We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ethos Hotel Oxford
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Newton House(Oxford)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Euro Bar(Oxford)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (573)
Filter reviews
573 results
Traveller rating
213
175
88
56
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
175
88
56
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsa quiet residential areamini apartmentunderfloor heatingcity centresmall kitchenfridge and microwaveexecutive suitebig tvminute walkchrist church collegethe hotel managerwet roomgood pointsgreat rooma lovely stayhome from homeleave the car
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
480 - 485 of 573 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2011

Just arrived back from a lovely weekend in Oxford, spoiled only by being completely ripped off by this place. We'd received a voucher as a wedding present to stay here & had to add to it to be able to stay on a Saturday night.
There is no parking available at normal hours (if you do stay here then you can park up at the Four Pillars Hotel on the main Abingdon Rd until you can park on the streets near the hotel) & for the price, you'd think they would have invested perhaps in some permits to park on the streets. To say breakfast is included (and at the price) is stretching the truth a little when you get a basket with cereal, hot drinks stuff & a couple of sweaty muffins in your room. The rooms are clean and modern so no complaints there but I would expect much more for the price.
To be honest, had we not had the voucher, having read the reviews on here, we wouldn't have even stayed here, but to charge £135 a night for a hotel outside the city centre, with a "breakfast basket" and such difficulties with parking, is not OK. Wish we'd been able to use the voucher elsewhere, because other than the hotel, we had a lovely time in Oxford and would recommend it for a short break. Just stay somewhere else!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Manc81187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

We arrived at the Ethos at noon which was a mistake as car parking in nearby streets was 2 hours between 0900 and 1600. Came back at 1400 and moved car which was OK until 1100 next morning. The lack of parking is, as another reviewer said, simply Oxford but not too many other complaints.
it was a hot day for early October and the room we were allocated was cool with unobtrusive but very effective air conditioning. The room was well fitted with ample tea and coffee, plus there was a fridge and microwave. We found it was a 20 - 25 minute walk into the city centre with plenty of buses until late if needed.
At night, it was surprisingly quiet (a Sunday night). The breakfast basket supplied was as most other reveiewers found - not really what I would call Continental with no bread, ham, cheese or jam but plenty of fillers! With a microwave, we shall know next time to bring a bit more although the quantity could not be criticised.
The pale carpets were probably a bit delicate for heavy use but otherwise the room was very good with a huge comfortable bed and a bath, rather than just a shower. Next morning, there was time for a good walk along the nearby river before it was time to move the car.
In general, we enjoyed the stay at the Ethos and would probably come again - by train or bus to give us more freedom to go where we wanted between the hours of 1100 and 1400. With a reduced price deal, the stay was good value but the breafast contents need a bit more thought.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michaelfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Just come back from a short break in Oxford and we stayed in the Ethos hotel. Its in a quiet residential area of Oxford which is a 10-15 min walk from Oxford High St. The hotel is furnished to a very high standard and the room we had was equipped with a fridge, microwave and tea and coffee making equipment. Although you can't get a cooked breakfast in the hotel they do leave a selection of cereals and fresh milk in your room.
All in all this hotel was excellent

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scouse13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Now showing high wear and tear, this boutique hotel is in a great location, but needs new carpets as they are badly stained. Lick of paint would put this hotel back on track. Parking is difficult, but that's Oxford! Great staff!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderingmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

Location was ok, not a long walk to town. The room was ok but for the price totally over priced. Bed was comfortable and guy on reception was friendly and helpful, free wifi and sat tv helped, but this was the only thing good about the place.. We were given a room under ground level which was not pleasant as no blind or net curtains on windows so had to keep curtains drawn durning the day. Breakfast was a basket in room, which we felt could've contained more ie bread rolls, jam, butter etc.Were very disappointed and this was not a hotel at all and wished we had booked something more up market, web page very misleading.Would not recommend this to anyone unless it was at rock bottom price.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 31Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews