We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh Dear!!! Run a mile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pickwick's Guest House
Ranked #73 of 83 Oxford B&B and Inns
Dublin
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Oh Dear!!! Run a mile”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This place is a dive, I would forgive a multitude were the staff friendly, try grumpy and rude for your money!!! I was put in a pokey, over-heated room in a woefully uncomfortable bed. Cheap pine furniture ala late 1980s everywhere the towels are actually funny (grey, paper weight).

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keelybubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    30
    22
    21
    30
See reviews for
23
33
26
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

If you ever wish to go to Oxford, I'd greatly advise you not to even consider this guest house. The staffs were rude, imprudent, annoying, insulting and unmannerly people. They shouted at us, kicked us out of our room and said that they won't clean it if we do not get out now. They knocked loudly and they scolded us when we went to breakfast at 9 claiming that it was "too late", probably on their terms. Talking about the bare necessities, the rooms were dirty and the bed was old and creaky. The walls were stained and the dust nearly made me choke. The food was as horrible as the staff. This guest house, is not even-substandard, it's devilish! It is cheap compared to other accommodations in Oxford, but in relation to the quality of the place, it's probably the most expensive guest house I've been into. There are other guesthouses in the area which may be a little more expensive, I suggest go into any of those but just avoid this one if you want a nice stay.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosa h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Compared with the other guest houses nearby, Pickwicks is average. Comfortable enough but not the same quality as others. Recently under new ownership and the place feels a little different to what I previously remember. Service level was good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carlos The M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

After reading some of the awful reviews left for this place we were bracing ourselves for the worst. This place has either had a good refurbishment or people just have extremely high standards for a guesthouse.

We stayed in a room on the ground floor which accommodated up to 4 people- it was clean, comfortable, nicely furnished and all the appliances worked, including the shower, lights and tv. We had lovely big window doors which look out on to a really cute garden.

The kitchen room was really prettily decorated and the breakfast was a good standard.

The lady/ ladies who run it are a bit grumpy but they were helpful and went out of their way to make sure that we had our keys and could check in later.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Grace K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

I have stayed here more than once. This is quite a basic B&B compared with others nearby, but it is also the cheapest. Staff are friendly and the breakfast as good as the more expensive establishments in this part of Oxford, which is convenient for the Radcliffe Hospital and Brookes University. Decor is a bit tatty and the plumbing a hit or miss; water pressure in the shower is feeble and the radiator in my bathroom (7) did not work. Don't expect too much and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHistoryProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 while my son was having his surgery
Was in room 3 very cozy h
Lovely hot shower and lovely breakfast .
Staff were very friendly and helpful , lovely big car park and walking distance to the orthopaedic centre would use again

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stopped here at short notice due to hubby being in hospital, all the others we full or way more expensive.The 1st night i had the single downstairs and have to admit i didnt sleep well as the room was so cold and smelt damp, i felt chilled to the bone all night,(at home i always sleep with my window open!)the radiator was barely warm when heating came on and the hot water was just warm. The next night i moved upstairs to twin rm as my son joined me, this was so much warmer the radiator was hot so was the water.Our breakfast was ok, and were brought more coffee/toast when we requested the lady serving breakfast was very pleasant.The distance to walk to churchill hosp was great only 15mins so i could leave the car, and they allowed me to leave the car in car park the morning i checked out.For my purpose of stay it was adequate, but i wouldnt holiday/ or weekend break here, hence my average rating.The decor was rather tired, but i didnt see any evidence of dust etc other people commented on.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L0uanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.1 mi away
Dial House
Dial House
#35 of 44 in Oxford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.2 mi away
Old Black Horse
Old Black Horse
#36 of 44 in Oxford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
0.6 mi away
Oxford Guest House
Oxford Guest House
#26 of 83 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Red Mullions
Red Mullions
#2 of 83 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Conifers Guest House
2.6 mi away
The Oxford Osney Arms
The Oxford Osney Arms
#18 of 83 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pickwick's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pickwick's Guest House

Property: Pickwick's Guest House
Address: 15-17 London Road, Oxford OX3 7SP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pickwick's Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Pickwick's Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick`s Guest House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing