We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“adequate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White House View Guest House
Ranked #60 of 83 Oxford B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“adequate”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

The White House View guest house is, for Oxford, quite cheap and not far from the city centre. It is also on a quiet road. Facilities are very basic and the house has been the object of a great deal of not very professional diy. It seems to be a sister establishment of The Ridings (see my review), which is further down Abingdon Road, very similar in decor and apparently sharing staff with White House View. My room was very small, with no table or desk, and an ensuite crammed into a corner. There was no plug in the washbasin, which, considering that hot water wasn't plentiful, struck me as very wasteful. No decaff coffee option. Breakfast was acceptable (continental option is just that- cold meat and cheese), without much variety. Although the house is quiet, a loud roaring noise woke me at 7am, presumably to do with the water. This lasted for half an hour. When later I had a shower, the pressure was quite low and the hot water gave out completely. As I left the shower, one of the doors fell off its rollers (it was a corner shower with two curved glass doors). I reported this to the manager, who was concerned about possible damage to the door but not at all about the potential injury to a guest caused by having a heavy glass door fall onto her. This place is just about acceptable as somewhere to sleep if you are out all day, but pretty comfortless for any length of time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelseabunLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    23
    27
    14
    6
See reviews for
16
34
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Gwann, Malta
Level Contributor
188 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My wife and I wanted to attend our son's graduation but, though we tried all the hotels in the centre, the nights of the 14th and the 15th were impossible to find. So, we moved a little farther out and found this Guest House. In my opinion, anybody who finds anything to complain about regarding this Guest House is comparing it to a five-star hotel!

For its category, one can only call it first-class! We had a family room on the second floor and it was of a good size and spotlessly clean. The couple who own it look after their guests personally and are extremely helpful. Breakfast was wholesome and filling and the choice more than adequate but, what was most important for us was its location. Depending on your age, it is between 5 and 15 minutes from the centre of town and you can reach all parts within a short walk.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kwars0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Staff were very helpful. The building is tired and the rooms are simple and basic, with very small bathrooms. They lacked room lockers/safe and a desk. However, the location is excellent for visiting the city centre in Oxford and the rooms were very good value-for-money. The breakfast was good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Littondoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

Good location within eas6y walking distance of central Oxford plus right next to bus stops for Oxford Station and out to the Park & Ride car park. Clean. Good breakfast (if limited choice). Owners friendly. Room was tiny, though, especially the en suite facilities (I have been in larger wardrobes!) and nobody was there when we arrived in the pouring rain at 7.00 pm (so had to phone and wait in the rain until someone came to open the place!) Mattress was very poor and did not sleep that well. Served its purpose and well located for where we needed but two nights were enough for us.

Room Tip: There are two downstairs rooms which saves having to climb up the narrow stairs with cases etc. Also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank csrothwec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

We stayed here for two nights in August 2013 and had a generally enjoyable experience. We had a room on the third floor in the back of the house; the room was very tiny, only being able to fit the bed and a wardrobe, as was the bathroom, but we didn't mind as we weren't planning on being in our room very much. The bed was very comfortable, the room and bathroom were clean, and we didn't have any problems with the wifi.

The owners were also very pleasant and accommodating; we had emailed two months ago to say we might be checking in late and forgot to email back to say we would be in on time, so they weren't expecting us so early but were able to get the room ready for us within 10 minutes. Breakfast is served a little early if you want to sleep in, but it's complimentary and homemade, very delicious. When we were there, guests were quiet so we didn't have any noise issues at night. The hotel is also just a ten minute walk from the city center.

Overall we had a nice stay; my only issue was with the shower. The door was broken and we were told that during the day someone would be in to fix it but no one did, so it was very difficult to maneuver in the already cramped bathroom, but it in no way ruined our stay - it was just a little annoying.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Enjoyed our stay at the White House Guest House, It was very clean, beds were comfortable, Breakfast very nice, Handy for city centre, Quiet Location and Very nice owners. If we were to visit again we would stay here.
Regards,
Dave and Janet, Harrogate

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

My first impression of this guest house was not great, as I noticed a cracked pane of glass on the front door which had been patched by some tape ! This unfortunately ,set the tone for the rest of the place. My friend and I had booked for 2 nights, it was our first visit to Oxford and whilst we didn't expect 5 star luxury, as we appreciate the fact it was a B&B, we did expect a certain standard of cleanliness. Our room, on first appearance looked ok but there were stains on the carpets, the walls and later on, my friend discovered a stain on her pillow....not acceptable ! The bathroom was tiny and the shower a total disaster as it went from scolding hot to freezing cold ! All this for £85 a night ! The only saving grace was the breakfast, which was surprisingly good. The staff were pleasant and friendly and it wasn't too far from the centre of Oxford, though I think it is more of a 20 minute walk rather than 10 mins as stated.This place could have been great , but is sadly being run as just suitable for passing trade, without bothering about repeat business.....Shame!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesliecowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.1 mi away
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
#22 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#29 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sportsview Guest House
Sportsview Guest House
#40 of 83 in Oxford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Guest House
Lakeside Guest House
#19 of 83 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Oxford Osney Arms
The Oxford Osney Arms
#18 of 83 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tower House
Tower House
#20 of 83 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White House View Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White House View Guest House

Property: White House View Guest House
Address: 9 White House Road | Grandpont, Oxford OX1 4PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White House View Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your White House View Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White House View Guest House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing