We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff, excellent location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Buttery Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Buttery Hotel
Ranked #26 of 84 Oxford B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, excellent location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Situated right in the centre of Oxford, the Buttery is in a perfect location for a weekend stay. Staff very friendly and helpful and the breakfast (included in the price) is decent. Rooms are good value compared with other hotels in Oxford, especially considering the central location. TV and wifi facilities are good and the de luxe rooms offer ample space. Although other reviews have criticised the level of noise from the street I did not find this to be a major issue. I have stayed at the Buttery a number of times in recent years - it is always my hotel of choice in Oxford.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RLM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    170
    70
    25
    13
See reviews for
66
123
53
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel claims to be 4star. Not true. The facilities hardly justify 1star. Room adequate but noisy (so called de luxe rooms face Broad Street - choose one at the back). Breakfast was appalling, served in the tatty cafe next door. Staff friendly.ŷ

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbiesh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The location is great, fifteen minutes walk from the station and in the centre of everything and the staff were helpful and friendly. I stayed in a first floor room overlooking Broad Street and had no problems with noise although it wasn't on a weekend. Plenty of choice for breakfast but avoid the scrambled eggs. I would stay here again for the location alone.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Vivien K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Perfect location as we visited for a function close by.
Room: a good size, functional, shower good. Bring your own shampoo&conditioner
Price: expensive for what it was, but the cheapest for what was available that weekend (eights weekend). £136 / night
Staff: friendly
Breakfast: do not get out of bed for it. Worst breakfast I have ever had. Stick to the crunchy nut cereal box.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Friendly staff. Rooms quaint but overpriced and in need of 'polish'. VERY noisy if room overlooks Broad Street. Staff start hovering before 9 at weekends - consequently v little sleep. Rather befuddled by this, left shirt in wardrobe. Returned home and realised. Called hotel. Told no shirt there. Called again next day. Shirt discovered! Had to give credit card no. to pay for postage.
Breakfast: eggs cold. This is apparently due to hotel being Grade 2 listed.....I live in Grade 2 listed house but can cook hot eggs!!! Unfriendly attitude to inviting guests to breakfast: not suitable if visiting student and wanting to eat with them.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking Broad Street v noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soleil763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Buttery is right in the town centre: the location is great, so long as you're happy with the the hustle and bustle of the city centre outside rather than peace and quiet.

As you might expect for central Oxford, the building is old: there are a lot of creaking floorboards, winding staircases, uneven floors, and so on. I guess it's a matter of taste whether you find that charming; certainly, none of it was a problem for me.

The room I stayed in was comfortable enough, but was starting to look a little tired: there were a number of cracked tiles in the bathroom, scuff marks on the walls, etc. It was also remarkably warm: the temperature outside was never about 20 degrees Celsius during my stay, and much cooler than that during the night, but I had to keep the windows wide open most of the time I was there.

The (cooked, English) breakfast was perfectly edible, but a little underwhelming: given that it's being served in a cafe rather than just a hotel dining room, I was expecting something with a little bit more impact.

A highlight of my stay here were the staff: everybody I spoke to was extremely polite, friendly and helpful, which was great. That, combined with the great location, means I'd certainly be happy to come back here again.

Room Tip: I stayed in a "standard" room, which looked out of the back of the hotel over some rooftop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 874JDS874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We had been looking for a stylish and interesting alternative to the Randolph (cost was not a particular issue). We actually booked the Tower House a year in advance but they revoked our booking due to refurbishment and recommended this instead

It's noisy, pokey and stuffy and we wish we had stuck to the Randolph!






should not hav

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pdtw2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.4 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.4 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#14 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.7 mi away
Ethos Hotel
Ethos Hotel
#21 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buttery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buttery Hotel

Property: The Buttery Hotel
Address: 11-12 Broad Street, Oxford OX1 3AP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Buttery Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on Broad Street, surrounded by historic University Colleges, The Buttery welcomes you to enjoy the wonders of Oxford from its central location. The Buttery provides bed and breakfast accommodation in a choice of rooms, all en-suite and decorated in a neutral style with light colours, some also with original fireplaces. We are in easy walking distance of a number of museums, theatres, the main shopping areas as well as variety of restaurants and pubs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Buttery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing