We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Loch Fyne Henley
Nearby Hotels
Hotel du Vin(Henley-on-Thames)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Catherine Wheel(Henley-on-Thames)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Phyllis Court Club(Henley-on-Thames)
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Lion Hotel(Henley-on-Thames)
US$118
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$349
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
French Horn Hotel(Sonning-on-Thames)
US$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Great House At Sonning(Sonning-on-Thames)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Baskerville(Shiplake)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Henley Business School(Henley-on-Thames)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (170)
Filter reviews
170 results
Traveller rating
36
63
37
20
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
36
63
37
20
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscar parkbrilliant staytop floorcomfortable bedlovely roomseen better daysbooked this hotelroom was largebreakfast was deliciousan overnight stayhenleyherbalwaitrosecupboardthames
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 170 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2010

this is a well priced and comfortable place to stay. Rooms are clean and modern and staff friendly and helpful. I tend to stay on the upper floors I am not sure about room 1 which is near the entrance. there is a lovely feel about the place and it is attached to Loch Fynne which serves as your breakfast venue. Service can be a bit slow in the morning but if you are in a hurry the girls will sort it.I have stayed elsewhere in Henley - pound for pound this is best value

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izzie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2010

The Milsom advertising brochure and website - www.milsomshotel.co.uk promote the logo ' small hotels with style', but it is not clear if the four small Hotels, situated at Bath, Henley, Kenilworth and Poole are part of the expensive 'Milsoms' chain of beautiful and exclusive country hotels and restaurants.

The Henley on Thames 'Milsoms' features seven bedrooms above the Loch Fyne Restaurant in the town centre, and at £65.00 represented excellent value for money for a one night mid week stay. The bedroom was large, well equipped and very clean, and breakfast in the Loch Fyne Restaurant was excellent.
Street cleaning in the Market Square may disturb light sleepers after 6.30am, if the bedroom overlooks that area, and the initial welcome from the Hotel Receptionist lacked professionalism and warmth. But overall the value for money was exceptional.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itsthebish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2010

We stayed for a long weekend at Milsoms for my brothers wedding in Henley. We took up the whole hotel bar one room, and our ages ranged from 96 years old Nana to 2 year old Esme. My husband and I stayed in room 3 with our 2 children aged 5 and 6. The room was fine, pretty spacious considering there was a double bed and 2 camp beds. However the best 2 rooms are the ones at the top of the house with the large airy vaulted ceilings. The breakfast was fine, but the best thing about Milsoms is the location. It is right in the centre of Henley and you can walk everywhere. We didnt stay in room 1 which has the bad reveiws so I cant comment. Our room 3 was at the rear of the hotel so we didnt have any night-time noise. The only thing that let Milsoms down for us was the service. We waited over 45 minutes one night to even get a menu and even longer to get a drink. The staff were ok-but pretty hopeless. Overall, my opinion is that if you want a reasonable place to stay that doesnt break the bank ( Hotel Du Vin was the other option BUT costs approx 2.5 times the price per night) then Milsoms is OK. If you are looking for a super duper swanky sunken bath, champagne style break in Henley then blow the budget and goto hotel du Vin ( although I have to say having had lunch there- the service there is completely horrendous too- WARM white wine served at hotel du VIN!) I hope this is helpful!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacobsYard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2009

If you ever decide to stay at Milsoms Hotel at Henley-On-Thames, whatever you do, don’t let them give you Room 1.

Is that because the room is not up to standard? Actually the room is large and stylish, with big Georgian windows, a large writing desk and two comfortable chairs.

Is it because the bathroom is tiny and there are no shelves on which to put your things and the toilet seat keeps falling down when you lift it up? Well yes, the bathroom is tiny, but it is clean and the shower works very well and the seat falling will only bother the males using the toilet.

Is it the tiny, sad, old TV that only receives four channels? Well, if you are on holiday TV watching should not be a priority and when the analogue signal is switched off Milsoms will be forced to upgrade to digital, which will bring with it a lot more channels and (hopefully) a better TV.

If you are the type of guest that burns the candle at both ends and comes back to the room very, very late at night and gets up very, very early each morning, then Room 1 won’t be an issue for you. If you aren’t, the noise is going to drive you crazy.

The room runs off the hotel’s reception area and there isn’t an airlock. This means that you will be part of any action or conversation that is going on in the reception area - people booking in or out, guests going to and from their upstairs bedrooms, staff having conversations and deliveries early in the morning. It’s all happening in that reception area – and you can hear it all.

You might think that people would be sensitive to there being a bedroom there, but all there is on the outside of your door is a little metal plate that says “Fire Door Keep Clear”. This means that every now and then someone tries to get into your bedroom because they think it’s an exit – so unless you want some embarrassing moment, make sure you keep the door locked. Alternatively you could spice up another guest’s stay…

And let’s not forget the guest exit to the street. The door of the exit hangs off one of the walls of Room 1. Because the hotel has decided not to put a “soft closer” on the door, it smashes shut when someone uses it and makes the whole bedroom shudder. This goes on from when the first guest gets up until the last guest goes to bed.

You might have wondered why they opaqued the glass in Room 1. Perhaps you thought it was because there wasn’t much of an aesthetic view. Well actually, it is because the room looks straight onto an outdoor eating area. Privacy issues aside, I don’t think that it would be much fun in Room 1 on a balmy summer evening with patrons of the adjoining restaurant partying all night.

I don’t know what the other rooms are like, but at least they will be upstairs and away from all the problems of Room 1. So if you ever do decide to stay at Milsoms at Henley–On-Thames make sure they don’t give you Room 1! Make it your mantra.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank odnaBmaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

Situated in the middle of town the location appears good until you experience the noise after the pubs turn out, and the delivery lorries to the shops and restaraunts in the early mornings. The food in the Fish restaraunt beneath the hotel is fantastic and but note the manager is French and sticks to stereotype i.e. surly, arrogant and would prefer you to be somewhere else ......

The staff seemed overstretched as the restaraunt covers the hotel desk too. The room was adequate at best

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chick1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews