We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and well located hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ranked #22 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This hotel is just a short walk from town in a peaceful residential area. The room was comfortable and the facilities convenient. My only criticism is the breakfast that was provided in the room. I would have preferred not to have anything, than to have sugared cereals, sweetened yoghurt and junk food. Providing coffee/tea and some fruit might be preferable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vks2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (507)
There are newer reviews for Ethos Hotel & Caffe
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

275 - 281 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014

The Ethos was a last minute trip to Oxford and the city seemed sold out of rooms. The Ethos is part apartment, part motel and part boutique hotel.
Rooms right on the street with blackout blinds, very comfy bed, microwave and minutes from the city. If you want something different in a residential street in Oxford give it a try. Helpful staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StevoDucati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Room was large,well equipped and comfortable. Disappointed that television didn't work and some of the furniture was worn out. The bed was soft and the tapsbin the shower were missing fittings. The location was great, only 10 minute walk into the middle of Oxford. The room and bathroom were clean, only the carpet could have done with a clean. Overall not too bad.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoanDeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
review-responder, General Manager at Ethos Hotel & Caffe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Thank you for your review and for your complimentary comments about the large well-equipped, comfortable room, soft beds, great location, and clean bathroom. However, we are concerned you gave us a one star review due to the television not working (and a couple of decorative fittings missing on the shower knob). We wish you had brought this to our attention at the time, so we could have shown you how to work the TV. If it was an error to award us with only one star, you may edit your review via the TA website. We hope that you will consider staying with us again next time you visit Oxford. If you do, please contact me directly at manager@ethoshotels.co.uk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed at the Ethos hotel for the weekend and loved our stay. It is in an ideal location only minutes walk from the river, colleges and town centre. Our room was immaculate, spacious and had everything we needed. I assume they have just been renovated as all seemed fresh and clean. Our room had a spacious wetroom /shower with under floor heating (small but nice touch). We originally thought the room might be a little noisy being directly on the street but there is no through traffic as such so had a peaceful nights sleep. The staff were welcoming and extremely helpful. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamie_styles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We booked this place for a room when we attended a wedding the weekend that just went.
Upon arrival there is not a real reception. The lady just handed me a card with the codes to enter the block and room as there is no keys. All very rushed.
There is no parking either and I was instructed to drive to a neighbouring road 5 mins away and park there. Not watched by anyone or CCTV.
The room

The room number 7 was filthy. It is basically a block divided into small self contained rooms with a sink , small kitchen , fridge and shower.

The carpet was filthy with stains and dirt. The air con was no functional , and the rooms temperature could not be managed effectively as the bathroom radiators were stuck in the on position .

There was no dressing mirror to get changed in front of.

Had we not been constrained by time and choice I would have complained and probably left the hotel to find better accommodation.

Upon leaving there was no one in the reception to complaint to or check out with just a number to call which went to voicemail.

This is at best student accommodation . They are taking advantage of their location in Oxford with the prices. I paid £130 for a one night stay. The Max price for this place should be £50 a night.

Overall very dissatisfied

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank McGremlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
review-responder, General Manager at Ethos Hotel & Caffe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

We are sorry you experienced these issues. The hotel is now under new management, and offers a fully licensed bar and restaurant/pizzeria, offering cask conditioned real ale, fine wine, Lavazza espresso, full english breakfast and Might Leaf afternoon tea. We offer a "Bubbly Reception" (complimentary Prosecco, Cava or Champagne upon arrival), as well as Italian chocolates. We also provide a complimentary grazing table throughout the day, warm scones at 2pm, canapé with drinks between 6pm and 8pm, and complimentary antipasto and petit four to enjoy with a night cap from 8.30pm to 10pm. If you visit Oxford again, please contact me directly, at: manager@ethoshotels.co.uk, so I can arrange a complementary upgrade to one of our comfortable and spacious Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night as a group of 11. They were very patient and accommodating with me in the lead up to our stay with lots of numbers /room changes! Fantastic location about two minutes walk from the river and very close to town centre. Lovely, comfortable rooms! All round great place to stay in Oxford!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank LondonTravelita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

The location is very handy for town - just a 10 minute walk. The room was large and bright but the bed was pretty soft, not ideal for any back sufferers out there. The overall condition of the room was fair but the carpets were stained and worn. The Linens were nice and clean and the little kitchenette and breakfast basket were a definite bonus. Our main issue was that the WiFi connectivity was abysmal. Spotty and glacially slow - it made it impossible to work from the room. The receptionist was charming and welcoming but said there was nothing she could do about the internet. It was a shame, as this issue let down what otherwise would have been a great little hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs to avoid looking directly onto the street.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
2.8 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ethos Hotel & Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ethos Hotel & Caffe

Address: 59 Western Road | Grandpont, Oxford OX1 4LF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £104 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ethos Hotel & Caffe 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to the very heart of Oxford, this stylish and contemporary hotel offers luxurious boutique-style accommodation with air conditioning, free Wi-Fi and satellite TV with free movie and sports channels. In a quiet residential area, Ethos Hotel Oxford has a great location, within easy walking distance of the University's colleges and all of the city's shops, bars and restaurants. Sleek, stylish and modern, all of the rooms and suites are individually styled and luxuriously appointed with state-of-the-art facilities. The Ethos Hotel has been highly acclaimed, with the Sunday Times saying an "excellent addition to the scene is the chic, contemporary Ethos." The friendly and professional multilingual staff offers affordable service and amenities specifically chosen for the needs of business and pleasure travelers. Guests are entitled to reduced rates at a nearby spa, gym and pool. Caffe Ethos offers full cooked English Breakfast to start your day and serves a selection of pastries, coffee, tea, drinks and snacks all day. Relax in the evening with stone-baked Barrel & Stone Pizza, dinner menu and choice of wines, beers or cocktails. Open to hotel guests and non-guests. Limited car parking is available at a charge per night - advance booking is require and must be checked with the hotel to book prior to arrival. Small Pets are accepted subject to availability or limited rooms. There is a charged per night, per pet and these must be checked and booked with the hotel prior to arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ethos Hotel & Caffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ethos Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing