We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Brasil
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“We loved everything!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

We were very well receptioned! The room was amazing! Very modern, clean and comfortable. The hotel is just 10 minutes walk from the city center. The wi-fi din´t work in our room, but there is a cable ready to use! The "breakfast" is already in the room - milk and juice in the fridge, some cereal bars, muffins and all facilities needed... The kitchen is very useful, specially with kids. We simply loved everything!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deboravh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    157
    74
    47
    33
See reviews for
72
258
18
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
221 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

I, myself, enjoy being away from the hustle and bustle of to city center. The hotel is on a very residential street about a 10 minute walk from the center. Very nice clean room.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chefbear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

This was a nice, small hotel located on the side streets..about 15 mins walk to the centre.
The loft suite room was absolutely lovely in terms of the size being on two floors! This appealed to us very much. If you choose to stay here then I'd suggest this room, though the others I'm sure are lovely.

However there were a few problems, such as the internet not working, one of the televisions just didn't work, temperature controls on the shower are broken so you can't alter the temperature.

Reception is very lovely and the staff are very helpful. I would however recommend that you chose somewhere closer to town and probably not much more expensive as the rooms here aren't cheap.

Room Tip: Sky loft suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annoymous186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2011

This is a lovely, bright and attractive suite of rooms, with beautiful views from the bedroom.

We have stayed there several times and always been happy. It is just far enough out the city centre to be peaceful and yet most convenient being only a short walk to the city's the attractions.

Having the fridge and kitchenette is great because it makes for a relaxing "home from home" stay.

The parking was no problem for us as it is possible to park quite easily overnight a few streets away. If staying longer it might be better to leave the car at a park and ride site and catch the bus in. Therefore, if needing parking adjacent to the hotel (very difficult in Oxford) then maybe this is not the hotel for you.

Overall only one problem - I wish I could afford to stay more often! Thank you

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

We stayed here for one night in room 11. It was stylishly decorated and all finished to a high standard. The bed was massive! And the room very quiet overnight which was great. The kitchenette was a real plus. Would recommend this hotel to others and would stay again if visiting Oxford as great location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Really worth a stay if you're after a great hotel that avoids the hustle and bustle of the City centre but want to be able to reach it with ease. Staff friendly and very helpful!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luke_ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Having returned to Oxford as a visitor rather than a student, a few friends and I stayed at Ethos for a small reunion gathering. Ethos was the only dog-friendly hotel near the city centre that I could find for a reasonable price, though I think you'd be hard pressed to find anything at a lower rate that's still within walking distance of the centre.

As we arrived around 9:00 pm, the reception was closed, so we were given instructions for "self check-in", which I was quite impressed with as it meant key-less entry and all we needed to remember over the weekend were two codes. It felt very secure in this way and was convenient. Our room was smaller than advertised online, but again, I put this down to our late arrival.

The room itself had thick, plus carpets and possibly the most comfortable hotel bed I've slept in. What I found bizarre and a bit inconvenient, however, were the lack of robes, mirrors (except for one in the bathroom above the sink) and hooks behind the bathroom door to hang anything up. The bed was also situated strangely so that one side left only a few inches gap by the window, so anyone sleeping on that side would have to really squeeze by to get out.

There were also quite a few noticeable stains on the curtains, carpet, crockery, and in the bathroom, which kind of turned me off as well. I'd probably stay at the Ethos again if I returned to Oxford, but would definitely make sure I'd try for the lowest rate possible, because it really isn't worth its price, except for in location.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angloyankophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.4 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#12 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,656 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#16 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#17 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.6 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ethos Hotel & Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethos Hotel & Caffe

Property: Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Address: 59 Western Road | Grandpont, Oxford OX1 4LF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ethos Hotel & Caffe 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the very heart of Oxford, this stylish and contemporary hotel offers luxurious boutique-style accommodation with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and satellite TV with free movie and sports channels. In a quiet residential area, Ethos Hotel Oxford has a great location, within easy walking distance of the University's colleges and all of the city's shops, bars and restaurants. Sleek, stylish and modern, all of the rooms and suites are individually styled and luxuriously appointed with state-of-the-art facilities. The Ethos Hotel has been highly acclaimed, with the Sunday Times saying an "excellent addition to the scene is the chic, contemporary Ethos." The friendly and professional multilingual staff offers affordable service and amenities specifically chosen for the needs of business and pleasure travelers. Guests are entitled to reduced rates at a nearby spa, gym and pool. Caffe Ethos offers full cooked English Breakfast to start your day and serves a selection of pastries, coffee, tea, drinks and snacks all day. Relax in the evening with stone-baked Barrel & Stone Pizza, dinner menu and choice of wines, beers or cocktails. Open to hotel guests and non-guests. Limited car parking is available at a charge per night - advance booking is require and must be checked with the hotel to book prior to arrival. Small Pets are accepted subject to availability or limited rooms. There is a charged per night, per pet and these must be checked and booked with the hotel prior to arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ethos Hotel & Caffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ethos Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing