We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Backpackers Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Central Backpackers Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt like home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed at his hostel with two friends for one night in December 2012 and it was wonderful. Reception were lovely and helpful. The room I slept in was good with very comfortable beds. The pillow and doona I had were so much more comfortable than previous hostels. When I was there I think a new shower had just been installed? It must have been recent because it was absolutely delightful. I had been in so many dirty/cold/strange showers and this one was SPOTLESS and so warm :)

The kitchen is nice and homely with cereals, toast and juice on offer in the morning. I was so happy to see the availability of some orange juice and vegemite on toast. Eating my brekky sitting at the dining table made me feel like I was at home which was nice because I had been feeling a little homesick.

So all in all it was perfect for my needs: I had a place to sleep at the last minute, a warm comfortable bed, a nice shower, good breakfast and lovely company.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    57
    18
    2
    5
See reviews for
3
11
59
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

The hostel staff were great and make a real effort to get to know their guests. They organize events and are full of great advice. The hostel has all you would expect from a hostel and is a good place to hang out when you need to rest your feet. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

I stayed here for two nights to explore Oxford. Two minutes walk from station,and five minutes to all that Oxford has to offer. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Nice bustling atmosphere. The public area's were a bit small,but to be fair,it is an old building with limited scope. The kitchen is well equipped. I stayed in the female dorm. Rooms were clean and bed,although a bit squeaky was comfortable. Having lockers and free linen was an added bonus. Free wifi throughout the building,and two PCs. The noise level for me was not an issue.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank machriestones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

I agree one of the reviewer's opinion that, it make you feel a bit sad.
If the owner is reading this, I recommend you to increasing the size of the common space. Nobody want to talk with others, the dining space ect are quite small, the only outdoor space has no person managing it. Another reason make it feel sad may due to the narrow corridor, maze like path and people naturally will avoiding talk to much while passing by each other, which is not good.

The shining point is the staff attitude, quite friendly. The cleanness in the bath and toilet is also great. The sleep quality, to me is great, but its due to the constant noise outside the window, for people hate noise it would be a hazard. Also the bad frame is very unstable, but the mattress is quite good. Very firm and supportive.

Room Tip: If you prefer quiet sleep, avoid the street side rooms. Club or whatever outside is very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yywb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

The hostel was just sad. The staff was polite and the rooms and bathrooms clean but it just felt sad. The nightclub was a nightmare and the room was much too hot.
The breakfast was what I've come to expect in hostels.
I'd only stay here again if I had to. It's close to just about everything, but still in a slightly sketchy area and just too noisy for me.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

Cannot say enough good things about this place. Things like free wifi, clean towels, real showers, free breakfast, and lockers shouldn't be rare in hostels but usually are. It wasn't anything crazy fancy, but it felt incredibly safe--the "regulars" lived there for weeks-months and didn't have a lock on their door--they all just knew each other and invited people staying just one night to hang out, go pub crawling, or hang out on the bbg patio. The outdoor space was great for smoking and drinking. When I started off staying in hostels (from the US), I was worried about stuff getting stolen and coed rooms. This place had me calm and happy in a few hours. Very cool. I became a regular by accident and miss the cool atmosphere.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Female dorm costs 22 GBP, linens and a towel are included in a price. There is a free internet throughout the hostel and a free breakfast (jams, peanut butter and Nutella!), with toasts, oatmeals, cornflakes, milk, tea, coffee. The communal area is rather small, with only 4 tables. And there are stairs that lead upstairs so not a place for people who need an elevator. Beds are good and there are lockers in the rooms. A lock can be borrowed from the reception, or you can bring your own. The lockers are rather small, but can fit a big laptop inside. The hostel is located in an area with bustling nighlife so there is a loud music in the evenings. Aware of this, the hostel offers ear plugs free of charge. The hostel is very centrally located and a great value for money. There are plenty of toilets and showers. The hostel also has a lot of books and a small TV/reading room.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Livia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.5 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#14 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.5 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Backpackers Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Backpackers Oxford

Property: Central Backpackers Oxford
Address: 13 Park End Street, Oxford OX1 1HH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Central Backpackers Oxford 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Backpackers, Oxford’s premier Backpackers Hostel accommodation. Central Backpackers brings a new level of comfort and security to the hostel experience. With a huge range of free services including Internet, light breakfast, 24 hr access, lockers in all dorm, BBQ deck area everything you need to make your trip safe, comfortable and enjoyable. Located in the centre of Oxford’s Historical University city. Central Backpackers is less than a 5 minute walk from the bus station, train station, Oxford’s Castle/Prison complex, Museums and vibrant student nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Central Backpackers Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing