We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Maidenhead, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Staff were helpful and polite, room was clean and spacious, bathroom was fine, and the bed was really comfortable.

Location is very quiet, though walking in and out of the city several times a day needed plenty of energy.

We had no complaints, although as we left someone was moaning about the lack of parking and the absence of a cooked breakfast. Things they were doubtless told about in the literature and on the website.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    181
    161
    76
    50
    35
See reviews for
76
265
20
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading Berkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2011

Newly decorated and extremely well laid out room with all the facilities you would or could ever need. The bed was large and comfortable and instead of a standard bathroom we had a marble walk in shower room.They provide glasses/plates and cutlery so you can dine in if you please and the breakfast (I am NOT generally a fan of continental breakfasts,but this was in fact very good indeed.Not a dried out mini baguette in site)
The bottle of wine provided on the first night was EXCEPTIONAL (Vouvray) and the staff were all very charming and helpful at all times.All this within 10 mins walk of the City Centre (PLEASE go and see the Enclosed Market off Queens St-FANTASTIC !). Only let down was parking. We found a road (going south) about 1/4 mile where we parked for the weekend so no real problems.WE WOULD DEFINITELY STAY AGAIN AND AGAIN AT THIS HOTEL.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ianleyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My room was very comfortable and attractive, but not large. Initially I found it a bit disconcerting coming straight into the room off the street, but did not feel insecure once I got used to it. Really enjoyed the quiet location near the river, and had no problem walking into (and out of) town for the evening. Left my car on a single yellow line by the hotel which meant that I was up and out promptly! I will use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Next time I will ask for a room that is not directly on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 500Anonymous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasil
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

We were very well receptioned! The room was amazing! Very modern, clean and comfortable. The hotel is just 10 minutes walk from the city center. The wi-fi din´t work in our room, but there is a cable ready to use! The "breakfast" is already in the room - milk and juice in the fridge, some cereal bars, muffins and all facilities needed... The kitchen is very useful, specially with kids. We simply loved everything!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deboravh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

I, myself, enjoy being away from the hustle and bustle of to city center. The hotel is on a very residential street about a 10 minute walk from the center. Very nice clean room.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chefbear1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This was a nice, small hotel located on the side streets..about 15 mins walk to the centre.
The loft suite room was absolutely lovely in terms of the size being on two floors! This appealed to us very much. If you choose to stay here then I'd suggest this room, though the others I'm sure are lovely.

However there were a few problems, such as the internet not working, one of the televisions just didn't work, temperature controls on the shower are broken so you can't alter the temperature.

Reception is very lovely and the staff are very helpful. I would however recommend that you chose somewhere closer to town and probably not much more expensive as the rooms here aren't cheap.

Room Tip: Sky loft suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Annoymous186334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2011

This is a lovely, bright and attractive suite of rooms, with beautiful views from the bedroom.

We have stayed there several times and always been happy. It is just far enough out the city centre to be peaceful and yet most convenient being only a short walk to the city's the attractions.

Having the fridge and kitchenette is great because it makes for a relaxing "home from home" stay.

The parking was no problem for us as it is possible to park quite easily overnight a few streets away. If staying longer it might be better to leave the car at a park and ride site and catch the bus in. Therefore, if needing parking adjacent to the hotel (very difficult in Oxford) then maybe this is not the hotel for you.

Overall only one problem - I wish I could afford to stay more often! Thank you

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.7 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
667 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
691 reviews
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ethos Hotel & Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethos Hotel & Caffe

Property: Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Address: 59 Western Road | Grandpont, Oxford OX1 4LF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ethos Hotel & Caffe 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the very heart of Oxford, this stylish and contemporary hotel offers luxurious boutique-style accommodation with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and satellite TV with free movie and sports channels. In a quiet residential area, Ethos Hotel Oxford has a great location, within easy walking distance of the University's colleges and all of the city's shops, bars and restaurants. Sleek, stylish and modern, all of the rooms and suites are individually styled and luxuriously appointed with state-of-the-art facilities. The Ethos Hotel has been highly acclaimed, with the Sunday Times saying an "excellent addition to the scene is the chic, contemporary Ethos." The friendly and professional multilingual staff offers affordable service and amenities specifically chosen for the needs of business and pleasure travelers. Guests are entitled to reduced rates at a nearby spa, gym and pool. Caffe Ethos offers full cooked English Breakfast to start your day and serves a selection of pastries, coffee, tea, drinks and snacks all day. Relax in the evening with stone-baked Barrel & Stone Pizza, dinner menu and choice of wines, beers or cocktails. Open to hotel guests and non-guests. Limited car parking is available at a charge per night - advance booking is require and must be checked with the hotel to book prior to arrival. Small Pets are accepted subject to availability or limited rooms. There is a charged per night, per pet and these must be checked and booked with the hotel prior to arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ethos Hotel & Caffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ethos Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing