We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very pleasant experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jamie's Italian

Jamie's Italian
Ranked #116 of 622 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: US$11 - US$25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: JAMIE’S ITALIAN Jamie’s Italian is a contemporary and informal restaurant with a menu that reflects Jamie Oliver’s passion for authentic Italian cooking, delivered with his own unique twist on classic recipes. Beautiful rustic dishes are created using carefully sourced, higher-welfare ingredients for the best flavour, but still at great value. This is a relaxed, affordable and accessible environment where the style, atmosphere and menu can be easily adapted to suit any occasion. KNOWN FOR Child friendly; great value, quick lunch; special occasions; group bookings, party planning.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very pleasant experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

We sat at a table near the entrance but the experience was still good and the service was excellent, brilliant waiter who was very attentive. Couldn't fault the food, taken and delivered correctly and lovely and hot.

By the time we left it was extremely busy but eating before 19:00 was a really pleasant experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Zzzc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    633
    473
    283
    157
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“great if you aren't in a rush”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

The staff are friendly and knowledgeable. The food is great too, but to get the best out of it you have to take your time and make the most of the appetizers and sharing boards in proper Italian style

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank tom w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food but Very Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

We have been regulars at this restaurant since it first opened. We have visited it on at least 15-20 occasions. The food is consistently good - we have never been disappointed and the service was always cheery and very efficient. Our most recent visit on the 13th October wasn't as good though - the service seems to have gone downhill. In particular we were served by an Italian waiter who had a cold and unfriendly attitude. There was a long delay before he came to take our order - we'd been trying to attract his attention for a children's menu to no avail - he didn't tell us the specials at all and when we asked about them he reeled them off so quickly that we couldn't understand what he was saying. Our starters were delicious but we were left with the dirty plates in front of us until the main courses arrived with another colleague who then quickly removed them (he was much more cheery). He then ignored us until we asked for the bill. We usually have puddings and coffees but just wanted to get out of there. In summary we felt that we hadn't received any service at all. We'll try the restaurant again but make sure that we aren't allocated to his area - we will remember his name! If we have similar service again then we'll give up on it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Montey_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, UK
2 reviews
“Fab choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Ate here last night for my hen do. Had a fabulous time. Everyone enjoyed the food, the service was very good and the atmosphere was great. Thank you.

p.s. I hope we didn't disrupt anyone elses evening! Sorry if so.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2012

On our second night in Oxford me and my three colleagues decided to check out this restaurant. The table we reserved was located ear the entrance, but also near a trash bin unfortunately.
We ordered a meat plank and a fish plank as starters. This looked great and tasted great as well.
For mains we ordered the beef steak pounded with sage and prosciutto, which turned out to be quite delicious. We also ordered broccoli as side dish, but these were overcooked a bit and had almost no taste.
Overall we'd enjoyed a good dinner here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BackPackMaluku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jamie's Italian also viewed

 

Been to Jamie's Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing