We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent - even for big party”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Marina

Villa Marina
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reading
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent - even for big party”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

First time to this restaurant for a friend's birthday lunch party so there were 30 of us all being served simultaneously but you would have not have know for the speed and quality of service ... the food was scrummy too!

The varied choice of bread rolls was interesting and came with a garlic tomato mix and a black olive tapenade - not an olive fan but really enjoyed the tomato. If you were hungry like me it was good to find packets of bread sticks on the table when the roll was finished!

We ate from the 3 course set luncheon menu which was very varied - 9 starters a mixture of tried and true with a few unusuals - I had insalata d’avocado e pancetta - followed by another 9 main courses. My choice of stinco di agnello (lamb shank) was delicious. Followed by a sweet trolley you felt that nothing was left to chance in this restaurant. Was £17.50 a head for three courses - think I saw the web page now sas £18.00 - still very good value.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steviee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    120
    44
    16
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and reasonable price”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

This was our 1st visit to the Villa Marina and what a lovely lunch. We went for the 3 course menu.
Food food was excellent my wife would recommend the Leak and Potato soup. The only fault we could find with the restaurant was one of the waiting staff ( Italian, tall with glasses) was very blunt and not very friendly. But we had a lovely meal and came out fall and happy will defiantly be back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eric a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Birthday Meal”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My partner and I had a wonderful Saturday lunch at Villa Marina earlier this year. The food was exceptionally good and as I am a vegetarian, they went out of their way to accommodate my dietary requirements. The service was great too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynnette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
133 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A Great Meal Out”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is a typical italian restaurant in the centre of Henley and we were celebrating two birthdays. The service was good but the tables were very close so it was difficult for the staff to deliver and collect the plates. This did not unduly detract from our enjoyment. The menu offered a variety of food and I would recommend the pork dishes which were very good. The lamb shanks were also very good and the variety of vegetables was great.The starters were varied also with tiger prawns being popular in our party. The sweet trolley was good and the coffee excellent. A good place to meet. The only problem was the noise from the next table - a party of 12 - but we still would return

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sinclair45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Hoped for a special Saturday night meal , got a cold steak , a seat that was bumped by every waiter that went past, out of four meals all were average ,far better restaurants in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Villa Marina also viewed

Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
Henley-on-Thames, Oxfordshire
 
Peppard Common, Henley-on-Thames
Lower Shiplake, Henley-on-Thames
 

Been to Villa Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing