We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly landlord, comfy bedrooms and an excellent breakfast!”
Review of Rose & Crown Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Henley-on-Thames
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rose & Crown Inn
Reviewed 27 May 2013

A lovely and enthusiastic landlord and staff, the beer was kept in great condition, and drank in a tidy, clean and sunny garden (although we concede the weather wasn't down to the landlord!). And to top it all off a breakfast to die for! Will highly recommend to others!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (22)
There are newer reviews for Rose & Crown Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2013

What really ,ales this b&b is the staff. They are honest courteous and knowledgable about the local area.

I would rather visit this B&B than stay in a more expensive hotel nearby.

Also the full English breakfast is an experience not to Be missed.

Room Tip: All rooms are B&B style. This is not a hotel and you have to engulf the local atmosphere to enjo...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip_L_Meehan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My wife and I stayed one night for a friend's wedding celebration. Great value - room was basic but very clean and well decorated. Quiet too, even though the pub fronts onto a road. Breakfast was superb. Parking is a bit of a problem, but managed to get in a space 50 yards from pub on the road. Staff very helpful with parking suggestions and generally were very good. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IffyBoatrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 1 night as we were attending a wedding across the road in the Phyllis Court Club.
The Rose and Crown room for the night was less than half the price of the cheapest room at the Court Club, and was an easy 4-5 minute walk away.

I called the owner the night before to request an early check in as we were travelling a long way and wanted to get ready there. He was very accommodating and said it would be now problem us arrivign early, and he could have the rooms cleaned and available in time for us.

When we arrived we were welcomed and shown the room quickly so we could get ready.

The room had everything you need for a nights stay. We had an ensuite room, with a shower over a bath.
The room was 'cosy' but had a nice view of the garden and was clean and nicely decorated. Everything we needed!

Before leaving for the wedding we had a quick drink at the bar and a chat with the owner.
Alan was really nice and friendly, as was his partner and told us about the pub and the area.

We returned after the wedding and found the bar still open with some locals.
We had a night cap and a chat with Alan, then met the resident toad in the garden! This was most exciting!

Breakfast was what ever we wanted. My husband had a full english while I had poached eggs on toast, and there was a selection of cereals for us to choose from. the food was really lovely and set us up for our trip home.

I would highly recommend this B&B for anyone wanting to stay in the area. It was right by the river and we were treated really well by Alan the owner.
It is a shame the weather wasn't great as the beer garden looked like somewhere we could have spent many hours enjoying the sunshine.
We will definately visit again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RhianyddS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed in the pub on a Sunday night with our two young children. I collected the keys at lunchtime and had a cracking pint of Brakspear Special too. The pub was quiet and Alan the landlord was very welcoming with time for a chat.

It's no pretentious gastro pub - simple rooms, a nice breakfast and very relaxed. Exactly what I like

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brendanc982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

We booked a room here last minute and got a great deal. Really helpful and friendly host. The room seemed newly decorated and was very clean. Downstairs is a nice little pub offering food & drinks. Great breakfast. Ideal location if you're looking to explore Henley and surround areas. Parking is a bit of an issue but if you manage to get on the street in front it's cheap. Highly recommend this B&B!!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Becca115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

Pros;
- Very friendly and helpful host. When he found out my wife was gluten intolerant he went out and got gluten-free bread for her toast.
- Location is in town and walking distance to the town center and river
- The building has character - not like a large chain. This comes with quirks as well.
- Pub downstairs for food or cards.
- Great breakfast
- Reasonably priced
- Clean room

Cons:
- It is on a busy street, so if you have a street side room you will get traffic noise.
- Parking is on street and paid for by the host. We were able to find spots near the hotel, but this is not guaranteed.
- Regarding the loud pub complaint, I sleep with earplugs so I had no problems. My wife heard some talking and light music the first night but it was not a big problem.
- The building is hundreds of years old, so don't expect luxury accommodations.

Room Tip: Avoid street side if you don't want traffic noise
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MplsDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Henley-on-Thames hotels
0.1 mi away
The Catherine Wheel
The Catherine Wheel
#2 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
649 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel du Vin
Hotel du Vin
#1 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
794 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Red Lion Hotel
The Red Lion Hotel
#8 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Phyllis Court Club
Phyllis Court Club
#6 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loch Fyne Henley
Loch Fyne Henley
#7 of 8 in Henley-on-Thames
157 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Cherry Tree Inn
The Cherry Tree Inn
#1 of 1 in Stoke Row
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose & Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose & Crown Inn

Address: 56 New Street, Henley-on-Thames RG9 2BT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Henley-on-Thames
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Henley-on-Thames
Price Range: £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rose & Crown Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Craig & Rebecca Mee, welcome you all to the Rose and Crown in Henley on Thames. We offer our guests a safe haven to relax, enjoy a drink and a home-cooked and hearty meal, before taking a rest for the night. We have three excellent en-suite double rooms, with DVD player/ipod dock and WiFi available. A full English breakfast is included. All our rooms are beautifully decorated and very cosy. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose & Crown Hotel Henley-On-Thames
Rose And Crown Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing