We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chef going off menu”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Nando's

Nando's
Ranked #433 of 625 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: US$0 - US$43
Cuisines: Portuguese, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Chef going off menu”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Nandos is great. Good, consistent food at almost every branch. Which is why it is so annoying when the chef thinks they know best. We ordered our regular medium livers. It came in about half a bottle of sauce - far too hot and absolutely not what we wanted - or expected. When the manager did his 'is everything Ok' bit, we said No, the livers have far too much sauce. Apology? No. An offer to re-do them? No. All he said was that lots of customers wanted extra sauce so some chefs just added it anyway. He would explain to the chef that he should stick to the 'standard'. Poor.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Steerage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    27
    28
    10
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“food is great....parking and seating required”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

As always great food from Nando's and the service is always good but queue's can build up quickly and parking is always difficult for anyone. My local and will continue to visit but an extension is highly recommended

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“typical nandos”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

typical nandos good service nice food but nothing special parking around here is hard due to resident only on sidestreets

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank florry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Food great, service awful”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

As an earlier reviewer said, Nandos is Nandos. The food here is great, as per usual, speedy - the layout is a little crowded but serviceable. Service is pretty bad though - dismissive, a little rude when my party asked for a table change (to the table right next to it). I would go back with friends but probably not with family as I didn't like the treatment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank travelkat84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“How can you ***k up a chicken shop?”
Reviewed 14 June 2013 via mobile

Nandos to me is a fast food chain restaurant. The only USP of this business? Wow... I lost it. Grilled meats? no. Refill soft drinks? No. Table service? No. Pretentious serving staff (cashier)? Nope. Bussers? Nope. Hmm, could be that their chickens are "halal". Yep, that must be it.

I'll hesitantly revisit the 'Colonel' for a bargain bucket instead. Less hassle, less disappointments.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NukaCola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nando's also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Nando's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing