We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Catherine Wheel
Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at a Wetherspoons hotel in Shrewsbury I had high hopes of a pleasant stay but how disappointed I was, stuck in a tiny room, the light didnt work and the shower is described as a trickle at best! I asked reception to look at it when I left for business on the morning, came back and it had not been touched, needless to say I shall not be staying here again! Also, and I don't know why, but almost all the tv channels have been blocked on freeview so very little choice!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simons_david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for The Catherine Wheel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

547 - 553 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

The room was a very good size, twin beds, dressing table, coffee table and two chairs plus a wardrobe and still plenty off room to move around. The en-suite was also a good size.
The hotel was right in the middle of Henley-on-Thames, with no distance to walk to the river or the town centre.
The food in the Weatherspoons was excellent.
The only draw back maybe limited parking, so you do need to reserve a space before you go.
The room price was also excellent, best in the area.

Room Tip: Garden can be noisy at night, and they do state that there is loud music at the weekend, but we went...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Excellent location in the centre of Henley-on-Thames. Bar is noisy at weekends but we were warned on booking and on checking in.
Staff very helpful, we accidentally left something in the room which they kindly returned.
Rooms a good size, well equipped and clean
Booked car parking in advance which worked well as car park was full during our stay

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trade25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We visited Henley On Thames and decided we would like to stay for a night - we found a room at The Catherine Wheel priced at £89 for room only. Parking was an additional £3. Even though we just turned up and there were rooms available there was no negotiation on the price - this was a weekend rate when there was a Festival on.

In terms of location, it is right on the high street a few hundred metres from the river. The room was perfectly adequate. We had a room facing on the the high street so it was a bit noisy but overall the location was great for us.

We had breakfast in the pub - Eggs Benedict were really very good and very reasonably priced.

If you're wanting to be centrally located near the river then this hotel ticks all the boxes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea70-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We have just returned from a night here to celebrate our anniversary. We booked several months ago and did not think to book parking, however the Waitrose car park nearby is free after 3pm on Saturday until Monday morning. Our room was quite a trek to get to, but we were assured by the receptionist that it was an excellent option for a quiet night. Although only on the first floor, we had several little sets of steps up & down, heading up to what seem like the eaves of the building, with one final steep set of stairs to our room, 208. However, it was worth the climb, room was of a nice size, with two chairs & coffee table, tea, coffee & biscuits, there was also an iron in the wardrobe. The bathroom was a nice size, however the toilet was very close to the door & the seat extremely loose, which made for interesting visits!

Overall excellent value for money, would definitely stay again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Lakeys-bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Stayed Sat and Sun nights, knowing about noise in advance, Sat night was not as bad as I expected. We stayed in room just over the main door, in fact at times pub sign made more noise squeaking, Ate in hotel both nights and all meals were value for money. No complaints apart from we didn't know you had to book parking for car, but free weekend car park not 5 minutes away. As I said no real complaints, but there was something about the place I didn't like, don't ley me put you off as my husband likes it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank isaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I was really pleased with the comfort and facilites of this hotel in a beautiful and really central location. However, at night there seem to be a high proportion of under age drinkers completely smashed in the bar - and the nightclub atmosphere continues until 2 am, which if you are trying to sleep is a pain. If like us, you have been to an event, then 2 am may not matter, but when we rolled up at 1 am and wanted a nightcap we had to queue 3 deep with the drunken revellers for ages. A residents' bar would sort that out!
Food was perfectly fine and very reasonable - not haut cuisine but I don't think most people need that 24//7 and there are posh restaurants a minute away for that.
So, a mixed review. The rooms are lovely - my tip - ASK FOR A ROOM AT THE BACK!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, or stay somewhere else!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChunnelTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
793 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
559 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
157 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Baskerville
The Baskerville
#1 of 1 in Shiplake
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Phyllis Court Club
Phyllis Court Club
#6 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Catherine Wheel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Catherine Wheel

Address: 7-15 Hart Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range: £46 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Catherine Wheel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Catherine Wheel Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Catherine Wheel Henley On Thames

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing