We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in a great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Catherine Wheel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Catherine Wheel
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while attending a wedding in Henley.

We originally booked for 2 of us for one night, then a few weeks before my husband called to extend the booking to 2 nights and add an extra room. This seemed to have been forgotten as when he arrived there was no room....The reception sorted it out quickly and we were able to get the extra night and room.

The room we were in (120) was really nice, lots of room and all the facilities you need. It was a bit dark, but OK. The bed was a small double which for a tall couple was a bit of a squeeze.

We knew about the disco in the pub beforehand and it wasn't a problem. We didn't get back from the wedding till near 1 and as a lot of the guests were staying there we carried on the party. I went up at about 1:45 and from my room could hear the base, but it was not loud at all and I feel asleep without a problem.

I would stay here again if we were in Henley. It was good value and right in the town centre.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Twizbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    256
    100
    26
    30
See reviews for
97
246
34
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

stayed a couple of weeks ago...we chose this hotel for the location as we'd never been to Henley before and we wanted to visit London; wetherspoons was ideal choice... we stayed mid-week it was very quiet which was ideal for us (I am told there is a disco on weekends tho.)...it's in a perfect location right in the middle of town and a short walk to the train station...the room was really clean and cosy, bit old fashioned but as you'd expect from an old building; it even had a fixed ironing board and hair dryer which I'd never seen before...the lounge/dining area was very nice - again very quiet; all the meals we had which included breakfast and evening meal were very nice - especially the curry night on the thursday which after traipsing around London was lush and believe it or not was really romantic...all in all for what we paid and for what we got it was great value and we really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: apparently you need to prebook a parking space, if staying fri/sat book a room furthest away from mu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shandy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We stayed here last night 15 OCT. All the hotel staff were excellent, so helpful. The room was very clean and had everything in it you needed. The price was amazing. I have stayed in much more expensive hotels and not recieved half the service that was provided here. We have booked again for DEC. I would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
365 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We did not stay at this hotel, just passing throug in the morning. We had traditional breakfasts which were £1 more expensive that most Wetherspoons. However, the food was delicious - hot, fresh, nicely cooked and pleasant service.

I would definately visit again. Although still reasonable, don't understand the need by this chain to increase prices because of location.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19Nurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porthcawl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at the Catherine Wheel for the first time at the weekend having enjoyed our stays twice before during weekdays. The noise from what sounded like a rave directly below our room (108) was unbearable even with earplugs. After complaining at 11,40pm we were told that it quieted down at about 01.30 am! This was not mentioned on booking in. Take my advice and think carefully about staying here unless you are a lover of pounding very loud rave music.

Room Tip: Nowhere at weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

If you are in Henley on Thames and looking for somewhere to eat, then you can't go far wrong with the Catherine Wheel. It, like all Wetherspoon pubs, has a good range of cheap beers and reasonable food for the price paid.

The younger element also enjoy the disco/nightclubesque style along with late hours drinking at the weekend.

Worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GrahamEdwards1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
225 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012 via mobile

Weatherspons- need I say more. Good price, unpretentious, cheap beer, basic rooms. but....room smelt of stale smoke, tiny windows and oh so rowdy from drunken revellers downstairs. You pays your money....you takes your choice...

Stayed August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank yanhLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
2.0 mi away
Henley Business School
Henley Business School
#4 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phyllis Court Club
Phyllis Court Club
#6 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Catherine Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Catherine Wheel

Property: The Catherine Wheel
Address: 7-15 Hart Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Catherine Wheel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Catherine Wheel Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Catherine Wheel Henley On Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing