We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal location, not for everyone”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Buttery Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Buttery Hotel
Ranked #24 of 83 Oxford B&B and Inns
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ideal location, not for everyone”
Reviewed 29 September 2011

My husband and I stayed here while I was attending a conference at Mansfield College. The hotel is in an ideal location, right in the center of things. We were in room 303, which is nice and spacious with lots of storage. It is, however, at the top of many STEEP and NARROW steps. The windows look right on the street, which is fun (and the lighting is excellent). If noise bothers you, however, it would be a problem. People tend to be out late in large groups, so there are voices ringing over the stones. The wi-fi is so-so, but the wired Internet was fine.

For us, the main problem was that the room was quite warm, despite having the windows open on the cool night air. There is no cross-ventilation. A ceiling fan would make a huge difference, especially since the only bed cover is a comforter--no separate sheet. You're either warmly bundled or completely bare.

I would stay there again, but it's not for everyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldenstater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    173
    70
    25
    13
See reviews for
67
124
54
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

Parking on the road outside the hotel is metered. The parking police are very very good at their job. But I did ask one how to stay there all night. Buy a ticket for 2.5 pound after 6.30pm is good to 11.00pm and there is not charge until 8am next morning, they give you 15 minutes grace.

Have fun

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

I stayed with my partner at "The Buttery Hotel" last Friday - Saturday. The location was very good and from the outside the B&B seemed very pleasant.

The receptionist was very friendly and had our "delux" room ready before 2pm, which was a nice touch. However the room wasn't to the 4* standard rating the Buttery has. There were several marks all over the walls, carpets needed deep cleaning and the bathroom also (as several bodily hairs had to be removed from the toilet seat and sink!!!).

The bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean (as expected) but we were facing the front of the hotel, it was extremely noisey all night (as the windows don't close properly) and I could hear people walking around upstairs till the early hours. Also the bathrooms have a strange connection, so when the people upstairs used the shower/toilet the water gushed down through pipes in our bathroom making such a racket (even with the bathroom door closed). I was very tired on Saturday morning.

The breakfast however was very nice and there was a fair amount of choice.

Due to my lack of sleep and a room that wasn't 4* I rate this hotel a 2/5.

Room Tip: If you stay here ask for a room at the back of the hotel, as i would hope these would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meow_King
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buttery11, General Manager at The Buttery Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2011
It was very disappointing to read this review. At The Buttery, we always aim to have the highest standard of cleanliness throughout our building; we have obviously not achieved this on this occasion. Customers should alwats come to reception with any problems and we will endeavour to sort them out immediately.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Oxford is a pricey city, and I only needed somewhere to stop over on a conference trip. The Buttery is very conveniently placed, with a large room and good breakfast (in the cafeteria downstairs). The room was very clean and well ventilated.
The internet is a wired connection, though patchy wireless coverage was noted. I was not able to connect to it though. Phone coverage is fine in the room, but you can't get a 3G connection very easily. This was about the only problem.
Would certainly return for an overnight trip! It may not be luxurious, but it was good value and all I could have asked for.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkqd1209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2011

LOCATION:
Couldn't have been better! It is a very popular spot - right in the middle of town and shopping and sights. More than one townsperson commented that it was the best place to stay in Oxford.

GETTING THERE:
We arrived by train from London Paddington train station - paid 21.50 GBP one way, and 5.15 GBP for a taxi from the train station. When we left, we walked to the train station, and it took us about 20 minutes with our luggage. Not a bad walk really, just a lot of people on the sidewalks and heavy bags.

ROOM:
My friend and I stayed one night in a room with 2 twin beds. The photos on the website are accurate. http://www.thebutteryhotel.co.uk/thebuttery.html The room was very clean, bright and comfortable. Our room was on the backside of the hotel and so the view was bad. The small window in the bathroom was a bit low for my comfort. I am certain people across the way could have see us as we used the toilet if the window were open. The toilet was a bit wobbly and made weird hissing noises when not in use. The shampoo, shower gel, hand lotion and hand soap dispensers were very nice. On a Thursday night with the windows open, we could easily hear people outside carousing.

SERVICE & AMENITIES:
The staff was very helpful - even putting some food in their refrigerator and an ice pack in the freezer overnight for us. Free Wi-Fi, or wired access if your device didn't pick up the Wi-Fi signal, was great. The breakfast included a wide selection of fresh fruit, boxed cereal, croissants, and your choice off the hot meal menu. While the eggs were overcooked, the rest of the food was great.

STAIRS, STAIRS, STAIRS:
NOTE: This place has A LOT of WEIRD STAIRS. There was no lift, so if your mobility is challenged in ANY way, you will find it a bit daunting to get to your room. We were in room 202, and in order to get to our room, we went up 2 steep flights of twisty stairs and then after maneuvering around the fire door immediately at the top of the stairs then there were two steps DOWN to our room. While the staff was very accommodating and eagerly helped our luggage (they didn't even seem to want a tip), it was still a bit difficult for 2 weary travelers who had been walking all day.

Would have liked to have a reading room or parlor in the hotel to relax and read when not in the room, but we were satisfied with the cafe and its outdoor seating (when someone wasn't smoking near us). The city was very relaxed and had enough sightseeing to keep us occupied for a couple days. So we wish we would have stayed another night, but the hotel was booked.

Room Tip: Wish We Could Have Stayed Longer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AVC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romania
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Cute and small, comfortable hotel downtown Oxford! My husband was not happy with the English breakfast (the sausagis he call them "paper made"... and we wait too long for food. Of course I cannot say that is the best breackfast I eat in hotels I used before...but for England is usual at this price and stars (ha ha ha say England/ Scotland).

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RomaniaAda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunter Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

A wonderful, clean and welcoming B&B in a fantastic location. You don't need a car here as you can walk to most places and the City Sightseeing bus is just outside the door. A great place in which to explore Oxford.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lindat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.4 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
#22 of 44 in Oxford
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buttery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buttery Hotel

Property: The Buttery Hotel
Address: 11-12 Broad Street, Oxford OX1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buttery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Broad Street, surrounded by historic University Colleges, The Buttery welcomes you to enjoy the wonders of Oxford from its central location. The Buttery provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a choice of rooms, all en-suite and decorated in a neutral style with light colours, some also with original fireplaces. We are in easy walking distance of a number of museums, theatres, the main shopping areas as well as variety of restaurants and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Buttery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing