We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wok and Roll

Wok and Roll
Ranked #484 of 627 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
Wantage
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cheap and cheerful”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

Ok food - good lunch time menus and usually space to sit upstairs - cheap and quick but meat a little fatty.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank smoctavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    13
    0
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No frills take away and restaurant - variable food but I love it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

If you want a no frills Chinese lunch or dinner go to Wok and Roll (it looks NOTHING like the picture up there though!). Boxed lunch is excellent value.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“variable in every way but fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013

I come here every few months for lunch, and it is never the same twice running. Sometimes the food is really not very good, or small portions, other times its huge and delicious. Sometimes the right food comes in the right order, other times it's all over the place.

To compare the ambience to a works canteen is to be generous, but frankly who cares? you come here for a decent hot lunch, and to gaze in wonder at the many Chinese students who have read the _real_ menu and got an entirely different meal. The haphazard waitering adds to the charm. What is consistent is a decent fixed price for lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stormageddon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Slow service doesn't fit no-frills theme”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

The atmosphere of this restaurant has always been fairly no-frills. They're not trying to create much of an atmosphere with the lighting or seating; it's just about getting a nice, good-value meal with no fuss. Wok 23 is very popular with Chinese students, which I think is a sign that it offers great food at a reasonable price.

However, the no-frills atmosphere is undermined by the very slow service. I came here with my husband a couple of weeks ago and it took them about 50 minutes to bring our food. They also got our order slightly wrong, but by the time it finally arrived we were too hungry to care so we just ate it. Other people in the restaurant were clearly waiting for just as long as us, if not longer. This is surprising given that there weren't many customers. I could see that the takeaway counter downstairs was very busy, so my guess is that they were prioritising takeaway orders over the restaurant meals.

There were two waiting staff, which seemed like overkill given that there were only about four tables in use, but one of them didn't seem to speak any English and just answered "Yes" to every question.

However, the food is amazing, especially the black bean tofu. I think if they could speed things up in the kitchen, probably by hiring an extra person, the place would be great.

Final note: the name and picture in this restaurant's TripAdvisor listing are wrong. The name changed from Wok & Roll to Wok 23 several years ago, and I don't recognise the picture at all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank griffinkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Poor food, terrible service, wouldn't return”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

A couple of years ago the owners changed. Since then, it hasn't been the same. I returned to Wok and Roll for what will be my final time yesterday. The waitress could barely understand English, the food came out at different time, they brought sprite instead of water and then charged for it, and the surroundings were unclean. And now for the food - the nicest part of the meal was the noodles... the main dishes were all in a similar brown stodgy sauce, and the food looked like it had been sat there for too long. A couple of the prawns tasted off.

I'm disappointed, as this was previously a great place to go! Nowadays - plenty of better places in oxford to go and eat nice chinese without feeling ripped off/sick.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaS1814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wok and Roll also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Wok and Roll? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing