We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Catherine Wheel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Loch Fyne Henley(Henley-on-Thames)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel du Vin(Henley-on-Thames)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Red Lion Hotel(Henley-on-Thames)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Phyllis Court Club(Henley-on-Thames)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Henley Business School(Henley-on-Thames)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Baskerville(Shiplake)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
French Horn Hotel(Sonning-on-Thames)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Great House At Sonning(Sonning-on-Thames)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wee Waif(Charvil)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (702)
Filter reviews
702 results
Traveller rating
187
314
130
35
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
187
314
130
35
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubtypical wetherspoonscar parkparking spacebiscuitsfamily roompre bookthe riverhigh streeton site parkinggood sizesaturday nightcentre of townfirst floorbeer gardencentral locationold building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
651 - 656 of 702 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2012

stayed 1night on business. good location in centre of Henley but limiited parking so had to use free parking a short walk away. not a problem unless you have to keep going back and forth to the car! check in ok .room (102) very large but despite this the equaly large bathroom only had a shower over the bath ( with the shower curtain from hell cramping the space) the room could be much better laid out. The room was heated by a small and totally inadequate electric radiator which meant the room stayed cold ... particularly the bathroom. however overall a good value hotel.

Stayed: April 2012
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I booked an Easter break at this hotel (before reading the reviews here), booking made online in August 2011 for Easter 2012 for 2 adults, 1 infant and requested a cot. When I arrived the car park was busy and I was asked to vacate as soon as possible as had not reserved a space (nothing on web about reserving!). Anyway, receptionist then surprised that we had a baby with us (we booked 1xinfant and 1xcot) as our room was directly over the disco that would go on until 2am for the next 2 nights. As a 'favour' she moved us to the 2nd floor room 205 as all of the quiet rooms had been asked for by other customers.

The stairs to 205 are a real hazard, we had trouble navigating on our own (less than 6 foot headroom for starters and turns a sharp corner) so there was no way that my pram was going into my room. Also felt very, very unsafe carrying an infant up and even worse coming down.

Noise on the first night was really bad so next day we packed up and left. I asked, very politely, at reception to confirm that I would only pay for one night and then went off to pack up my car (not in the car park remember) only to come back to be confronted by the Mangeress whose manner I found most unfreindly and unhelpful.

Oh and if you have childern then please do not plan to eat late in teh eveing in the bar as the license restriction means that you will be asked to leave after 9pm - yes even if you are a paying hotel guest (again not mentioned on the web booking).

We wil NEVER go back to this hotel.

Only positive was the receptionist who I could see felt bad for what had happended, apologised profously and offered a complimentary breakfast (which we declined) - maybe she should be promoted to Mangeress!

Room Tip: Avoid 2nd floor, the stairs are shocking
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ferrety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherinewheelh0tel, Manager at The Catherine Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you for taking the trouble to complete this review. Having looked through your online reservation no reference was found to a cot request. As the building has been present for several centuries unfortunately some of the stairwells are rather steep and narrow indeed. In order for us to be able to allocate your room as far away from the club as possible we needed to resort to one of the rooms at the top of above mentioned stairs. It is possible at all times to park in the car park to load and unload vehicles and this facility is offered to all residents by all staff. Please accept our apologies for your unsatisfactory stay.

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Got a fantastic deal on a night at this hotel off the website.
You never know what you might get when booking a JD hotel but this is a gem of a place.
Location is fab, room lovely, staff friendly and very helpful.
It is a very busy bar but still able to do some work using the free Wi-Fi.
Did not eat in the restaurant but the breakfast was lovely.
For the Price, the location and the general ambience you cant go wrong.
Will be returning with my family to explore the area.
remember to book a parking space.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DowlingLaufer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherinewheelh0tel, Manager at The Catherine Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Thank you for your excellent review. Looking forward to welcoming you and your family in the hotel again soon.

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Had an excellent stay in this lovely hotel by the river at Henley. Fantastic value for money and the food and service was as good as any 4star hotel I have ever stayed in. lovely location in the centre of the town well worth a visit

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheia l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherinewheelh0tel, Manager at The Catherine Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

Thank you for your brilliant comments. It is highly appreciated by all members of the team.

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Please do not be fooled by the Henley on Thames address for this hotel!! It is absolutely awful!!
The rooms above the Bar are in anyway sound proofed and the noise in the rooms are incredibly LOUD!!! they do tell you there will ne some noise, but the rooms vibrate through right up the walls till 2am. I am about to report this to the local council sound abatement department because i believe it is ilegal!!

The smell from the WC is atrocious and the whole Hotel is very very tired!!

There are much better hotels in the area to stay more inkeeping with Henley!

Room Tip: Make sure tou request a quiet room!!!!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Caerphillyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
catherinewheelh0tel, Manager at The Catherine Wheel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2012

It is extremely unfortunate that you felt that neither the room nor the service was to your liking. As it was mentioned in your review we do inform all guests, during the booking and confirmation process, of the noise in the building. As the review also suggested we recommend you request a quiet room in advance as they are also available. The hotel has undergone a refurbishment process in the past months therefore it is extremely important to us that it is viewed as such. As you have brought this to our attention on the morning of your departure it was felt by all that you were compensated for your troubles in a satisfactory manner.
Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointing stay and we hope that you might give us the opportunity to do better next time.

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews