Henley during the easter weekend & didn't have any problem with noise or waiting around for staff etc.. I can honestly say I will recommending this hotel to friends & hope to return myself one day!

Room Tip: You wont be disapointed, it's lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
542 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Phyllis Court Club
Phyllis Court Club
#6 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
129 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
193 reviews
2.0 mi away
Henley Business School
Henley Business School
#4 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Fyne Henley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Fyne Henley

Property: Loch Fyne Henley
Address: 20 Market Place, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2AH, England (Formerly Milsoms Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Loch Fyne Henley 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Loch Fyne Henley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing