We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service!”

Las Iguanas - Oxford
Ranked #74 of 628 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Mexican, Brazilian, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great service!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Dierdre is a saint! Phenomenal service throughout the meal. Good food and great happy hour drink specials. Would definitely come back just for the fish tacos alone.

Helpful?
4 Thank Jonathan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    90
    43
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cocktail masterclass event”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I went as part of a group to Las Iguanas in Oxford to take part in a Cocktail masterclass event in July 2014. The event was great, really fun! We had an introduction into the world of cocktails and then had the chance to make 2 ourselves that we chose from the Happy Hour menu. There was 9 of us in total and it was fun for all of us to experience making cocktails behind the bar with advice and instruction. The staff were lively and very helpful and made the evening really entertaining. We had a meal afterwards which was extremely good. I will definitely go again and recommend it to others.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizzy_12314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bad service...Good food”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My friend and I went last night to Las Igunanas and there was a long wait for a table.The waitress could of offered us nibbles whilst we waited for a table and tell us that there were things missing from the menu.

Ordered our food and they did miss a few things. i.e no Jalepeno on the nachos which we asked for and normal fries instead of sweet potato fries when my friend made of point of asking for these and saying how he loves them!

My veggie curry was delicious and the food was good but the attention to detail was poor.

Still had a good time but they need a kick up the backside!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lollybob55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very good”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We (family) had lunch and dinner quite a few times and I have to say it is one of the best restaurants in Oxford. Good food, good ambience and excellent service!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food, awful service”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We got in to find not only was our reserved table still full, but we couldn't sit anywhere and the bar staff were reluctant to serve us. After 20 minutes and very expensive cocktails later we sat down.

Luckily our waitress Gee was lovely but the rest of the time the staff looked like they didn't even want to be there and food took a very long time to come out. Food was nice but really wouldn't come back due to the derisive staff, especially when you can be the same food but cheaper with friendly workers.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KaraWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Las Iguanas - Oxford also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Las Iguanas - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing